We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pad Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant

Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant
807 SW Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-5142
541-265-2959
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 92 restaurants in Newport
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crowley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was on my way home to Eugene from Lincoln City. I had just told my husband I wanted some Pad Thai and as we came around the corner, here it was...Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant.

We stopped because of the name. I love Thai and I love Elephants. i was a little skeptical by looking at the outside of the building (a little run down looking).

I am so glad that I did. They have the best Chicken Pad Thai! And it is so inexpensive.

The young man that helped me was so nice. I ordered the food to go and they even accommodated me with a cardboard upright container instead of the styrofoam kind. The service was so fast, I was shocked.

I will definently stop in again the next time I go to or through Newport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    23
    21
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average is exactly right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Decor and building are in desperate need of work, but clean none the less. Food was average Thai. I had the shrimp pad Thai, it had generous amount of perfectly cooked shrimp, but the noodles were a bit over dressed with sticky, over sweet sauce. Soup, tho, was excellent!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

For me, it's all about the bacon-wrapped tiger prawns, but honestly - everything I've had has been good. Seriously delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great peanut sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The lemongrass chicken with peanut sauce is delicious. I usually have a problem with sauces being too spicy, but this was just right. Well-seasoned and tender chicken with steamed vegetables - very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Some of the best Thai food w/plenty of Gluten Free options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I decided to order take out after reading some reviews of this place. I ordered the Massaman Curry w/pork, it was some of the best I've had. My wife ordered the lemon chicken Thai Barbecue, she was very pleased. We also enjoyed an order of the Coconut mango ice-cream, it was also very yummy. I would't hesitate to go back. The restaurant was very clean and a pleasant environment. Well done!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Thai Elephant Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.