We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Lot More than Noodles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noodle Cafe

Noodle Cafe
837 SW Bay Boulevard, Newport, OR 97365-4837
541-574-6688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“It's a Lot More than Noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a memorable meal at this little restaurant in the evening on Friday, June 7, 2013.

The food was delicious, and the service was delightful.

I have two suggestions for this excellent enterprise.

First, improve the curb appeal of your establishment. A little paint would help, and some of the 8 1/2 x 11-inch signs need to be removed.

Add something to your name so casual passersby will know you serve much more than noodles: Noodle Cafe: Pan-Asian Cuisine or Noodle Cafe and Oyster House, for instance.

The oysters with scallions was a dish as delicious as oysters get, and the homemade noodles were sublime. We have visited Newport many times over a 25-year period and our meal here was the best we have ever had there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    42
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh new bayside restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Delicious salad rolls and Asian chicken salad - fresh ingredients, delicious peanut sauce, and very friendly service. Moderately priced, and you can see the bay from inside or sit outside on park benches in the fresh air.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I Hate to Write This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is one of those times when I am torn between wanting to reward a great restaurant and keeping my mouth shut. I live here and while I love good food I am not so happy about waiting in line to get it. Noodle Cafe, on Newport's historic tourist filled bayfront, has a slightly confusing ambiguous name and is in a somewhat odd looking unassuming building. Although you will find delicious seafood here it is likely not what you first think of when you see their sign.

Go on in. If you have looked at other highly rated Newport eateries keep your eyes open; there's a good chance you will see one of their chef-owners at the next table. They all eat here. The food is consistently delicious, different from everything else in town, and very very reasonably priced.

Everyone has their favorite entrees. For me they are: pho (as good as I can find anywhere in Portland), jung bong (the only place I have ever found it), and fried tempura oysters (from the oyster farm just up the road).

If you are in Newport you really should eat here...but not on the nights I want to go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on the historic waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this inconspicuous restaurant in downtown Newport. It may not appear to be much on the outside, but I enjoyed some of the best Chinese food I have had since being in Oregon. The sauces were flavorful and unique, the ingredients fresh, and everyone in my party enjoyed their meals. I will definitely be returning next time I'm in Newport!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fresh and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate her on a sunny saturday afternoon and took advantage of sitting outside on their deck. The veiw can't be beat. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Large portions on the freshly made noodle dishes. Iverall a good experience and we will be back on our next trip to Newport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noodle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Noodle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noodle Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.