We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Elizabeth Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off:call 877-265-9400
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Newport
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was highly disappointed in the Elizabeth Street Inn. The first night I got there the room smelled like vomit and it was discovered that it was the trash can. Even after the trash can was removed and replaced, it still smelled terrible. Tired after the drive in, I had to re-pack all of my belongings and move to another room which was no where near as appealing in regards to view and accommodations. I hated to spend such money on a place that was so disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so sorry about the problem you encountered with the original room you were in! This is certainly not the "norm" at our Hotel, as one could tell from our many positive reviews. When you brought this to our attention we reacted immediately and did everything we could to make things right for you, including moving you to a different room which we let you inspect first and you said it was to your liking. In addition, of course, we compensated you for the inconvenience and helped you make the move.

Again, I apologize for the issues you encountered.

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    174
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
129
282
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our trip down the Oregon Coast to visit all the Lighthouses, we ended up in Newport, OR. We had no reservations anywhere, but we wanted to stay right on the beach. We stopped just on a larch at the Elizabeth Street Inn. They had just a few rooms left. We got a large room on the fourth floor, which was just what we wanted.
The room was very clean, however, I did not like the bathroom arrangement. The bathroom sink is right when you come into the room, no privacy. The tub/shower and the toilet where together, but no sink in there. That was the only negative.
We liked the fact also, that there was to be absolutely no smoking in the rooms and on the balconies. But some jerk, in one of the rooms near by, started smoking, which blew the smoke right into our room. I cannot believe the inconsideration of some people. I did mention it to the staff on check out the next morning. I was told that i should have reported it right then and there, so they could have found the culprit. I had thought about it, but do to the late hour, I did not. I'll know better next time.
A very nice feature was the free smoked salmon chowder at 5pm nightly, and the cookies after 8pm. A very nice touch. Also the continental breakfast was quite nice, with a variety of items to choose from.
The parking was free, covered and well secured.
The roar of the ocean made sleep come very easy.
Since we visit the Oregon Coast several times a year, we bookmarked the Elizabeth Street Inn for our next stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more privacy, better views, and some great exercise using the stairs, rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We pulled in midweek without a reservation and got a AARP rate although it was one of the last rooms. The rooms are all the same but you pay more for the top floor. Not very friendly initial person at the front desk but everything else was very good from that point on (she might have just been having a bad afternoon).

It is a little bizarre to me they would have the bathroom sinks on the wall just as you get into the room, i.e. the first thing you see but alas nothing is perfect. Gas fireplaces in every room, nice balconies, fast internet, robes, lovely bedding, good water pressure, nice towels, couch and decent lighting for reading. Chairs on the lanai, close enough to hear the ocean and we were able to keep the slider open all night a real bonus. There is a pool and a spa and fitness room.

The breakfast is quite nice, including hot entrees, although paper plates always brings it down a notch for me.

The only complaint we had is one elevator and it is bloody slow. We mostly took the stairs and joked with the front desk we kept putting in quarters but it wouldn't speed up. The staff, save for the first impression of the one, was terrific and very friendly.

It's a nice place to stay on the coast, but as usual you never know from one season to the next how a place will be maintained and the salt water is brutal on a property.

Nye beach is a nice area to stay in, it's pretty quiet and walking distance to many quaint restaurants and shops and the performing arts center. It was peaceful with only the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep -- no traffic noise or bars to be concerned with. I'd go back especially to watch the storms roll in.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms have a nominal surcharge, north end has the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tenn.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I guess may visitors did not have other good experiences on the coast trip to compare. This was not cheap $221 per night for a king room. The Elizabeth Street Inn was an old property that tried to do well but it is hard to maintain old at the beach. Good view of beach.. Decent breakfast.. went from main drag (Hwy 101) through a fairly old poor neighborhood to beach area. Nothing distinguishing about this stay and easily was the weakest of four properties stayed at during trip down coast from Astoria to Newport. So reading other comments I guess a tour bus hotel is the highlight. Not a bad property but also not worth the money. Would not stay again or recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view of beach behind the hotel. We probably had as nice a room as in house bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our group two night stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn was a highlight of our tour. Each room was spacious, comfortable and the view was spectacular. Each evening the staff has hot chowder in the lobby (during the fall/winter months) and hot cookies at 8! They arranged a bonfire with smores on nearby Nye Beach for the group where we roasted mashmellows, told stories and sang songs around a campfire, and all we had to do was show up! They blocked off a space in front on the inn for our motorcoach so we had easy parking and convenient loading and unloading. They are addressing the issue of only one elevator by installing a new one in the next few months. I would bring a group back to the Elizabeth Street Inn and plan on visiting with my family the next time I go to the Oregon Coast! Thanks Jennifer and all the wonderful staff who helped make our stay in Newport so wonderful! Valerie

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful with a balcony and ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. Our room was spacious with a lounge area, microwave, fridge, sink etc. The balcony overlooking the beach and ocean was lovely. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Smoked salmon chowder was served everyday in the afternoon and cookies were served every evening. My husband can't eat chocolate so we were pleasantly surprised to find that some of the cookies had raisins instead of chocolate! We used the guest laundry too and this was also excellent. Only one minor complaint - there is no cutlery or plates etc in the kitchen area. It was no major problem as we took some plastic cutlery from the breakfast area. Overall a very enjoyable stay -thank you!w

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is only one way to express our stay, pleasantly surprised. Clean, beautiful and very comfortable. And the view is that of only the beach and sea. The fireplace in the room is very nice. The sound of the ocean all night long is awesome. The pool is beautiful. Under ground parking. And, a breakfast as well. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth Street, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.