We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Newport
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this hotel and were very pleased with how clean, nice, comfortable, friendly and all of the above! Breakfast was great! The staff gave us lots of help on places to eat and things to see. This is our official go to place on the oregon coast! Thanks so much for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Seahawk-OR,
What a review! We are very proud to be your "official go to place on the Oregon Coast"! When we see reviews like yours we truly know that our hard work is paying off! We hope that you will return to Newport soon, and we will still have the award winning attitude that you have seen in the past!
Have a great day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    118
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
103
97
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised when I found this hotel during a business trip on the Oregon coast. The rooms was spacious and new. Upside price (winter) The only downside is to walk to marina would be a hike.

Room Tip: Ask for local rates for companies like GP etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Westside Chuck,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We are so glad that you got to take advantage of our awesome GP rate while you were in our area. Taking care of our local companies is something we love to do! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future, and don't forget to mention your local company name!
Have a great day,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This newer property provides what we have come to expect from HIE--modern facilities, clean, complimentary wifi, fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and bedding. The breakfast choices are plentiful. We liked the location near Rogue Brewery and even had a bay view from our 4th floor room. All for a much better price then ocean front hotels we priced. Just blocks from the aquarium, Hatfield Marine Science Center, Yaquina lighthouse and a short hop across the bridge to the bayfront shops and restaurants. Very polite staff with prompt check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
redhils,
All of the staff would like to thank you for reviewing our property! We know that fellow travelers like to hear about our proximity to attractions in Newport, and your review describes our location perfectly! Even with you taking the time to review all of the other aspects of the hotel, you also commented on the Hotels Staff! All of us take pride in our hotel, and provide the absolute best customer service possible. We hope that you will be back to visit us at the hotel the next time you are in Newport Oregon!
Thank you,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport in December 2012 for two nights - a winter break on the coast
Booking - Booked through the Priority Club/IHG website with a great AAA rate
Location - very conveniently located off Hwy 101 just over the Newport Bridge. Left at the first set of traffic lights.
Check-in - quick and friendly. Nice to be welcomed as Priority Club members.
Room - Very clean and seemed larger than comparable rooms/hotels. The room and bathroom was spacious and clean and the queen beds were comfortable. The view was out towards the parking lot and the Pirates Village. You can also just see the aquarium!
Wifi - free and very easy to log on from an IPad
Breakfast - included in the price. Signature Holiday inn choices - bacon on the first day, sausage patties the next. Pancake machine great for the kids!
Pool - nice and clean and reasonably warm.
Check-out - accuate and very quick
The area - walkable to the Newport Aquarium. Very near to the South Beach State Park for a nice walk on the beach. 5 minutes over the bridge to the historic bay area in Newport. There is a Walmart and Fred Meyer at the other end (North) of Newport
This was a great and well run Holiday inn - I would defintely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
PDXPortland,
Wow what an extensive review! We are all so very grateful that you had taken the time to review the entire hotel! I read that you are a Priority Club Member, and I would like to personally thank you for your loyalty with our brands! The pancake machine sure is an awesome addition to the Holiday Inn Express breakfast isn't it? All of us here at the hotel would love to see you family join us again in the future!
Thank you again for the wonderful review,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very clean, comfortable room with small fridge & microwave and great beds. Breakfast was included, the kids enjoyed using the pancake machine to make their own breakfast. Location was great, right next to the aquarium and just down the road from Rogue brewery. Close to the beach and lighthouse.

Room Tip: Depending on the weather, get a room on the 4th floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
E N,
Thank you so much for such an awesome review! We are very happy that the kids got to take advantage of the pancake machine! That definitely adds to a wonderful hotel stay! All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport hope to see you on your next visit to Newport Oregon!
Thank your again,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We felt right at home from the minute we stepped in the door. Katrina was excellent, from check-in to assisting us a few times during our stay. The night auditor and morning desk woman were wonderful as well assisting us with shopping ideas/coupons for the outlets in Lincoln City and a late check out on our day of departure. The hotel is in excellent condition and the rooms are well appointed. The breakfast was filling and the breakfast attendant was friendly and helpful. All in allan excellent stay and we look forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th floor room with a partial view of the bay and a fireplace. We really enoyed this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Nathan S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. We all appreciate the kind words that you have said about our hotel! As always we strive to give the best customer service possible, and with a great review like yours we know that all of our hard work is paying off. We all hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location south of the bridge just to the east of the highway. New facility. Good room. Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast provided. Free wifi. Checkout the nearby aquarium and Rogue Brewery (Dead Guy is particularly good tasting).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel! All of us at the Holiday Inn Express love to hear what guests think of our property, and we love to get such rave reviews. I read that you were able to take advantage of many of the attractions near our hotel, and you enjoyed those as well! We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Thank you again,
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.