We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champoeg State Heritage Park

Champoeg State Heritage Park
Off US 99W, Newberg, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This park has several activities during the year, for students, so is a good home school resource. The museum tells the story of the settlers in the Willamette Valley, the steamboats and so much more. There is an archeological dig that school children are invited to come and participate

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great bicycling and camping destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This park has miles of great walking and cycling paths that wind through the tree's and forests. We pulled our trailer for a quiet weekend of relaxing and was not disappointed. We did not make reservations but there were plenty of open sites to choose from. It is not far off of the I-5 freeway but remote enough that you feel you are out in the middle of nowhere. Tends to draw a more quiet crowd in the winter months and well worth a stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“RV camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Camping was very average. Not a real interesting Park. Nice easy bike riding for kids. Advantage is being close to Portland, if you happen to live there. Easy on/off from I-5.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Champoeg State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great park for travelers and locals alike. Very close to the freeway but with a feel of being in the country, (beacause you are). Camping is unsurpassed, the history of the area is fascinating, the hiking trails are great.

In addition, my wife and I enjoy hauling our bikes to Champoeg and using it as our base for very enjoyable bike riding in easy, flat terrain.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“History in a park setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Champoeg is a huge historical site for Oregon. But its expanse of green, oaks trees on the Willamette, with hiking and camping were a nice surprise to me.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champoeg State Heritage Park also viewed

 

Been to Champoeg State Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champoeg State Heritage Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.