We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is just PERFECT.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyee Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tyee Lodge to your Saves list
Tyee Lodge
4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Special
Ranked #3 of 10 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is just PERFECT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

So many things to praise for this simple, clean and very friendly BB. I wish I would have stayed longer. It is very clean, new, very quite if you dont count the sound of the ocean:). Great views of pine trees and ocean from the bed, fireplace in the room, tub, awesome breakfast, very friendly BB owners, tea and wine int he lobby. Highly recommended. I think it is the best BB I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a delightful B&B! Every room has a view of the expansive beach with easy access for wandering the tidal pools or beachcombing. The room was really comfortable, with comfy chairs that allow you to watch the sun set and the stars come out. Or, if you like to commune with the others, the fireplace inside or the firepit outside on a cool evening was a great draw.

The breakfasts were outstanding, and fresh cookies every day were yummy.

Being near US101 made it so easy to drive up and down the coast and take time to visit the myriad of state parks and beaches along the way. The Yaquina Head lighthouse was "next door" and a definite must-see. The quiet, couples-only environment makes this a place to return to for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We're spoiled as it is living in Vancouver, BC with gorgeous ocean scenery. We weren't expecting such a gorgeous view outside of our Tillamook room however. All rooms feature a gorgeous ocean view, comparable to Tofino Beach on Vancouver Island. The winding path to the beach is through lush vegetation (wear covered shoes if it's been raining) and opens to a gorgeous sandy beach.

Dee and Doug were very helpful and easy-going right from check-in. Breakfasts were very tasty and are taken in a dining room that also looks onto the beach. It felt like a home away from home and very inviting after a couple of days exploring the area.

It depends on what kind of accommodation you're looking for. Tyee is located in the northern part of Newport, away from the harbour and Nye Beach. You will have to drive to those areas for meals, but it's also busier there. We liked the peace and being close to Yakina Head Lighthouse and park.

Such a welcoming place! Hope to be back one day again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This B&B was better than we expected. The room was comfortable, with a beautiful view of the ocean (the other rooms do as well--we checked :-)). We kept the window open to hear the soothing sounds of the surf, but also kept the fireplace in the bedroom going to dust off the chill. The Yaquina Head Lighthouse was an easy walk from the house, and the restaurant recommended by the hosts was superb. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed before the start of the summer season (June 15), so the rooms were less expensive ($99). There is also a common living room where we sipped complementary wine from Oregon in front of a fireplace and a view of the ocean. We made this trip to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday (Oregon was the only one of the 50 states to which she had not visited), and she was beyond pleased. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms are cheaper before 15 June
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of the trip!
The inn is lovely and the owners, Doug and Dee could not have been more friendly and helpful. They made sure everything was enjoyable for us. The breakfasts were great and served in the beautiful dining room with a beautiful view. Every room of the inn had a beautiful view of the ocean Our view was exquisite. The location is perfect for getting into town, to the beach and the state parks and lighthouse. Newport is a great town on the coast as well. We look forward to getting back there soon!

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Tyee has new owners. They are nice people who are trying their best. They were still in the process of unpacking and getting settled during our stay. First the positive great views, beatiful grounds, and great breakfast. Now the negatives we were awakened by a lady next door playing a flute at 6AM and she did not stop until 8AM, the room we stayed in was very small and the bathroom was very tiny. The toliets do not flush well so be careful you may need to flush several times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyee Lodge

Address: 4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of Yaquina Head, this peaceful oceanfront bed-and-breakfast sits atop a high bluff silhouetted by majestic Sitka Spruce Trees. Guest rooms all have spectacular ocean views, gas fireplaces, queen sized beds, and private bathrooms. The house has a modern look with Native American accents. There are also outstanding views from the guest living room and dinning room. There are lovely gardens, an out door fire pit, and a private trail leading down to the beach. A gourmet breakfast and wine, coffee, and soda bar are included with the price of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tyee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyee Lodge Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.