We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Newport
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel while in Newport for their annual basketball tournament. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and patient given there were 100's of kids running around the hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean and we got a good nights rest, which is just what we needed. The breakfast right at the hotel was also nice since we had an early game and had to get up and get going. Thanks or having us and we look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Greg K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express! I am so glad that your family enjoyed the time that you had here during the Basketball Tournament here in Newport! It is a tremendous complement for a reviewer to write "we look forward to returning next year". It means that we have made a lasting impression on your family as travelers, and it is truly an honor! Everyone at the hotel looks forward to seeing all of you next year!
Thank you,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    117
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
103
96
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying in the area for three nights, I decided to try somewhere different and less expensive. This hotel, even though is on the other side of the bay from downtown, it is well made up for in service and nice comfort. So far, every staff member I have talked with has been great.

The rooms are pleasant, predictable but pleasant. The breakfast is better than the "typical". All of the equipment in their well equipped Business Center worked.

For the price, I was glad to have spent three nights here.

Room Tip: I was on the top (4th) floor and had part of the bay view. From a view perspective, this is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
MJBaer,
All I can say is thank you for taking a chance on us! We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed you business trip to Newport, and got to take advantage for the slight view from the top floor. When you are in town again give us a call ahead of time to request a top floor again! We hope to see you real soon!
Thank you again!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this hotel and were very pleased with how clean, nice, comfortable, friendly and all of the above! Breakfast was great! The staff gave us lots of help on places to eat and things to see. This is our official go to place on the oregon coast! Thanks so much for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Seahawk-OR,
What a review! We are very proud to be your "official go to place on the Oregon Coast"! When we see reviews like yours we truly know that our hard work is paying off! We hope that you will return to Newport soon, and we will still have the award winning attitude that you have seen in the past!
Have a great day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised when I found this hotel during a business trip on the Oregon coast. The rooms was spacious and new. Upside price (winter) The only downside is to walk to marina would be a hike.

Room Tip: Ask for local rates for companies like GP etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Westside Chuck,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are so glad that you got to take advantage of our awesome GP rate while you were in our area. Taking care of our local companies is something we love to do! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future, and don't forget to mention your local company name!
Have a great day,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This newer property provides what we have come to expect from HIE--modern facilities, clean, complimentary wifi, fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and bedding. The breakfast choices are plentiful. We liked the location near Rogue Brewery and even had a bay view from our 4th floor room. All for a much better price then ocean front hotels we priced. Just blocks from the aquarium, Hatfield Marine Science Center, Yaquina lighthouse and a short hop across the bridge to the bayfront shops and restaurants. Very polite staff with prompt check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
redhils,
All of the staff would like to thank you for reviewing our property! We know that fellow travelers like to hear about our proximity to attractions in Newport, and your review describes our location perfectly! Even with you taking the time to review all of the other aspects of the hotel, you also commented on the Hotels Staff! All of us take pride in our hotel, and provide the absolute best customer service possible. We hope that you will be back to visit us at the hotel the next time you are in Newport Oregon!
Thank you,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport in December 2012 for two nights - a winter break on the coast
Booking - Booked through the Priority Club/IHG website with a great AAA rate
Location - very conveniently located off Hwy 101 just over the Newport Bridge. Left at the first set of traffic lights.
Check-in - quick and friendly. Nice to be welcomed as Priority Club members.
Room - Very clean and seemed larger than comparable rooms/hotels. The room and bathroom was spacious and clean and the queen beds were comfortable. The view was out towards the parking lot and the Pirates Village. You can also just see the aquarium!
Wifi - free and very easy to log on from an IPad
Breakfast - included in the price. Signature Holiday inn choices - bacon on the first day, sausage patties the next. Pancake machine great for the kids!
Pool - nice and clean and reasonably warm.
Check-out - accuate and very quick
The area - walkable to the Newport Aquarium. Very near to the South Beach State Park for a nice walk on the beach. 5 minutes over the bridge to the historic bay area in Newport. There is a Walmart and Fred Meyer at the other end (North) of Newport
This was a great and well run Holiday inn - I would defintely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
PDXPortland,
Wow what an extensive review! We are all so very grateful that you had taken the time to review the entire hotel! I read that you are a Priority Club Member, and I would like to personally thank you for your loyalty with our brands! The pancake machine sure is an awesome addition to the Holiday Inn Express breakfast isn't it? All of us here at the hotel would love to see you family join us again in the future!
Thank you again for the wonderful review,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very clean, comfortable room with small fridge & microwave and great beds. Breakfast was included, the kids enjoyed using the pancake machine to make their own breakfast. Location was great, right next to the aquarium and just down the road from Rogue brewery. Close to the beach and lighthouse.

Room Tip: Depending on the weather, get a room on the 4th floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
E N,
Thank you so much for such an awesome review! We are very happy that the kids got to take advantage of the pancake machine! That definitely adds to a wonderful hotel stay! All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport hope to see you on your next visit to Newport Oregon!
Thank your again,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.