We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabeth Street Inn to your Saves list
Elizabeth Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off:call 877-265-9400
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver, bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. I was impressed with the large room size, fireplace, and balcony over looking the beach. They offer 7 HBO channels and free parking. Beach access down long flight of stairs next to the Shilo hotel next door. Friendly front desk staff and nice swimming pool. My only complaints would be that the wireless internet was not working the whole 2 days I was there and the continental breakfast is quite small. However, they do serve chowder at 5pm and fresh cookies at 8pm daily.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    199
    54
    31
    14
See reviews for
149
325
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed on the first floor because we didn't want our children to disturb others that may have stayed below us. The view of the ocean was still fantastic.

The staff was incredible. They smiled and greeted us all the time, even when we simply passed through to use the elevator.

The continental breakfast was perfectly balanced with yogurt, hard boiled eggs and a scone to die for. Not to mention fresh fruit! The scones don't look all that special but don't let looks fool you. Try one. You'll go back for another, and another!

The salmon chowder and cookies at night was also a nice treat.

Our roomservice was wonderful too. Way to go Debra! Thanks for the great treatment.

There were only two things we didn't like.

1) The rolling chairs in the lobby. Our kids tried to get on and sit properly before they rolled back. It didn't happen and they ended up spilling thier juice on the floor, as the chair rolled out from under them.

2) Our toilet was also loud and it made us jump everytime we flushed it.

  • Liked — The Staff. Very friendly.
  • Disliked — The rolling chairs - not suitable for young children ages 3-5. They were too big for the provided high chairs, and too small for the chairs with wheels.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

Very nice place. Clean and comfortable in every respect. First night was rough, but once I figured out how to properly adjust the heat, all was well. All the staff was very pleasant and professional. Every room has a great ocean view with a private balcony.
Complimentary continental breakfast, but the surprise was a nice appetizer before dinner, and warm cookies later.
I'll stay here again.

  • Liked — General layout of rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

The Elizabeth Street Inn is one of those gems you hope to find when travelling.
Our room on the top floor facing the sea, was tastefully decorated with quality fittings, such a marble suround double basins, lovely 3 seater couch facing a gas fired wood effect fireplace. A small balcony with chairs overlooked the beach with expansive views along the Oregan Coast.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The conplimentary clam chowder at 5pm and freshly baked cookies at 8pm were delicious.
The deluxe breakfast included fresh fruit and yoghurt along with the usual continental fare which included muffins and danishes and bagels to toast.
Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Quality and Value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

I made reservations at this hotel because they advertised a buy one night, get one night free. I had to change my reservations twice and asked if I would still get my buy one night, get one free. They said they would honor it even on Memorial Day Weekend, because the nights I requested weren't available. At the last minute the manager, Mary Ann decided they would not honor the reservation. I had a confirmed reservation #. Her attitude was very poor and she should probably be in a different business. I usually stay at Hallmark or Starfish Quest and highly recommend both. I only took a chance on this hotel because of the special. I will avoid ever trying this hotel and share my experience with others, so they are not baited and switched as I was.

  • Liked — It is near the beach
  • Disliked — The customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

This was an outstanding weekend getaway. The room was large, (we had the King with sofa) with fireplace overlooking the beach (some rooms will look over the indoor pool complex with the ocean beyond, so if it's important get there early...arrival time might make a diff in your view.) They offered chowder, wine, and cheese in the late afternoon, fresh cookies at 8 pm, and a very nice Continental breakfast that consisted of fresh scones (that were delicious), fruit, juice, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, and coffee/teas, etc. in addition to a complimentary morning paper. It was walking distance to many restaurants and a nice beach park. They have a lovely indoor pool and spa and a teeny exercise room with exercyle, treadmill, and eliptical machine overlooking the beach. The parking is all covered. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

What a great find. A wonderful hotel with a wonderful (if a little hot) room, with loads of extra touches. I’d booked an upgraded room with a fireplace, a big mistake as the pilot light had to remain on all the time so therefore it was really warm – that however, was the only issue with this place.

Check in and out was quick and easy, all staff were friendly and approachable, there was tea/coffee always available in the lobby. There were fresh baked cookies available too and I have to say they were the best peanut butter cookies ever! The room was a great size, clean and we comfortable. Also there was plenty of parking underneath the hotel.

Breakfast was limited (boiled eggs, tea/coffee, juice, cookies, yoghurts) but you were allowed to take it back to your room which of course you would want to do because you could sit on your own private balcony overlooking the beach and crashing waves.

I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Bit too hot in the fireplace rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.