We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic All Around Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champoeg State Heritage Park

Champoeg State Heritage Park
Off US 99W, Newberg, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Newberg
Type: Historic Sites, State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Olympia, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic All Around Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had never been t this park before, and in fact had never heard of it. We took the chance because of the location and boy did we find a park that we will return to many times. This park is well maintained and the park Ranger staff and camp hosts are fantastic. The park has miles of walking paths and nature trails. We picked a lot of blackberries. The camp sites (we have a 24 foot travel trailer) are really nice. The bathrooms and showers are the best. This is one of the best of the best of Oregon State Parks. It is just 15 minutes from the Woodburn Outlet Mall and many other attractions. If you want a great camping experience in Oregon...this is must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick 90min trip to Champoeg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were travelling from Sunriver to Portland and decided to have a quick stop off in Champoeg. On arriving we were surprised that a charge of $5 dollars gets access to the visitor centre and park. The visitor centre and gift shop is small but welcoming and we were met by an engaging 'costume interpreter' aka a guide who gave us a little history about champoeg. He then introduced us to another guide called Nancye who talked to us for around 30mins. She was wonderful and answered many of our questions. Nancye's knowledge and enthusiasm was fantastic and she made our trip very worthwhile. The park itself is pretty and there are plenty of picnic tables and shaded areas. There is also bike trails and fishing access. All in all we were very happy that we stopped in Champoeg and if you visit the centre but sure to talk to the guides, they are great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Historical Oregon and water fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are three museums here about early Oregon history. The Newell House, Pioneer mothers house and the visitor center for the State park. They all charge a nominal fee (Thirteen dollars (adult) for all three or each separately). They show and explain the formation of Oregon government. Then there is the walk of the city plot for the town that was washed away by the 1860's flood. Interesting photos and artifacts. There is a monument in the spot the Canadian and American Trappers voted to form a government in Oregon. Nice pavilion and picnic areas. Campground, 6 yurts and cabins, tent spaces and RV spaces. A lot of trails, truly dog friendly and access small beach and dock to the Willamette river. Nice hiking, wonderful cycling and family fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Ranger-led programs and trails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This may not be the most exciting or breathtaking park you'll ever go to, but they have some of the most knowledgeable rangers and asst. rangers. We attended program after program, guided hikes, and if you have grade school kids, the Jr. Ranger program is great! We learned about edible plants, we had multiple fly bys of barn owls, and their 1860's pioneer garden is astounding!!
We had our bikes with us and were able to take advantage of the many bike trails, including the 2.5 mi. trip to Butteville Store (the oldest continually running store in Oregon (they just celebrated 150 years)) for ice cream and snacks. We also did some hikes on foot, but it was so hot when we were there, I much preferred cycling.
We stayed in a yurt, which we have done a few times. It's easy and let's you spend more time on activities and less on campground necessities. They have lots of open grass areas perfect for frisbee, soccer, etc. But, inthe dead heat of summer, the yurts (most of them with no shade) get extraordinarily hot inside.
The rangers and asst. rangers went above and beyond showing our daughter and us hidden berries and more when they saw us around the park. So many parks have such a need to conserve the area and the precious habitats (absolutely not being sarcastic) that a park more secure in its conservation (I would compare it to the difference between a highly endangered animal and a prolific animal) was like suddenly finding yourself in a museum where you are allowed to touch the art!! No, it will never compare to Yosemite or the Redwoods, but it's more accessible on many levels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our regular park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We live close by, so we visit all year long to walk our dog. In summer, it's lovely for RV (and some yurts) camping on the far east side of the park, frisbee golf in the middle, and dog/bike picnics on the west side. The dog park is a large field that dogs can run freely through, lined by wild roses and blackberries. The river has a nice shaded path for short hikes, and you can visit the site where the State of Oregon was founded. Next to the stone founder's monument is a pleasant shelter that many people like to use for weddings or other gatherings. There's also an archeological dig in summer that studies a failed town on the site near some demonstration farm fields that was washed away by the flooding Willamette River. The visitor's center has a museum and living history exhibits - all make this is a nice destination on its own, or a great stop if you are biking through the area. Winter time is much more quiet and subdued, which is fine by us. That's when we see more wildlife - deer, coyote, eagles and hawks, etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champoeg State Heritage Park also viewed

 

Been to Champoeg State Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champoeg State Heritage Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.