We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent sushi on the Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sada's - CLOSED

Sada's
250 SW Bay Boulevard, Newport, OR
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Japanese cuisine and sushi bar
Restaurant details
Description: Japanese cuisine and sushi bar
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“excellent sushi on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

After eating fabulous grilled salmon and halibut, some of us get Jonesing for sushi. This place has excellent traditional Japanese food. Sushi, sashimi, and pages of other wonderful delicacies. If you like premium saki, they have a nice selection. After many meals, we can honestly say we've never been disappointed.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“"good" sushi if you don't like sushi very much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I've been to Sada's a half dozen times or more, so I have given it a fair chance. It's always "ok." Some of the rolls are good (Newport) and others are just pretty bad ... the yellowfin tuna we had was supposed to be warm, but it was instead overly cooked and rubbery. The traditionals like the California roll and spicy tuna were just dull. I find Sada's very Americanized ... lots of warm rollls, cooked fish in the rolls, and cream cheesey rolls. With all that fresh fish across the street on the docks, it seems like the sushi should be a lot better. Yuzen down the road in Seal Rock is better.
Our service was not good either. They let their liquor license lapse so there was no beer or saki ... there were plenty of servers, but our soup bowls and plates sat on the table as they brought additional items.
It's not cheap -- we eat Sushi in Portland often and prices here match or are higher... the best part about Sada's is that it is here, so if you really want sushi at least you have the option.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi with nice atmosphere and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Newport is always a great place to visit but some of the restaurants are just getting out of hand with their San Francisco pricing. We decided on something different. We tried Sada's Japanese Cuisine since we love sushi and this ended up being the perfect spot to eat dinner. The inside is very pleasant, clean and quite inviting with Japanese music and decor. We ordered rather light and bougt the tuna roll for $4.50 and ebifornia (shrimp, avocado, cucumber) for $5.75 along with a sake $4.75, and green tea. Everything was top notch and just excellent! A really fine experience. We will make this a MUST stop next time and highly recommend to everyone that enjoys this type fare.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi, nice servers. Definitely worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Being a sushi fanatic, I always am on the lookout for good sushi restaurants. Does Sada's have the best sushi in Oregon? No, it is fresh, but not the freshest, and reasonably priced, but not the best value. It is however a very good sushi restaurant. I have sampled both rolls and nigiri sushi, and have been very happy with my meal on each occasion I have come here -- maybe a half dozen times. The cooks and servers were extremely friendly, and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is #1 in sushi for the whole state of Oregon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Without question best sushi in Oregon. Highly recommend. I have driven the 4 hours round trip from Portland to Newport just to eat here more then once. Yum.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sada's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sada's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.