We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Ridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on the Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Chahalem Ridge is a place you will want to call home away from home, it is that nice. From the moment you pull into the driveway, you are greeted with sweeping views of the valley below. The B&B is beautifully decorated and not one detail is missed to provide a comfortable and inviting experience for guests. Breakfast was served each morning on the deck overlooking wine country below; if you awake early enough, you can catch the hot air balloons flying across the sky.

Kristin's culinary skills will please even the most finicky foodie. Have a special dietary request? Not a problem, she has that all taken care of. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the jetted tub was wonderful after a long day of wine-tasting, and our bed here was the most comfortable out of our 3-week trip. Curt's advice on where to go and what to see was perfect. We can't wait to return to this wonderful B&B. We had a wonderful time meeting new people and enjoying wine with new friends.

Room Tip: We selected the Oregon Trail room. It has the upgraded mattress and does not have the attached deck...
See more room tips
Green Features: This B&B has a number of green practices, which is another reason why we selected it over others. Read more about them on their website as there are far too many to tell about here.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    21
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
172
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As my dear friend would say Chehalem Ridge B & B is a " can't not" - you will not be disappointed!
Amazing-- views, cozy rooms, and breakfast! Save your appetite for Kristen's fabulous breakfast. She will start you off with her wonderful homemade breads, scones, or muffins then to top them she will serve her homemade preserves and jams, and wait till you see her breakfast entrees.
My 3 night stay was with 3 friends on our 12th annual "girl trip", now I want to take my husband!

Also, Kristen had a large cookie jar always filled with HOMEMADE cookies...no frozen baked cookie dough.....real from scratch yummy cookies!
For me, the only thing I missed at Chelahem was no coffee available except at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I spent 2 days in ‘Chahelam Ridge B&B’ with my father for a father & son week in Oregon. We picked the ‘Chahelam Ridge B&B’ due to its good critiques in trip advisor. To make it short - We were positively surprised – and confirm the high ratings.
Chahelem Ridge is located high above Newberg. It offers a most astonishing view over large parts of the Williamette Valley. Due to its secluded location you can experience a stay in the nature.
We had the ‘Oregon Coast’ Room on the ground floor – the room is tastefully decorated with the aforementioned view, separate terrace and open fire. Most surprising I found the bathroom - also tastefully decorated with many intelligent features. I not recall having ever seen in my life a guest room that nice and yet fully functional for wheel chair access.
The highlight of the house is the Innkeeper ‘Kristin’. From the moment that we entered her place we were welcomed like friends from school. Her charm and her great breakfast facilitates the interaction between the guests. Apart from that you can trust the tips and the honest critique of Kristin.
We wish Kristin and partner Curt good luck with their future ventures. Michael & Ulf

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our stay at Chehalem Ridge B&B made our recent "girls' trip" absolutely perfect! Every thing from the spectacular view to the beyond delicious food was amazing! The owners have thought of every possible detail to make any get away the best. The location is ideal for travling to the various wine cellars, as well as exploring the local towns. We drove to Sisters for the day, and the scenery was awesome. We hated to leave, but would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: Oregon Coast has an amazing view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad that this B&B observes environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a great little B&B. I've only stayed in a few, but this place was definitely very nice, like we were staying at a friend's home. The rooms were cute and themed and very clean. We had a very nice bathroom with a jetted tub (great since we'd just run the marathon the day before) and the bed and sheets were very comfortable. So much so that my husband insisted on buying the same sheets for our bed when we got home. The owners were actually not there, but Sherry a professional B&B sitter was there and she did a wonderful job. We enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. Great place to unwind after a day of tasting and eating.

Room Tip: We chose the only room facing the front of the house, the Oregon Trail Room. My husband was thinkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed here twice and the views will probably keep me coming back, but each visit has had issues. The first visit was marred by a rather officious attitude by the owner to our wanting to add an extra person--a childhood friend unexpectedly in the area and important to our visit. We were very willing to put up with slightly cramped room and pay an extra charge. The second visit involved water that was only luke warm, making the charming footed tub less than inviting.
Beds are too soft for my back comfort.
The breakfasts are elaborate, tasty, and beautifully served. Rooms are charming and well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mosier
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chehalem Ridge B & B recently. It was a warm, sunny day when we arrived, and the view of the valley below was outstanding! Because this inn is on a gravel road that doesn't experience much traffic, it was a very quiet place to stay. The only real sound was the wind whispering through the tall trees nearby. Kristen and her husband were good breakfast cooks and hosts, explaining the fascinating foods that came to the table. They even make their own syrup from St. Anne's Lace flower blossoms that grow nearby in the summer...this was served with a lovely blueberry baked French toast, along with bacon, and chai tea scones, and various melon slices. I liked it that they weren't overly chatty with us while serving our breakfast; they simply explained what we were being served, and then went into the kitchen, so that the guests could visit with one another at the table. The coffee was on at 6 a.m. for the early risers. Our room had a free-standing clawfoot bathtub in the bathroom, but there was also a shower. The queen bed had a memory foam mattress. The room wasn't expansive, but it had a nice little adjoining deck with a couple of chairs, which allowed us to sit in the morning drinking our coffee and marveling at the view. Both hosts were helpful in suggesting winery-touring routes, as well as good local restaurants for a memorable lunch. We would go back to this place if our travels took us that way again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wild Rose room (Rose Garden room?) and it was pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.