We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place Period” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Nye Beach to your Saves list
Inn at Nye Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 NW Coast Street, Newport, OR 97365 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 for 2 Promotion
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Place Period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent our 30th anniversary at the Inn and the staff, the room, the view, and their willingness to help out, answer questions, make recommendations, etc was the absolute best we have ever experienced and the cost was very reasonable. If you want a great place to stay on the Oregon coast and especially in Newport there is no better place then this!

Room Tip: The king studio is great fore a couple
See more room tips
Green Features: They have excellent green awareness offer easy and meaningful options
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    56
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
161
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Top notch in every way. It was like a suit. The staff were friendly. It was super clean, had a gear selection of pillows. Very comfortable. Only improvement, full length mirrors would have been nice. It was great to have beach access. It was like my little home with my own private beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterhazy, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Inn at Nye Beach for two nights in May. Great views from deck; we stayed in #36 on the northwest corner and the only problem was the balcony was very small compared to other rooms, so there was very minimal space for deck chairs. We actually didn't have chairs on the deck, although the room below us did. The room(s) were huge, very modern and clean. The fireplace was nice - we had to keep resetting every 30 minutes, I guess keeping with their green policy. The Inn was a short distance from some nice restaurants, just down the hill to the south - Cafe Stephanie, Nana's, Cafe Mundo, and April's, we tried them all! There was a nice continental breakfast in the reception area in the am, and some nice outdoor seating to have coffee, etc. I appreciated the balconies on the east side of the building for morning coffee, and to get out of the wind. I also liked that we could buy wine, etc at the reception area for a reasonable price. I thought this was the nicest area of Newport to stay, and the best hotel of that area.

Green Features: Probably best environmentally friendly practices of places we have stayed
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The location was very good and the room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. We especially appreciated the patio and ocean views. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, and pleasant to deal with. The scones and the french press coffee that were provided were a treat. I would highly recommend The Inn at Nye Beach and hope to return someday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have stayed at almost all of the decent hotels on the coast from Newport - Astoria. This hotel was great, with a few minor issues. The hotel has a great sustainability policy. The room (1 bedroom king suite) was great, plenty of space for a family of five. The kitchen was fine, we never cook in a room anyway. The coffee was great, we are total coffee snobs and so having even decent coffee on the coast is a bonus, but french press Portland Roasting coffee is great!! The hotel looks nice, furnishings are comfortable.

We never eat an included breakfast so that's not a big deal for us. There was a good wine selection, and good snacks available. We also got the s'mores package which was great!! We didn't need to get or find anything, it was all waiting in the room for us.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a great location, right by the beach just a short walk down some stairs. If you have a hard time with stairs, it might be hard!

The parking is really tight and the garage was almost impossible to get in and out of.

The only thing we didn't like was the cleaning. After our first night, the cleaning person vacuumed and that's about it. The bed wasn't made, the snacks in the room weren't restocked, no new towels, and nothing really seemed different except that it had obviously been vacuumed.

After the second night we left out the "please clean" door tag and it seemed a little cleaner, towels were restocked but still no restocking of the snacks! Sure, they are all downstairs in the lobby but we would have loved to have the snack bar restocked each day.

A pool or hot tub would have made this place absolutely perfect :) Overall it was great, clean comfortable and a fantastic location.

Green Features: Awesome! Most obviously sustainable/environmentally-friendly hotel I've been in.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very informative feedback regarding the parking and housekeeping service. While I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, I'm concerned with the housekeeping service you had received during your stay. As our standards of cleanliness are extremely high, whenever a guest's room is not serviced by our staff to those standards, we have to look into the most effective ways to improve going forward. I have spoken to the housekeepers who were involved and assure you that we will do everything in our power to ensure this is corrected going forward. We certainly hope to see you again in the future and it is our promise to you that the issues will not occur again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for five days in a one-bedroom King suite, and enjoyed every minute. We had a corner unit on the 3rd floor, with a great view of the ocean. Small, but adequate kitchenette with cups, silverware and plates for two people, + refrigerator and microwave Coffee press and fresh-ground coffee. Two closets, fireplace and two TVs. This is truly as advertised: a lovely boutique hotel in Nye Beach within walking distance to the beach and eateries. There is no on-site restaurant, but its a short walk to Cafe Stephanie OR they do deliver food if you want to stay in. We would definitely go back if visiting the Oregon Coast again.

Room Tip: Spring for the suites...its worth it
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a green hotel, and provide accordingly: recycle bin, no changing of sheets and towels unless requested, etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It's so wonderful to hear how every minute of your stay with us was enjoyable. It was definitely a pleasure to have you stay with us for 5 days during your trip to the Oregon Coast. If you find yourself venturing our way again, we surely would welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

How could we have possibly known when we booked #34 that it would be such a find? The room was very large with an important bathroom and shower. The view was magnificent. To look way down to the wide sandy beach and see the whole of the Pacific Ocean in front of us was magnificent. The lack of an included breakfast bothered us not all and the very low room rent just under $100 AAA rate was merely the icing on the cake. My booking, check-in, and check-out processes, done with three different people, were all very positive transactions.

Room Tip: A high up room facing the beach was perfect for us.
See more room tips
Green Features: We applaud their efforts. Every little bit counts.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast Street, Newport, OR 97365 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel, each featuring an ocean view with full balcony and fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Nye Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.