We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from ALL rooms! Can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Elizabeth Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off:call 877-265-9400
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Newport
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great views from ALL rooms! Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here completely. Great hot breakfast, chowder served at 5pm and warm cookies ready at 8pm. Private balcony in our room had the doors open all night listening to the ocean sounds while the fireplace kept us toasty warm! Heated pool and hot tub were great for relaxing. Highly recommend if in Newport. 5 min drive to the Ripleys and wax museums.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Nice to see some of our neighbors from the North! Glad you were able to make it down our way!

Being able to lie in bed and hear the ocean is certainly a great bonus when you stay with us, When you couple that with an amazing sunset, and then throw in the fireplace as well, it is really hard to beat.

Hurry back,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    176
    39
    28
    14
See reviews for
132
283
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms all with a fire and balcony overlooking the beach. The sunset views are the best we viewed on the west coast. Chowder served at dinner time and freshly baked cookies for supper.
The location is ideal with restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us. You are correct, the sunsets are awesome from our balconies.

Nice to hear you took advantage of some of the fine dining we have within walking distance. Sometimes it is difficult to decide where to go because there are so many excellent choices!

Hope you are able to return soon,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we spent just one night at this hotel built I would have been happy to stay longer. very comfortable, clean, friendly staff. we wanted to steal the armchair next to the bed, it was so comfy! Easy walking down to the beach and to local restaurants and stores and the performing arts center.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Oh, it is too bad you were not able to stay longer! One night is never enough time to spend at the beach, is it? Hope you can come back soon for a longer stay. We are running some mid- week specials, so you might want to consider another outing to the Elizabeth Street Inn.

Hope to visit with you then.

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved my stay here.....from the complimentary warm breakfast, to the complimentary evening salmon chowder and right-from-the-oven cookies, to my dog being welcomed warmly.....can't recommend this place highly enough! So nice going to sleep with the sliding door open, listening to the ocean! They have elevators and there's an easy walk down to the beach just a short walk away so suitable for the old, arthritic dogs! Nye Beach is a nice place for a walk and the neighborhood is just a short walk away too...lots of neat things to do there.

I will definitely stay here on future visits!

Room Tip: I stayed in 134 which is on the end, so not only the balcony but also a window with a view of the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate your kind words. Nice to hear that you had a good outing with your dog as well. You stayed in one of our most popular rooms which has the extra window.

Hope you can make it back over soon!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Elizabeth Street Inn. The bed was comfortable and the room was plenty spacious. The view was lovely! The north end rooms have additional windows, which increased the view even further. We always appreciate pet friendly properties so our little dog feels welcome. She enjoyed the view as much as we did! Also the breakfast was my husband's favorite part...way beyond the usual continental breakfast! Definitely will return!

Room Tip: rooms on north end have extra windows for an ever more expansive view. also pet friendly rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
The North view rooms are our most requested room types, and that is due to that extra window. It is so nice to be able to sit in your room and still be able to look down the beach to the North. Even if the weather is bad, it makes for an excellent view.

Nice to hear your puppy enjoyed the stay as well. We have limited pet rooms located on the first floor so it is always good to make those reservations as far in advance as possible.

Come back and see us soon!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here two nights ago. We were passing through town while on our West Coast trip. We didn't have reservations anywhere in town, and remembered reading about the ESI on TA. We pulled into the parking garage below the hotel and were amazed by the beautiful ocean view.

We were able to get a really good deal as a walk-in with AAA. Our suite (#120) was pretty awesome; it was very clean, had a fireplace, a wet bar, mini-fridge, microwave, K-cup coffee maker, a balcony with breathtaking ocean views and, best of all, a ceiling fan above the bed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Everything was first class. I was really worried about the location of our room since it was directly across the hall from the elevator, vending and ice machines, as well as directly above the parking garage; but there was hardly any noticeable noise.

In the lobby, they were serving salmon chowder from 5-7pm and cookies beginning at 8pm - it was very welcoming. The staff was very friendly.

Breakfast was really exceptional. Bacon, eggs, waffles, biscuits & gravy, assorted cereals, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, assorted juices, milk & coffee were all on the buffet.

The only negative thing I could say is that the toilets seem to operate off of a vacuum-based system, similar to an airplane. It is pretty loud when flushed and this was really the only sound that transferred between rooms.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
I absolutely loved your review! Especially the comment about the parking garage having a great view. You are right, every room has a fantastic view and it does not matter what floor you are on because it is all great!

Hope you are able to make it back to our neck of the woods next time you are on the West Coast!

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a great hotel!. We stayed here for 2 nights in September. The room was beautiful and cozy. The view of the ocean was great. Complimentary Salmon Chowder and warm cookies in the evening and a hot breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, it rained the whole weekend, but, the view from the room was awesome. Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay...the better the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for such a wonderful review! Sometimes just sitting in front of the fireplace and watching the weather outside can be very soothing. We are so fortunate to have such breath taking views.

Hope to see you again in the very near future!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.