We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Huge rooms with large and extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent bathrooms, with bathtubs. Very good breakfast and WiFi (which disappeared occasionally, but not for long) in the rooms, included in the price. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good value for the price. Free use of swimming pool and jacuzzi (and a workout centre, which we didn't use).
A renowned aquarium and a marine life research centre are just across the road. Easy walking distance to the Rogue Brewery, which serves superb inexpensive food and fantastic beer.
Grouses:
Small windows in the large rooms made them very dark, and there is no overhead light, so it's difficult to read or work during the day. After complaining about this afterwards, we were told that additional lighting could have been provided.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi have no changing rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
jldawson45,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon. I do apologize for the lighting issue that you had experienced while you were here, and I hope that you take advantage of the extra lighting we have available the next time you are with us. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about the rooms and the cleanliness of our Hotel. We take pride in our property and I am glad that you noticed as a guest. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Thank you again.
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    123
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
107
102
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely lobby, Staff was friendly and helpful. Computer room with 2 computers with wifi Pool and hot tub. Easy to locate, 1 block off Hwy 101. Walking distance to aquarium and shopping.
The full breakfast and morning news was great. Pancake machine was a first!. Eggs, Bacon, rolls, cereal, several coffees, bananas. Hot tea and coffee was available all day.

Room Tip: Slight view of the bay on the upper floors facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Wow, thank you for such an awesome review! All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport just want to thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are all so happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and with the perfect score you gave us we expect to see you again in the near future! Not many guests comment on the extensity of our breakfast, but you sure did! I am also glad that you got a chance to use the pancake machine as well! I know the next time you stay we will be sure to create another wonderful experience!
Thank you again!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was very clean, the pool and hot tub felt great after driving all day, the business center had two computers and printers, and the free breakfast had a nice variety of items (including a pancake machine that you have to try!) We had stayed at several other 2.5 and 3 star hotels during our trip to Oregon and in each one there was at least one thing wrong (i.e. run-down bathroom, smelly pillows, pool out-of-service, etc.) but our stay at this HIE was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Oregon! We appreciate all of the rave comments and we are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay! It takes a great staff to be reviewed as "Perfect" from guests like yourself and we are so happy to see all of our hard work coming through in the Hotel. That pancake machine is quite a change from those over used waffle machines don't you think? We all just love seeing guests faces light up when they see the pancake machine in the morning, its just one of the small things that make this Hotel one of the best! We all hope to see you again!
Thank you again for the great review!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Super clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Modern, spacious room. Good continental breakfast with coffee and tea available all day. Only complaint is that the hotel is kind of on the edge of town BUT it's a 2 minute walk to the famous aquarium here and about a 5 minute drive to numerous beaches. Very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
J P,

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a great review! We depend on our guests to tell us how well we are doing, and by reading your review I know that we are doing great! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see you again real soon!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on our hotel!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Okay so I must admit we are very loyal Marriott travelers. We look for and stay at Marriott hotels any where we can, however there is not a Marriott anywhere (it seems) on the Oregon coast. We were very leary about where to stay but we chose the Holiday Inn Express based on the Trip Advisor responses. We have never been to Newport and didn't know the area. When you pull in to the hotel it is a little unassuming. The rooms themselves are what is so impressive. They were so clean and spacious. The decorations were warm and inviting. The hotel was so quiet and we had a bayside room where we could watch the sunrise. It was a real treat and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser I highly suggest the bayside rooms so you can watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a wonderful review! We pride ourselves on cleanliness and have recently had an inspection in which our Hotel recieved very high scores in our cleanliness department, as well as all others. We love getting reviews like these to forward on to all of our staff members! It is always good to try out new brands to see what they have to offer guests, and you picked the best in town! We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you again!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

stayed one night at the Holiday Express Hotel since it is near the Oregon Coast Aquarium.

The motel is modern and clean, but it is clearly oriented for the business travel not the leisure tourist. At check in font desk was cold and official with a somber face I felt like she was going to ask would you like a smile with that? check out was fast and easy. I don't think that paying over hundred dollars for one night is a resealable rate for this motel. other motels near by should be better deals.

The location is a bit far from downtown Newport not much is within walking distance.

We did get a good night rest with large clean beds. The bed cover had a iron mark on it. The room is good size , with a desk and chair.

breakfast was the usual motel breakfast with eggs ,biscuits and gravy, I enjoyed the fresh large cinnamon rolls offered.

good motel for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts with us about your stay at our hotel. We do apologize that you had a less than great expereince with us recently. We try to create the best experience possible when you are with us, so you feel the money was well spent and it seems as though we fell short. However, you did mention how clean everything was and the nice size of the rooms, and we thank you for that. We are a new hotel with a great hosekeeping staff that keeps the hotel looking nice and clean for guests, and I'm glad you noticed. We really are a great hotel, and I hope you give us a chance to better serve you in the future.
Have a great day.
Katrina Parker
Assistant General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The king suite was comfortable for our two night stay. It was very clean and the bed had the perfect firmness. The room temp was perfect as well. If you expect a suite to have a separating door from the sitting area, this did not. Lots of lamps throughout but poor lighting at the sitting/dining area. Had the complimentary breakfast the first morning. Bacon and eggs did not taste like the real thing. Passed for La Maison Bakery (decadent pastries!) the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Newport Oregon! We are so please that you felt everything was to your liking. I do apologize for the egg issue you experienced durring your stay. Unfortunately all of out breakfast items are band mandated and we cannot change them. However, you did get to eat at La Maison which is a really great resturant! We really enjoyed your review, and I hope you come and stay with us again!
Have a great day!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.