We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Hearty Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig'n'Pancake

Pig'n'Pancake
810 SW Alder, Newport, OR 97365
(541) 265-9065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hamilton, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, Hearty Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are looking for a filling breakfast, this is the place. The eggs Benedict with dungeness crab is amazing. There were 8 people in our group- seating was not a problem & there was no wait. Some of the other things we ordered: pecan pancakes, apple crepes, strawberry cheese blintzes, pigs in a blanket- everyone was happy with what they ordered & the portions were perfect. Service was friendly & attentive. Family friendly dining. Highly recommended- we came back for "seconds".

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    33
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Swedish pancakes with lingonberries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It is always fun to eat at the Pig'n'Pancakes on the Oregon Coast mostly because it is one of the few places I know that serves something approaching Swedish pancakes -- those buttery, eggy delights which can be topped with ligonberries and/or sugar and rolled up into tasty goodness. To be truthful, I am not Swedish -- but our neighbors when I was growing up, were -- and they often took pity on me, the poor Italian kid next door, and included me in the Sunday night pancake suppers. I would have converted if I could have! Pig'n'Pancake's version is not quite as eggy nor as buttery as Mrs. Adolphson's, but close enough! They actually ask you if you want them "soft," "medium" or "crispy" (I guess it depends on which part of Sweden you are from!) and whether you want the ligonberries on top or on the side. But what is a wonder to me is that they have them on the menu at all.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place was the last stop before picking up our fish at Newport Tradewinds fishing charters and driving home. They were prompt and the food quality and value were great. Huge portions so beware if you are a light eater.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok, I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The staff was friendly. The food was mediocre, at best. I left disappointed. My kids liked the food (they ordered breakfast for lunch). You get what you pay for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“they suck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

maybe if you eat in the restaurant. but don't get cinnamin rolls to go. we were expecting hot and fresh and got cold and probably day old. bought 4 for 8 people and 3 were thrown in the trash.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig'n'Pancake also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Pig'n'Pancake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig'n'Pancake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.