We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Calzone on the Planet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savory Cafe & Pizzeria

Savory Cafe & Pizzeria
526 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3607
541-574-9365
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wonderful, fresh, local ingredients, and made to order foods. We offer appetizers, salads, sandwiches, fish tacos, specialty dinners and the best pizza in town. Delivery available, Family Friendly, WiFi. Open 11-9 with live music Tues, Thur, Fri, and Saturday nights and Sunday day. Come on down for the BEST meal there is in Nye Beach.(541) 574-9365 526 NW Coast Street in Newport, Oregon.
tahoe
1 review
“Best Calzone on the Planet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Newport's finest pizzaria, and best value restaurant. Entertainment for the entire family. Seperate section for sports bar and adults only. We couldn't wait to get hungry again to enjoy Savory's great food and fun. Service was friendly and courteous...We recommend everyone to visit. Right on the drag on Nye Beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    33
    25
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“3 for Food, 5 for Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We tried this place after reading the mixed reviews on TA. The menu looked pretty good, thought prices were reasonable, and cafe interior looked pleasant.

The young lady who greeted us was very nice to inform us that the section we wanted to sit in would soon be a favorite of very young children in about 30-minutes as it was near the corner "play area", which I had not noticed. Everyone was super friendly and eager to please. Yes, some of the complaints of other reviewers are true. When my husband ordered a second Mai-Tai, the waitress hurried off without asking if I wanted another smoothie. But, she did ask me after she returned with his second drink. She would pop back and forth multiple times, but I chalk that up to needing some training. So, maybe they weren't the most efficient and ran back and forth more times than necessary, but I felt they genuinely tried hard and wanted to please - quite rare these days. We didn't meet the owners, just the two waitresses.

Regarding the food, well it is average, but they seem to use good quality ingredients. I ordered the Spicy Fish Tacos. We were going to share one order because it was too early for dinner and, much to our surprise, they came back with two full plates of rice and beans and a fish taco (one order comes with 2 fish tacos) for each of us - very generous and very thoughtful. Yes, the spicy fish tacos was pretty bland, but it was clean and fresh tasting, none of the heavily breaded and fried stuff. Another reviewer complained that the black beans were from a can. If the beans were from a can, it was a good quality brand because the beans were firm, not mushy and overly starchy. I liked them. The Mai Tai was good. The strawberry-banana smoothie was not as good. It tasted like it had strawberry syrup, couldn't taste any banana, and it was much too watery.

Overall, we thought it was good enough to return the next time we visit Newport.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Service was Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon and the owners we so nice to us and very entertaining. The food and drinks were great, too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The pizza that we ordered was not worth the money that was spent on it. The toppings were far and few in between. It was not what I would expect for what I spent

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena, Or
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a beachside treasure! Great food, amazing libations and most importantly, fantastic people. Mike and Nancy have created a "do not miss" little slice of paradise. With their Hawaiian inspired theme, they give you a sense of being guests in their home. We had the spring rolls, coconut shrimp and meatball calzone. Paired with jalapeño margaritas for the starters and Zinfandel with the calzone, the experience could not have been more perfect!! We love Mike and Nancy and their crew and will always make this a destination on every visit to the coast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savory Cafe & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Savory Cafe & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savory Cafe & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.