We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property is in need of repairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
2211 Portland Road, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Newberg
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This property is in need of repairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our daughter is a graduate of George Fox University, so we have stayed at this property many times during her schooling in Newberg. We have seen this Inn go down in quality since 2010. The room number we were given was 125. The toilet was not bolted down to the floor and the A/C fans were not operating at full capacity, so we were not comfortable. The breakfast was still the same quality as in past years. It looks like it may be time to upgrade the hotel. I will still stay at this hotel in Newberg because of it's location to GFU and the AAA rate. Our room did smell of a previous pet stay, but in the hotel's defense, I booked last minute.

Room Tip: I always suggest to stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We would like to apologize for the pet friendly room given to you at last minute booking. Though all our rooms are maintain at its par level. However, if we have missed out some thing would like to apologize. Will see you soon during your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
45
26
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was good. Easy to locate and not bad in price. We did not spend much time in the hotel or room. Only went to the room to sleep. Upon entering the hotel, there is a bad smell in the hallways. May be caused by the animals that are allowed. I still would stay and/or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the comment. Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you any because of any odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our daughter is a student at George Fox University in Newberg. . This is our hotel of choice whenever we come to visit her. We have stayed at the Shiloh down the street. Will always choose the Best Western as a first option...even if we have to pay a bit more. Not the place to come if you are looking for a view. But if you want a clean, quiet, comfortable room with that comes with a decent continental breakfast...and a convenient location, this is an excellent choice. Have never used the indoor pool but it looks great. The odd numbered rooms are away from the parking lot and can be quieter...but we have never found that to be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you David for staying with us. We highly appreciate your business. Looking forward to serve you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a hard to find but good place to stay.. The full parking lot suggested a lot of other folks found it too. Breakfast room was too small so tables had to be shared and overflow filled the lobby ... but the place was full of happy people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking out time and reviewing us. I apologize on behalf of Best Western Newberg Inn for not finding comfortable seating area during breakfast time. As its busy season for our property things are really tight and full. Thank you for making your way out. We really appreciate your business and looking forward to see you during next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacostia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place was very clean, the pool, jacuzzi and sauna were in excellent condition. The daily cleaning service was impecible. Breakfast was plentiful. However, the waffle iron was not very clean and tasted a little rancid. I informed the front desk and feel confident this was resolved. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about the waffle iron plate during check out. Our team got onto it right away. Once again let me thank you on behalf of our team for letting us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The place is dated but clean. The internet is slow to the point of not being worth the trouble. In our room the fridge door didn't work and the air-conditioning had such weird noises we turned it off. Soundproofing between the rooms and hallways is not good. The staff is wonderful. If you aren't spending time in the room, and just need a place to crash, it's more affordable than other options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay at best western newberg inn. We apologize on behalf our property for not exceeding to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel has a good central location for the wine region, which was the purpose of our trip. But, other than that, the hotel lacks quality and amenities.

The bed was a bit wobbly in the springs, like another in California. Food was awful. The so-called breakfast burrito was simply disgusting, and doesn't qualify as a food product. Hard boiled eggs were sitting in a puddle of water in a container. Napkin dispensers were extremely unsanitary in the way one needs to extract the napkin. The dispenser should have the napkins vertically, not flat. With the horizontal, flat dispenser, people's fingers have to grab on to the next few napkins just to pull out the top napkin.

Internet was a pain. Every time the device (iPad) was idle, it would time-out. Then I would have to go through some protocols to access the internet again. Also, it did not support the use of multiple devices, as we had several iPads and iPhones. (The girl at the front counter solved the problem by giving us an additional username, although it only worked once)

Although not a fair comparison, I recently stayed at a new Best Western in Montpellier, France, that was ultramodern, had extremely fast wifi, was upscale and had a nice European breakfast, at a comparative price, considering the € exchange rate. The US properties need to take some direction from those in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38135, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We apologize on behalf of Best Western Newberg Inn for not standing to your expectations. We recently got all our beds changed to pillow mattress in the guest rooms. However, will apologize that you were not comfortable in our new bed. Sorry you had problem with our high speed internet connect. We at hotel have one user per room but upon request as you got another user id we do have that facility. Sorry you did not like our idea of serving breakfast egg sausage burrito with salsa in mornng along with hot waffle option and many other varieties.

On behalf of our team I apologize for not making your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn

Address: 2211 Portland Road, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Newberg Inn is in heart of wine country. George Fox university is just a mile away. Water park in McMinville is 14 miles from Newberg Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newberg
Newberg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.