We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character aplenty, a view, and a cornucopia of beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's on the Bay

Brewer's on the Bay
2320 OSU Dr, Newport, OR 97365
541-867-3664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled inside the Rogue Ales Brewery, this two story brewpub offers a panoramic view of Yaquina Bay and the marina. You can enjoy the full line of Rogue brews, brewery tours, and 40 taps. Sunday-Thursday:11am to 9pmFriday and Saturday: 11am to 10pm
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
“Character aplenty, a view, and a cornucopia of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you enjoy sampling radically different flavours of beer, this pub and restaurant in Rogue's Newport brewery makes for a satisfying pilgrimage. The pub is all rough wood with a long bar and a forest of taps. The restaurant is very plain with metal table tops, wooden chairs, a simple open kitchen, and fast professional service. Both have a view of the boat harbour and the bay beyond. The fun part is that to get to the entrance, you have to walk right through the brewery. Not so fun is that you have to walk back again to use the washroom.

The food was decent. We had the interesting cheese+beer soup and some fish tacos. Nothing special but just right for the price. The best menu feature is the 4-beer taster set for $6. Pick any four beers on the menu -- about 40! On our visit the place was busy with both locals, tourists, and even big family groups.

The gift shop at the downstairs entrance is fun but way overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    30
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Passion for Beer - wished the same for the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was excited to go this brewery and wished it would have been better than my initial optimism.
The bar/resturant area is fun to get to through the actual brewery - warm welcome and an amazing variety of beers on tap - loved the Yellow Snow! Food choices looked good, but just didn't deliver. I shared the deep fried calamari - unfortunately, not lightly breaded as the menu suggested and several pieces were not cooked. The Kobe burger tasted great, though my dining partners said their food was ok - I would give an 'Excellent' for the beer and an 'Average' for the food -

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We felt right at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I took my adult son to the Rouge while we were camping at the coast for his birthday. When we went in we asked to sit at the bar. The waitress there gave us samples of beers so we could make a good decision. The atmosphere was warm, the conversation with the staff and my son was wonderful. The waitress even took pictures for us with my camera. Next time I am in Newport I will be back. Thanks for a good time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food & ales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Well worth looking for when in Newport. Great place to rest after spending most of the day at the aquarium.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This place is exactly what its supposed to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

It is a fun atmosphere on the oregon coast. I found the service to be pretty good considering it has been packed both times that I have been there. A good mix of seafood and brewpub food. I found that the food was pretty good as far as brewpubs go, with a little more of a family atmosphere. Overall experience no complaints. But if your in here expecting some groundbreaking cuisine experience you picked the wrong place. This place is what it is and I would gladly go back again. Make sure you take home a growler of dead guy it has always been one of my favs.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's on the Bay also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Brewer's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.