We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a single night, and sadly without time to enjoy the pool, gym or laundry.

So I only really used the bedroom/bathroom, and both were excellently equipped (fridge, microwave, safe...)
The beauty products in the bathroom were pretty standard but you can pick up anything else you may need from reception for free.

The wifi was free, fast and stable.

Breakfast is complimentary, which in theory is great, because it allows me to eat as little as I like - for instance I can go for only fruit and oatmeal without feeling like I have wasted 30 dollars on a breakfast buffet that I didn't really use - but here comes my only criticism, too. The breakfast buffet is pretty basic (for instance, the only fruit or vegetables that was available were bananas) and the single-use plates and cutlery were not compostable.

Everything else was fantastic, which is more than I can say about many hotels that cost two or three times as much.

For a five star review, I suggest adding more fresh fruit and vegetables to the breakfast buffet and implementing compost & recycling garbage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Mkalfa,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great stay even though it was short. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Thank you!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    119
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
105
97
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Seemed likes very new hotel, the room and common areas were in excellent condition. We used the pool twice and had a great time. The jacuzzi was also very nice. The breakfast was good nothing extremely fancy, but adequate for a hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
wwumarine,
We are all so happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us! You are correct our property is new, we just turned 3 in May! Our staff does a very good job at keeping it clean and in "like new"
condition for all of our guests. All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport looks forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Newport area!
Thank you,
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Huge rooms with large and extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent bathrooms, with bathtubs. Very good breakfast and WiFi (which disappeared occasionally, but not for long) in the rooms, included in the price. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good value for the price. Free use of swimming pool and jacuzzi (and a workout centre, which we didn't use).
A renowned aquarium and a marine life research centre are just across the road. Easy walking distance to the Rogue Brewery, which serves superb inexpensive food and fantastic beer.
Grouses:
Small windows in the large rooms made them very dark, and there is no overhead light, so it's difficult to read or work during the day. After complaining about this afterwards, we were told that additional lighting could have been provided.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi have no changing rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
jldawson45,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. I do apologize for the lighting issue that you had experienced while you were here, and I hope that you take advantage of the extra lighting we have available the next time you are with us. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about the rooms and the cleanliness of our Hotel. We take pride in our property and I am glad that you noticed as a guest. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Thank you again.
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely lobby, Staff was friendly and helpful. Computer room with 2 computers with wifi Pool and hot tub. Easy to locate, 1 block off Hwy 101. Walking distance to aquarium and shopping.
The full breakfast and morning news was great. Pancake machine was a first!. Eggs, Bacon, rolls, cereal, several coffees, bananas. Hot tea and coffee was available all day.

Room Tip: Slight view of the bay on the upper floors facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Wow, thank you for such an awesome review! All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport just want to thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are all so happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and with the perfect score you gave us we expect to see you again in the near future! Not many guests comment on the extensity of our breakfast, but you sure did! I am also glad that you got a chance to use the pancake machine as well! I know the next time you stay we will be sure to create another wonderful experience!
Thank you again!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was very clean, the pool and hot tub felt great after driving all day, the business center had two computers and printers, and the free breakfast had a nice variety of items (including a pancake machine that you have to try!) We had stayed at several other 2.5 and 3 star hotels during our trip to Oregon and in each one there was at least one thing wrong (i.e. run-down bathroom, smelly pillows, pool out-of-service, etc.) but our stay at this HIE was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon! We appreciate all of the rave comments and we are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay! It takes a great staff to be reviewed as "Perfect" from guests like yourself and we are so happy to see all of our hard work coming through in the Hotel. That pancake machine is quite a change from those over used waffle machines don't you think? We all just love seeing guests faces light up when they see the pancake machine in the morning, its just one of the small things that make this Hotel one of the best! We all hope to see you again!
Thank you again for the great review!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Super clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Modern, spacious room. Good continental breakfast with coffee and tea available all day. Only complaint is that the hotel is kind of on the edge of town BUT it's a 2 minute walk to the famous aquarium here and about a 5 minute drive to numerous beaches. Very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
J P,

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a great review! We depend on our guests to tell us how well we are doing, and by reading your review I know that we are doing great! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see you again real soon!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on our hotel!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Okay so I must admit we are very loyal Marriott travelers. We look for and stay at Marriott hotels any where we can, however there is not a Marriott anywhere (it seems) on the Oregon coast. We were very leary about where to stay but we chose the Holiday Inn Express based on the Trip Advisor responses. We have never been to Newport and didn't know the area. When you pull in to the hotel it is a little unassuming. The rooms themselves are what is so impressive. They were so clean and spacious. The decorations were warm and inviting. The hotel was so quiet and we had a bayside room where we could watch the sunrise. It was a real treat and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser I highly suggest the bayside rooms so you can watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a wonderful review! We pride ourselves on cleanliness and have recently had an inspection in which our Hotel recieved very high scores in our cleanliness department, as well as all others. We love getting reviews like these to forward on to all of our staff members! It is always good to try out new brands to see what they have to offer guests, and you picked the best in town! We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you again!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.