We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rumours are true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
811 SW 12th St., Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 10 Newport B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The rumours are true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lightkeeper's Inn on Valentine's Day on a road trip up the coasts of California and Oregon, and it was an absolutely amazing experience. Cheryl is a great host, very welcoming, and her home is beautiful and cozy. She remembered that it was our anniversary, as well as it being Valentine's Day, and we returned to our room after dinner to find two delectable miniature heart-shaped cakes, chocolate covered strawberries, and rose petals on the bed. The breakfast the next morning (seafood benedict) was to DIE for. The room and bathroom were so clean I could have licked the floor. I can't say enough good things about this place. Thank you Cheryl and Bill!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I picked the Lightkeeper's for our first bed and breakfast experience. Hosts Bill and Cheryl did not disappoint! We were immediately greeted by the very cheery Cheryl and given a tour of the house. After settling in, we were treated to wine, freshly baked brownies and nice conversation. Cheryl continued to provide above and beyond service with her phenomenal breakfasts and afternoon snacks (and to-go bag of treats). The room provided a very comfortable and quiet haven after exploring the Historic Bayfront and the cool seawaters of Nye Beach. The Inn has a great location, which makes walking to the Bayfront easy and accessible. Cheryl was ready to recommend restaurants and activities depending on what our ideas were for our weekend. She is knowledgable about the area and eager to cater to her guests interests. When she says she opens her house to her guests, she means it! The suite's amenities were just a few perks of the service provided. My boyfriend and I cannot say enough great things about this wonderful experience! ~ Christine & Chip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I always want an ocean view, but I found that the spectacular view of the harbor and bridge was much more interesting than just looking at water! It was fun to watch the fishing boats going in and out.
Cheryl and Bill were wonderful hosts and very helpful in finding good restaurants. Cheryl is a gourmet cook, and you will not be disappointed in her sumptuous breakfasts. Also we enjoyed wine and appetizers with them most nights. (Also delicious)

Cheryl told us to make ourselves at home, but we enjoyed the view from our own room so much that we spent a lot of time there reading and enjoying the view. Also on rainy afternoons we watched movies on our DVD player.

For my birthday Cheryl would have made a cake, but since we are not cake eaters she made a trio of cheesecakes instead. Yum! She also slipped in a treat our last night (peanut butter and jelly brownies).

We highly recommend The Lightkeeper's Inn!

Linda and Gary

Room Tip: Both rooms have fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Lightkeeper's inn for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The house is in a quiet but central location and the view is quite picturesque. Our room, the Lightkeeper's, was very cozy, clean, relaxing, and well decorated. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The view from the room was fantastic and it had access to a balcony that overlooks the bay.

In addition to the beauty and relaxing feel of the room and house, the hospitality of the hosts, Cheryl and Bill, is superb. When I made the reservation I had mentioned to Cheryl that it was my girlfriend's and I Christmas present to each other and she went above and beyond to create a Christmas feel for us. She had a Christmas tree in our bedroom, baked delicious cookies, and had all kinds of Christmas decorations out. She also fixed delicious salmon and crab dips and had a complementary bottle of wine waiting for us upon arrival. As for the breakfast, there aren't enough superlatives to describe them, simply blissfully. Both Bill and Cheryl made us feel at home and were very attentive to our needs and comfort.

The beautiful home, picturesque view, and outstanding service and hospitality make this a great choice for a relaxing getaway at the coast. I will definitely recommend this B&B and will be coming back here in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband & I celabrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the Lightkeepers Inn B & B Cheryl made it extra special from her decorations to the wonderful meals & treats. It was our first visit to a B & B & we will definately do it again. We couldn't have ask for a better host.
Thank you,
John & Donna Hooper

Room Tip: Both rooms have great views & comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay, rooms are very comfortable with stunning views as well as modern amenities (wireless Internet, HBO, etc), but set out in a homely style, and very clean. Normally this would be enough for a 5. However the breakfast and the evening snacks are simply amazing, the hosts are very friendly and gave excellent advice to the area both for restaurants and local things to do. Newport is a very nice place and well set up for walks, cycle rides, marine life etc as well as a good base for Oregon coast. We loved this B&B and will come back. We came from England for a holiday and this was by far the best place we stayed in Oregon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We came to Newport to visit our son and tour the area while he was working. As with some other reviewers, we have not stayed in a B&B before. And, we probably will not again.. Cheryl has completly spoiled us. We enjoyed every moment of our relaxing trip. Starting with the gourmet breakfasts, delightful company of other guests, we spent our days traveling the beautiful Oregon coast. Cheryl gave us very helpful tips about the area, and the best thing was that we could totally relax in our private suite,read a book , watch a movie and not feel that we were confined to a bedroom. Our suite had a beautiful view of the harbor. Cheryl and Bill were not just owners of the Inn; they are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 811 SW 12th St., Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lightkeeper's Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.