We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Super clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Modern, spacious room. Good continental breakfast with coffee and tea available all day. Only complaint is that the hotel is kind of on the edge of town BUT it's a 2 minute walk to the famous aquarium here and about a 5 minute drive to numerous beaches. Very happy we found this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
J P,

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a great review! We depend on our guests to tell us how well we are doing, and by reading your review I know that we are doing great! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see you again real soon!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on our hotel!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    123
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
107
102
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Okay so I must admit we are very loyal Marriott travelers. We look for and stay at Marriott hotels any where we can, however there is not a Marriott anywhere (it seems) on the Oregon coast. We were very leary about where to stay but we chose the Holiday Inn Express based on the Trip Advisor responses. We have never been to Newport and didn't know the area. When you pull in to the hotel it is a little unassuming. The rooms themselves are what is so impressive. They were so clean and spacious. The decorations were warm and inviting. The hotel was so quiet and we had a bayside room where we could watch the sunrise. It was a real treat and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser I highly suggest the bayside rooms so you can watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
All of us at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport thank you for such a wonderful review! We pride ourselves on cleanliness and have recently had an inspection in which our Hotel recieved very high scores in our cleanliness department, as well as all others. We love getting reviews like these to forward on to all of our staff members! It is always good to try out new brands to see what they have to offer guests, and you picked the best in town! We look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you again!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

stayed one night at the Holiday Express Hotel since it is near the Oregon Coast Aquarium.

The motel is modern and clean, but it is clearly oriented for the business travel not the leisure tourist. At check in font desk was cold and official with a somber face I felt like she was going to ask would you like a smile with that? check out was fast and easy. I don't think that paying over hundred dollars for one night is a resealable rate for this motel. other motels near by should be better deals.

The location is a bit far from downtown Newport not much is within walking distance.

We did get a good night rest with large clean beds. The bed cover had a iron mark on it. The room is good size , with a desk and chair.

breakfast was the usual motel breakfast with eggs ,biscuits and gravy, I enjoyed the fresh large cinnamon rolls offered.

good motel for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts with us about your stay at our hotel. We do apologize that you had a less than great expereince with us recently. We try to create the best experience possible when you are with us, so you feel the money was well spent and it seems as though we fell short. However, you did mention how clean everything was and the nice size of the rooms, and we thank you for that. We are a new hotel with a great hosekeeping staff that keeps the hotel looking nice and clean for guests, and I'm glad you noticed. We really are a great hotel, and I hope you give us a chance to better serve you in the future.
Have a great day.
Katrina Parker
Assistant General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The king suite was comfortable for our two night stay. It was very clean and the bed had the perfect firmness. The room temp was perfect as well. If you expect a suite to have a separating door from the sitting area, this did not. Lots of lamps throughout but poor lighting at the sitting/dining area. Had the complimentary breakfast the first morning. Bacon and eggs did not taste like the real thing. Passed for La Maison Bakery (decadent pastries!) the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Newport Oregon! We are so please that you felt everything was to your liking. I do apologize for the egg issue you experienced durring your stay. Unfortunately all of out breakfast items are band mandated and we cannot change them. However, you did get to eat at La Maison which is a really great resturant! We really enjoyed your review, and I hope you come and stay with us again!
Have a great day!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

In planning our trip down the Oregon coast, I had an extremely hard time finding a hotel which would book for one night only on Sat., which had good reviews, was non-smoking and met all our other requirements. (We really are not all that picky). When I happened on Holiday Inn Express in Newport thru tripadvisor, I booked immediately. Having never been to Oregon, we began our southward exploration early on Sat. morning, thinking that we would reach Newport mid-afternoon. We saw way too many interesting sites and by the time my husband asked if we would arrive in time for his must see football game we really had to hurry. We reached the Holiday Inn Express and I truly ran in and held my breath until the very nice ladies at the check-in assured me we had ESPN. Check in was really quick and with my door key they handed me a printed list of TV stations with the correct one highlighted. Wonderful service. Our king suite room was perfect with comfortable sofa for game watching and a wet bar for game time refreshments. We had a great night, peaceful sleep with everything we could have hoped for in our room. Great room, excellent staff and beautiful location. Thanks ya'll.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
GAWanderer,

I am so pleased that your husband didn't miss his game! I know he was sure looking forward to it! We are all so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Newport, and our staff truely loved having you and your husband with us! Please be sure to come down the coast again,and stay with us! Maybe even stay a couple nights?!
Thank you for a wonderful review!!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are used to being spoiled with the excellence of our condo club accommodations and were somewhat apprehensive about staying at a chain motel. However, an online review of the Holiday Inn Express encouraged us and we reserved two nights in Newport OR. We found a 3-year old motel that looked like it had just been completed...clean, modern, well appointed, quiet, with a great extensive warm breakfast and friendly staff in a secure location and a top floor view of Yaquina Bay. If you are a stroller, the local level terrain amongst marine science facilities, nature trails, and a nearby jetty and beaches is handy. We have found a second home at this location.

Room Tip: Top (4th) floor rooms facing the bay offer best views and quietness. Fortunately, pets are NOT allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Gary R,

We are all so happy to welcome you to your new second home! Its always hard for people who already have a great vacation spot to fall in love with a new one, and we are all so happy it is our property that you chose. We make customer service our top priority and by reading your review it shows us that all of the hard work is paying off. Also I would like to thank you for the great breakfast and hotel cleanliness compliments. All of the staff members take great pride in our property and LOVE that you saw that durring your stay! We all look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Thank you for the great review!

Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just needed one night in this town And we chose wisely. Highly recommend this place....beds Are incredible? Only draw back is no onside restaurant and no restaurant very close by? Check in was quick and easy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
PhoenixNancy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your one nights stay with us in Newport, Oregon. I am so glad you enjoyed the beds! We get a lot of compliments so that will be one thing we never change. Our front desk staff was also very thankful that you commented on the efficiency of the check-in, they are very thorough and try to spend as much time with guests as possible.
All of us hope to see you again!

Thank you again!
Katrina Parker
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.