We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach level wonders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Creek Cove

Save Saved
You added Little Creek Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Creek Cove
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3641 NW Oceanview Drive, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beach level wonders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful sunny weather in early March as we spent three nights in a 2-Bedroom condo at Little Creek Cove. We watched a bald eagle perched at the top of a tree on the hillside and flying off later. A heron waded in the creek at dusk, looking for food. Children played in the creek and on the beach during the day. Lots to see in units closest to the beach, and the view is amazing, both north to Yaquina Head and south toward Newport. The wooden bridge across the creek to the beach led us straight out to the surf !

Room Tip: Overlooking the duck pond is entertaining...closer to the beach is a wider view both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our group of 4 was very impressed by LCC. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room (1 bedroom, 1.5 bath, 1 murphy) was huge and very functional. The murphy bed was no token bed - it had a Simmons Beatyrest mattress and was very comfortable. Wished we could have stayed longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at Little Creek Cove in a studio condo. It was perfect for 2 people. We like to cook on our trips so we loved the full size kitchen. The view was incredible with large windows and a sliding door to a huge covered deck. We used the fireplace and large HD tv with dvd player and a bookshelf full of movies. The low access beach was great for long walks. There was even fresh flowers and candles on the table! The only negative was the children on the second floor who ran up and down the hallway most of the evening....But this would not stop me from staying again it was a real value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and want to apologize for the inconvenience of the noise on the second floor. Hopefully, you will come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent the week of Christmas (Dec 23-30) in Condo #111 Pacifica. We stayed here 5 years ago at the same time in #131 and really loved it. Since then, things have certainly changed. Their website states: "Little Creek Cove is the only Newport, Oregon hotel that is located on the beach; cross the lawn and you have access to three miles of pristine, sandy beach. There are no long staircases down steep bluffs, no walks down a road to a public beach access." In reality, not only is there no simple access out to the beach, there is NO access at all from anywhere on the property. Any bridge or access they used to have is long gone. When we checked in, the person at the desk gave my husband 4 large plastic bags and suggested we wear these to wade across. See photos. The next morning we clocked .7 mile from our condo, up the hill, down the road, jump the creek and out to the surf. This was very disappointing, and should be addressed on their website. It is false advertising.
One of the two large windows in the living room is so full of moisture (between double panes) it effectively blocks your view of the ocean. The other one has also started to lose it's seal. The furnishings are dated, but acceptable. There were also some good things about it. It had a well-stocked kitchen with plenty of cookware and dishes and a nice new electric stove. They provided paper towels, napkins, dishwasher detergent and linens. The kitchen window however, had patches of black mold and peeling paint in the corners. The people in the office were very friendly, and courteous. The house-keepers were pleasant and delivered fresh linens, soap, coffee, etc early each morning. The grounds are well kept. The goose and his 4 duck-friends are fun to watch in the little pond below. Would we return? No. Not until some updating and minor repairs done, but certainly not until acceptable beach access is restored.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Your review is being brought to the managers' attention to address your comments. We want everyone to have a great time at Little Creek Cove and I am sorry that you are "somewhat disappointed in your stay." Unfortunately we do get the bridge washed out sometimes during the winter if there are continuous heavy rains but once we had some dry days, the beach access was restored. Thank you for taking the time to post a review as it will make Little Creek Cove even better after your concerns are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed at LCC at least 10 times over the past 25 years, so obviously I have found much to like about this property. First and foremost is the view -- spectacular from any unit in the complex. It is magnificent in all seasons. It is located right on Agate Beach, just outside Newport. They've built a walking bridge across the creek, so beach access is a simple matter these days. The beach itself is wonderful - a couple miles of easy walking, beachcombing, and ocean-gazing. The units are individually owned and decorated, but very well maintained. The staff is well-informed and helpful. This year, wifi was available and responsive. The odd goose and duck family living in the condo central area pond is endlessly entertaining. The complex is convenient to all major attractions up and down the coast, and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby if you decide you don't want to cook. If you do cook in the unit, each place I have stayed had a clean kitchen, equipped with all the basics.
There are a couple challenges - soundproofing is problematic, and you will certainly be aware of your neighbors. Renting any unit means dealing with stairs - some only a few, others many, many, many (really great views in those third floor units, though!). This year, room 128 (The Puffin) had really squeaky bed springs, and it takes awhile to get hot water in the bathroom.

All that said, will I be back next year? Yes, I will. With no hesitation. LCC still has the best location with the best view on the best beach in the area. The views on a sunny day, a stormy afternoon, or looking out on a crimson sunset are just plain good for the soul.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, tell them. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We really appreciated your feedback and want to thank you for coming back every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A group of friends have been staying here for several years in early October. We usually get 5 rooms. This is probably our last year because the price has increased dramatically and we know we can get similar or better accommodations nearby. There is no spa or pool. The view is spectacular. Walking on the beach was extremely convenient. This is an older property but is well kept. The kitchens have everything. All rooms have a nice gas fireplace and a flat screen TV.

This year I noticed the rooms finally had WiFi which was nice.

I always hang a do not disturb sign on the door since the maids tend to show up early. They will gladly come back before 3pm if you call the front desk.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach. If you have trouble negotiating stairs call ahead to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. All comments are appreciated. I will bring your review to the attention of the managers so they may respond directly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Little Creek Cove for five nights in September. In researching lodging in the Newport area, we looked into renting a private home vs a hotel room. By chance we stumbled across The Creek Cove Condominiums and recognized that it was the perfect compromise. Like a private home, the spacious one bedroom unit was nicely furnished, had a well stocked kitchen, a small dining area and a comfortable living room with a fireplace. There were two decks on two levels with beautiful views of the ocean. Like a hotel, however, there was daily housekeeping to make beds, replenish towels, dump trash, etc. They also provide coffee packets, soaps and dish detergents. We would definitely recommend this lodging for anyone who wants a little more space than a hotel room provides with the convenience of daily housekeeping.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleCreekCove, Front Desk at Little Creek Cove, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Creek Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Creek Cove

Address: 3641 NW Oceanview Drive, Newport, OR 97365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Creek Cove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Creek Cove is the only Newport, Oregon hotel that is located on the beach; cross the lawn and you have access to three miles of pristine, sandy beach. There are no long staircases down steep bluffs, no walks down a road to a public beach access. Each condominium is unique and each offers breathtaking views of the majestic Pacific Ocean. We offer one and two bedroom condominiums, as well as studios, all on beautifully landscaped grounds. Each condominium has been updated, has large windows, a private deck that faces the ocean and a full kitchen that you can cook your fresh seafood in. Breathe in the fresh marine air, hear the call of seabirds riding on the wind, become mesmerized by the ocean waves breaking along the sandy shore. Walk on the beach, build sandcastles, visit the many nearby attractions. Whether relaxing on your private deck, lounging by the fireplace in your tranquil condo, or exploring the beach, tidepools or the town of Newport, Little Creek Cove offers something for everyone. Your home-away-from-home, just steps from the beach, awaits you. Whether you're looking for romantic seclusion or a site for a perfect family vacation, our Newport, Oregon hotel has the perfect accommodations for you, and you will find yourself returning again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Little Creek Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Creek Cove Hotel Newport
Little Creek Cove Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Creek Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.