We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Today's Hippies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen

Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen
115 North Washington Street, Newberg, OR
+1 503-487-6853
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Today's Hippies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

This is an excellent restaurant in a funky old house. The food is really good--I had an oyster stew with real Oregon oysters. The patrons are fun to watch, representing 21st century hippydom.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    55
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman Island, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a neighborhood kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Recipe is a restaurant with an understated name. Nestled in Oregon's Willamette valley Recipe has great food with great care in preparation, unique combinations, knowledgable and pleasant staff and wonderful ambiance. The only flaw is the noise level in the main dining room and they have a smaller room that works well if that would bother you. Salad delicious with finely shaved beets and baby lettuce, , mushroom gnocchi...the best ever. Substantial range of main courses from fish to beef to fowl, cooked perfectly and a short dessert menu but save room for something chocolate and great coffee. Recipe could be a great choice in any city but stands out in Oregon wine country.. If we didn't live 3500 miles away they would see us a lot more often!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015 via mobile

This is our second time visiting the Newberg area, and we decided to give this place a try. The location was convenient, and the house it occupies is nice, but the overall experience was a little disappointing. Service was a bit slow, and our waiter seemed a little distant. Our starting courses were ok but seemingly a bit under seasoned. For main courses, my friend had the lamb, which seemed a bit undercooked and was not tender at all. I had the pork, which was a bit tastier but still somewhat under seasoned. One diner at the table next to ours actually sent her entree back to the kitchen. We shared the semifreddo dessert, which was probably the best dish of the night. This was not the best experience for us.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food in an Old House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Went here with a group of 6 and we all loved it. I had the wagu beef steak and it was very good. The mashed potatoes were awesome! We will definitely eat here again when we visit Newberg.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“More than a "Neighborhood Kitchen"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This is a comfortable place in a retrofitted house with a very nice atmosphere. The food was really excellent. All the ingredients are local and the chef creates some impressive blendings of flavor. Servings are adequate but not large. I had the gnocchi with oyster mushrooms -- subtle flavors, delicious. My colleague had the duck breast and enjoyed it very much. For dessert the cheese plate with accompaniments was a fitting end to a very fine meal. Good wine choices, good service.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.