We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Newport
Renton, Wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Clean, modern room, comfy beds too. Perfect pool and hot tubs for the kids. Tasty hot breakfast. Bought the aquarium package, which we were planning on going to anyway, and the combo saved us about $20! Great value overall, would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
MamaTolly,
Wow! What an excellent review! We are so happy that your family was able to take advantage of one of the many family packages we have to offer! I don’t know if you had the chance while you were here, but Newport also has a wonderful Ripley’s Believe It or Not, Wax works, and Undersea Gardens that we also have in a packaged deal! Maybe that’s another great idea for your next family outing to the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon! I would like to thank you for this wonderful review, and we all hope to see you again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    112
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
97
95
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for the Newport Seafood and Wine festival which was about 0.5 miles away. We picked it primarily for the location - it's on the south side of the Yaquina Bay Bridge - by the aquarium and two of the Rogue Newport locations (House of Spirits and Brewer's on the Bay). It is though on the opposite side of the bridge from most of the shops and restaurants in the Yaquina Bay area.

Internet is free but not fast. The rooms are clean and as expected for the Holiday Inn Brand. Breakfast was ok.

Depending on reason for visiting Newport, the Holiday Inn may be a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
SarahinOR,
We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay during Newport’s Seafood and Wine festival. I am so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the proximity to the event and the two Rogue locations! If you plan to return in future we all hope that you would chose us as your lodging destination. Once again all of us from the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon would like to thank you for your kind review of our Hotel!
Sincerely,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here twice in December and had excellent experiences both times. The room was very clean, modern, and well-appointed with spa-like amenities in the bath. The breakfast included a pancake grill, hot meats and eggs, warm cinnamon rolls and much more. Subtract the cost of a similar breakfast (and tip) elsewhere and you have a reasonable stay. Used the laundry room and Wi-fi, enjoyed the local tips from the friendly front desk staff. Just around the corner from the Newport Aquarium and near the bayfront. Did I mention quiet? Good soundproofing too. Would stay there again if we move away and come for a visit.

Room Tip: Top floor may have a view. Hotel provides rolling racks for transferring luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
RaineyOR,
Thank you for such an extensive review of our hotel! I am glad to hear that you received such great tips from the front desk staff! We do pride ourselves on being very knowledgeable of our area so that visitors will receive the best directions and recommendations possible. All of us would also like to thank you for the great comment about our hotel being clean and modern! We take pride in our property and we are all glad that it shows! Please be sure to visit us again next time you are in Newport Oregon!
Thank you again for your kind comments!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel while in Newport for their annual basketball tournament. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and patient given there were 100's of kids running around the hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean and we got a good nights rest, which is just what we needed. The breakfast right at the hotel was also nice since we had an early game and had to get up and get going. Thanks or having us and we look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Greg K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express! I am so glad that your family enjoyed the time that you had here during the Basketball Tournament here in Newport! It is a tremendous complement for a reviewer to write "we look forward to returning next year". It means that we have made a lasting impression on your family as travelers, and it is truly an honor! Everyone at the hotel looks forward to seeing all of you next year!
Thank you,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying in the area for three nights, I decided to try somewhere different and less expensive. This hotel, even though is on the other side of the bay from downtown, it is well made up for in service and nice comfort. So far, every staff member I have talked with has been great.

The rooms are pleasant, predictable but pleasant. The breakfast is better than the "typical". All of the equipment in their well equipped Business Center worked.

For the price, I was glad to have spent three nights here.

Room Tip: I was on the top (4th) floor and had part of the bay view. From a view perspective, this is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
MJBaer,
All I can say is thank you for taking a chance on us! We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed you business trip to Newport, and got to take advantage for the slight view from the top floor. When you are in town again give us a call ahead of time to request a top floor again! We hope to see you real soon!
Thank you again!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this hotel and were very pleased with how clean, nice, comfortable, friendly and all of the above! Breakfast was great! The staff gave us lots of help on places to eat and things to see. This is our official go to place on the oregon coast! Thanks so much for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Seahawk-OR,
What a review! We are very proud to be your "official go to place on the Oregon Coast"! When we see reviews like yours we truly know that our hard work is paying off! We hope that you will return to Newport soon, and we will still have the award winning attitude that you have seen in the past!
Have a great day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised when I found this hotel during a business trip on the Oregon coast. The rooms was spacious and new. Upside price (winter) The only downside is to walk to marina would be a hike.

Room Tip: Ask for local rates for companies like GP etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Westside Chuck,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are so glad that you got to take advantage of our awesome GP rate while you were in our area. Taking care of our local companies is something we love to do! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future, and don't forget to mention your local company name!
Have a great day,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.