We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wings on fire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szabo's Steakhouse and Seafood

Szabo's Steakhouse and Seafood
5188 NE Lucky Gap St, Newport, OR 97365-1216
541-574-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wings on fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

oh the Cajun buffalo wings were great - lips were on fire and the service was wonderful. It was mothers day and they were hoppin

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    49
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Raw steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

First we had the chowder that was thicker than paste, the waitress asked if we wanted an extra cracker for our young child and proceeded to throw it on our table. We three adults asked for medium steaks and 1 was raw, it took a while to get the attention of another waitress to then get our waitress over to send the steak back and it took them forever to turn it into shoe leather. Mothers day dinner was ruined ....we did get the steak taken off the tab but had to go somewhere else because my daughter didn't get to eat and I couldn't eat without her.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best locals restuuarants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Across from the best B&B in Newport, Ocean House, this local bar and restaurant is a pleasant surprise and has really great food.We had steak and shrimp dinners with the house wine and ice cream desserts and good service. It does get a little busy and noisy so bring your patience and take your time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly old sports bar with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We went on Monday night because it was highly recommended. The salad is iceberg lettuce and croutons, they would have added at least a little tomato. The steak had good flavor but not the best cut of meat. The salmon with orange basil sauce was sweeter than expected but a nice flavor. It was over cooked for my taste, but not dried out. The service was good and the staff friendly. I think it was an average experience for the price. I have had better meals in local sports bars.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Meares, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hey, it'd a local joint with darn good bar food, the fries could be better, but every sandwich i've had, and all those that go by to other tables, are plentiful and tasty. i don't know what these guys are complaining about on price - it's one of the most reasonable in the state - you want pricy? go to Canada and then complain... the staff is cheerful, very attentive and helpful. we do lunch there several times a year and it is consistently good. lots of TV's with all the sports if you're so inclined but i wouldn't necessarily recommend it for romance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szabo's Steakhouse and Seafood also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Szabo's Steakhouse and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szabo's Steakhouse and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.