We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pig'n'Pancake

Pig'n'Pancake
810 SW Alder, Newport, OR 97365
(541) 265-9065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chino, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food and service was very good! They have nice portions and good prices, the menu offers a lot of options for all ages. Nicely decorated, the theme is Pig 'n pancake, it's like the 50's-60's diners only updated. A family restaurant with kids in mind. They have a small gift shop and racks with retro-toys and a variety of items. It was very busy and service was timely, appears popular with the locals. The servers were quick and very friendly and accommodating. It is family owned, I will definitely look for these next time I am in Oregon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for the morning meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Going south on coast highway looking for breakfast spotted PNP. Great place clean great staff , menu was vast and reasonable . Food was excellent service was great

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for meetings and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Have been there several times for meetings with lunch and the food was great, likewise the service and atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
795 reviews 795 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
2,073 helpful votes 2,073 helpful votes
“Now open for dinner. Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We've eaten breakfast and lunch at different Pig'n'Pancakes over the years, and had always thought them pretty good.

We didn't expect 'gourmet' dining (ha-ha) but thought it would be decent enough. Well, barely.

The dinner menu is limited. I had looked it up online and thought the stew sounded good, but when we looked at the actual menu, there was no stew. When I asked about it, the server said it was really "vegetable beef soup". Okay, nix that idea!

I ended up with a grilled chicken breast ($12), which was a little dry. I can't remember what my husband had... it was not memorable. Our salads were fresh. The veggies were listed as "fresh" but I'm thinking "fresh frozen" would be more accurate. They were okay.

They were not busy and our service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant is pleasant and clean.

Would we eat dinner here again? No.
It wasn't quite in the "poor" category, but not worth returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good service. Fast to get food from the kitchen. Breakfast portions were huge!! Definitely got our money's worth. Really reasonable prices too. Will definitely become a regular stop when ever we are in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig'n'Pancake also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Pig'n'Pancake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig'n'Pancake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.