We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Newport
2 reviews
“Great Value Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Definitely stay here over La Quinta as the properties are right next to each other and pretty much the same price. This hotel is up to date and very clean. Great for families, breakfast is hot and fresh. Pool area is a little small and very noisy, but a perfect play spot for kids. Walking distance to Rogue Brewery and Aqarium

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Teri5172,
Thank you for your most recent review of the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. On behalf of all the staff we would like to thank you for the wonderful 4 star review that you gave our property. We all love to read about guests stays, and it is nice to read that yours was enjoyable! We do apologize for the noisy pool area. Since we are in the summer months we tend to see a lot more children in that area then in the fall and winter. We hope that this did not deter you from any future stays at our property. Always know that there is staff at the front desk willing to help with any inconveniences during your stay, even if it is a noise related inconvenience.
We hope to see you next time!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    112
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
97
95
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a nice hotel, one of the better in this chain. The room was clean and seemed new, and the bed was fine. The staff was pleasant and very helpful in helping us find a place to eat dinner. The breakfast was not the sort of thing we enjoy, but great places are nearby.

Room Tip: Skip the free breakfast and head out back to the crazy cafe across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
kerryjimjeffrey,
Thank you for your most recent review of the Holiday Inn Express in Newport! All of us thank you for such a wonderful 4 star review! I also read that viewed us as one of the better of our chain and for that we thank you. We try very hard to create a memorable trip to Newport, and I am glad to read that yours was. Come again anytime!
Thank you!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose this place for its prominity to the Oregon Coast Aquarium (which was also great). Just a short walk away. The front desk recommended the Chowder Bowl for dinner and a stroll on Nye Beach. Excellent all around. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for all of your comments. We appreciate when guests give us feedback on the restaurants and attraction that we refer, so we can continue to recommend them to other travelers. The Chowder Bowl is a wonderful restaurant that is always a hit with guests and locals alike! I hope we get to see you again, and perhaps we can give you more wonderful recommendations!
Have a great day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We took a spontaneous trip to Newport (to get married!) and were a little sticker-shocked at some of the bed and breakfasts around. Since we were bringing my son and my cousin's family was also coming, we wanted to find a good value for the limited time we would be there.

Thank goodness for the Holiday Inn Express. You won't get a great view of the bay or the ocean; however, if you're not in your room a bunch, that doesn't matter, right? Instead, you get a great staff, a clean, comfortable room, a well maintained pool and hot tub on site, a WONDERFUL complimentary breakfast. Like, seriously, the breakfast was one of the best complimentary ones that I've had. No day-old bakery and rotten fruit. There was freshly cooked bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, etc.

In addition, the hotel is located very conveniently off of the 101, a few minutes to the historic bayfront, and practically in the backyard of the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewing Company (both of which I'll review as well).

We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Jennifer M,
Congratulations! We are so happy that you chose to spend your wedding trip with us! On behalf of all of the entire staff here we would like to say thank you for your amazing review! All of us take pride in our wonderful property, and we are happy to hear that guests notice our efforts. Also I read that you enjoyed our full breakfast! We really dislike guests to leave hungry that's why we make sure that guests would have any option necessary to start your day off right. After all isn't breakfast the most important meal of the day? Thank you again for this wonderfully detailed review and we look forward to providing you with the same great service, and accommodations in the future!
Sincerely.
Katrina Curry,
assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in June 2013 while driving through on a tour of the Oregon coast. The hotel was clean and the service was friendly. The staff offered up things to do and places to eat while in town. As Priority Club members, we were offered goodie bags with bottles of water and snacks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
marcieme,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We know that as a Priority Club Member you must travel a lot, and those goodies bags are to show you just how much we appreciate your loyalty. I hope that the rest of your coastal trip was just as amazing as it was here in Newport. Maybe next year you can plan a Winter trip, so you can see all of the beautiful winter storms we have here on the Coast. We will be here whenever you do decide to travel back this direction, and i assure you we will be just as wonderful,and clean, as we were your last stay!
Have a great day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great stay. The rooms were clean, nice and comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful, cheery and professional.

Next to the hotel is the Aquarium, walking distance.

After we lost our son's jacket we reached out a few days later and they tried to recover the jacket, but it was not found. The effort alone made us thankful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
pjsieders,
Thank you for taking the time today to review your stay at our property in Newport Oregon. We appreciate all of the kind words you have written about our hotel and the staff. I was sad to read that we were unable to find your lost jacket, we keep all inquires on file for 3 months and if it does turn up we will give you a call immediately. All of the staff thanks you for your kind words and we look forward to providing you with the same great customer service the next time you are with us!
See you soon!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was clean and comfortable. The wi-fi was slow. The water pressure in the shower was okay. The room was clean and comfortable. I was given a good recommendation for where to eat - that was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
dnumme,
Thank you so much for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport. We all were pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and the restaurant recommendations we provided. We would love the opportunity to help you with the WiFi service if there is an issue the next time you are with us. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we hope to get the chance to see you again!
Sincerely,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.