We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabeth Street Inn to your Saves list
Elizabeth Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off:call 877-265-9400
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nebraska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We rarely stay in places like this, we're budget travellers but, since we were in Newprt we opted for something "fancy". Our room had real nice furnishings and with the fireplace, made it very cozy. We liked the view from our own little patio. The staff was very friendly and plesant, we used the desk staff as our personal tour guide service and they were accomodating. Pool and spa were nice since it was too stormy to swim in the ocean. I never parked under my hotel before but, that was actually convenient. Breakfast was probably the best self-serve I ever had at a hotel. Amenities abound from the complementary bath robe to fresh, hot cookies at night. Only complaint is there was no on-site resaturant. That would have made the $190 price a little easier to swallow. Oh, and for a 4 star hotel I would have expected a roomier bathroom - it was really pretty small.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    199
    54
    31
    14
See reviews for
149
325
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night as part of our trip up the Oregon Coast to celebrate his birthday. Our room was beautiful. The view of the ocean from our balcony was gorgeous. We slept with the sliding glass door open all night long in order to hear the waves while we slept. All of the employees we encountered were extremely nice, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was great. We stayed here only because we had a gift certificate for a free one night's stay, but we would definitely go back as paying customers!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is wonderful. All the free food was fantastic, waffles in the morning and hot eggs, bacon and sausage. The room was also fantastic, we stayed in a king room with a fireplace. The only problem (and this isn't the hotel's fault, just the location) was that when we went to go take a quick walk on the beach, little did we know that we had to walk about 2 blocks to get to a large ramp that went down about 50 feet to the ocean, and to get back we walked up stairs that connected with the hotel next door... it was a LONG walk and not great for someone like me with horrible knee problems. But the hotel was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arrived on a Saturday with no reservation. The Inn and every place full. But the staff called every hotel for us to try to get us a room somewhere. We had to go inland to Toledo to the "Bates" from Psycho motel. We came back to Eliz. Inn at 7 am to get reservations for a room for that night. They called us soon as a room opened up.
We could only afford two nights, wanted to stay several but couldn't afford it.
The staff so super helfpul, friendly, nice. Wonderful view, clean and delightful. Breakfast not much healthy options but pool was nice, fitness room too hot. Beach is superb for walking and enjoying. Nice balconly. Wonderful room. Exceptional staff. will be back. Wish cost less but all the nice motels hotels are in that price range it seems. They sure EARNED our loyaltiy. Will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My new bride and I stayed at the Elizabeth Inn for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We were immediately greeted by Monica and Sandy, who were both smiling...not something you see entering hotels/inns very often anymore. Monica checked us in in a quick yet friendly manner. She took the time to answer all of my questions about things to do and see and which resturants to eat at, without making me feel like I was an inconvience.
The Northview King room is spacious with an amazing view of the Yaquina Head lighthouse (weather permitting). The room had a small refrigerater and microwave in it as well as a DVD player. We brought our own movies however the Inn does have movies to rent. The bed is very comfortable. The king size bed actually had four 6 1/2 to 7 foot posts, not one of those cheap heaboards that are nailed to the wall. I'm sure that was an expensive yet elegant touch.
The cookies have to be one of the best perks. The aroma teases you for a couple hours before they actually come out. A nice treat.
The breakfast buffet had quite the selection. There was bisquits and gravy, english muffins, bagels with cream cheese, bacon, sausage and egg patties, raisen bread, ceral, yogurt, bananas, make your own waffles, cold ceral and oatmeal just to name a few items included in the buffet. The best part is that it's free.
While the checking out process wasn't quite as friendly and a bit rushed we still overall enjoyed our stay. We just wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.
We plan to make this our anniversary location for many years.
Thank you Elizabeth Street Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel was very nice! unfortunately upon check in i was immediately taken back and disspointed at the rude women who checked me in. She was very abrupt and I did not feel welcome or comfortable at all. Later I would try to be polite to some housekeeping staff that complained and looked miserable, it made me feel guilty for being there! For the money they charge at this hotel, the owners should really invest in a happier hotel staff. I want to come back to the hotel but not if the service is going to be that poor, which is unfortunate since the hotel itself was nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Not as good as last year when we were there; I'm sure the economy isn't helping any. We stayed for 5 nights end of July and the room wasn't quite as clean as last year, but was still in very nice condition. It was foggy almost every day this time (a first of our 4 vacations to Newport) but we loved it! The staff is always friendly, but they need to work a little harder on their cleaning staff. They missed some obvious stuff and only vacuumed two of the five days that I was there. Considering that you get a full balcony to overlook the ocean and only one day had little rug rats terrorizing the neighbors next door, it was again a great stay and I would still recommend this place to anyone. I might change my mind if the cleanliness continues to decline. The Eliz Inn Internet was dog slow again, there is another local, unsecured free Internet you can get in the rooms that is far better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.