We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn
Save
You added Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn to your Saves list
20300 NE Hwy 240, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just a Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from three days at Le Puy and the Willamette Valley. A beautiful and transformative all too few days. Andy and Lea are the perfect "innkeepers" and hosts. Le Puy is a beautiful new property, so very well maintained. We stayed in "Air" and it could not have been more comfy. Wonderful bed, great views of the Dundee Hills, and great amenities. The breakfasts were delicious (and healthy). Lea and Andy guided us to wonderful wineries, and when we said we wanted to travel to the beaches, they guided us to wonderful beach (Road End) in Lincoln, and then to wondrous Haystack Rock in Pacific City. Most importantly. we felt that Le Puy was home. Thanks to Andy and Lea. We will return.

Green Features: Struck us that they were very environmentally aware.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I happened upon Le Puy when searching for a quick weekend jaunt to wine country. Based on the reviews, location and availability we (luckily) were able to secure a room at Le Puy the morning of our arrival.

Arrival
While the arrival time is stated as 4:00-6:00pm, the owners were more than accommodating of our after 8:00pm arrival. Both Andy and Lea greeted us out front and showed us around the property and our room.

The Little Things
Le Puy is the best kind of bed and breakfast--an establishment that feels personal, but not like you're staying in Aunt Rose's guest bedroom. For instance, chocolate truffles and hazelnuts are waiting for guests both evenings, not just one. There is a carafe of cold water stocked in the small room fridge and two metal water bottles, which are the perfect accompaniment for a day of wine tasting. There is a large library of dvd's in one of the common rooms, along with free soda, microwave popcorn and wine for purchase.

Breakfast
This can be the diciest part of staying at a B & B. One never knows if they'll have to wake up for a 7:30am one seating meal (this happened to me in Utah) or if you'll be stuck sitting next to a chatty tourist from Iowa (no offense, Iowa). Le Puy treats breakfast with the respect it deserves and the respect each guest deserves. Two-top and four-top tables fill a breakfast room with windows on three sides. Either Andy or Lea quickly approach the table with juice options and food in short order.

The food itself is magnificent. We experienced the smoked salmon egg crepe with mango salsa and the Pain Perdu the two mornings we were there--both were outstanding. They've mastered these dishes, making them comparable to any fine brunch establishment. They also thoughtfully met my girlfriend's vegetarian needs, substituting any meat with a comparable veggie substitute.

For early risers, coffee and a little nosh, scones or granola, welcome guests who get peckish prior to the 9:00-11:00 breakfast seating.

The Room
We stayed in the Air room and it did indeed feel, airy. It was the perfect combination of de-identified, yet personal with nice wood pieces combined with more modern fittings. The bed and linens, both sheets and towels, were heavenly. If only every inn and hotel appreciated the importance of high thread count. The view from the bed was magnificent, yet each window was fitted with black out shades that kept early morning light from creeping in.

While the bathroom lacked a tub, the oversized walk in shower was more than accommodating with its double head and good water pressure. The only downside to the room was the sliding bathroom door, which is both loud (especially in the middle of the night) and lacks some sense of privacy.

Setting
The outside of the inn is just as nice as the inside. Thoughtfully landscaped, there are a couple of nice sitting areas that really are meant for lounging, not just for show. The long winding drive and the hill upon which the house sits makes it perfectly situated with amazing views and close proximity to Newberg, Dundee and many great wineries. We even managed to get in a terrific hike to a winery at Lea's suggestion.

We would come back and steer others here, as well. While pricier than we would normally spend, it does seem in line with the nicer inns in this area. I can see why it plays in the big leagues with the likes of the Allison Inn and hope that folks will give their money to a nice local couple over corporate owned properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just spent two evenings in the "Heaven" room at Le Puy while enjoying a wine tasting weekend in Willamette Valley and our stay was absolutely wonderful. The property is beautiful inside and out with gorgeous views from both our bottom floor room and the second/main floor where breakfast is served. It is very apparent that a tremendous amount of detail was paid to providing personal touches and amenities, including chocolates and hazelnuts in the room, to robes, slippers and bath salts, to free movies, popcorn, trail mix and beverages in the Loire room, where guests are welcome to lounge. It is a very quiet and relaxing oasis. The breakfast served the first morning was a Pain Perdu made with fresh raspberries, banana chips and hazelnuts and the second morning we were served a ham, swiss, tarragon and strata with a beautiful cup of fresh berries, greek yogurt, lemon curd and honey. Lea and Andy could not be nicer people and are very helpful and resourceful should you need dinner or winery recommendations. We're already looking forward to coming back again this summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My dear Husband took me to Le Puy for two nights to celebrate my birthday. We were thrilled with the accommodations of the proprietors, the lush scenery, the cleanliness of the entire place and the serenity of our experience. Although there were other visitors present, it was supremely quiet and that made such a unique and wonderful difference. We felt completely relaxed. We stayed in the Heaven room and it did indeed feel....heavenly! It was incredibly spacious, with an outdoor patio area and even though the highway was not far from there, we heard nothing. We were soothed, we were relaxed. The Heaven room has a huge bathtub which comfortably fit two ample-sized adults. The amenities were rather special. Chocolates, filberts, nice bath salts, robes, slippers, plenty of towels and an amazing amount of space made for one of the best weekend getaways to date! The proprietors are former architects and their creativity truly shines. They are also great cooks and we adored the breakfasts, particularly the baked grapefruit and ricotta pancakes. Thanks for providing us a heavenly weekend!

Room Tip: The room Heaven is heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from staying two nights at LePuy. Lea and Andy could not have neen nicer or more accommodating. They were helpful answering questions, giving suggestions and making reservations for wine tastings. Their wonderful breakfasts, great conversations and clean, lovely Inn made for a memorable getaway. We'll be back...as I recommend the readers do.

Room Tip: We were in the "Water" room on the ground floor. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Az.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I decided to extend a business trip to the area and have my wife accompany me in order to learn more about Oregon wine. We booked a 3 day stay at Le Puy. We could not be happier with our decision. The facility was immaculate and comfortable, the hosts were accommodating and gracious, the breakfasts were wonderful. Because we did not know much about Oregon wine we asked Lee to for some recommendations and to set us up with some tasting appointments. The appointments she set up for us were world class and her recommendations were spot on. We also enjoyed the restaurant reservations she made for us at Painted Lady and Recipe. She and Andy went our of their way to be helpful. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in "Air" which was beyond comfortable and provided wonderful views and because the weather was cold and foggy we did not miss having a patio. On our way back home we started discussing a return trip when the weather is better and enjoy one of the rooms that has outdoor seating. Do your self a favor and spend some time at Le Puy,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first surprise was that our daughter gifted with a weekend trip to the Willamette Valley without telling us where we were even going - just a list of directions.

The second surprise was Le Puy - a treasure of a find. There was not one thing to criticize: The facilities were warm and wonderful with great attention paid to all the details. Our hosts, Lea and Andy, were welcoming, gracious and extremely helpful in helping us select places for dinner and wineries to visit. And they proved to be excellent chefs themselves; the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The only negative was that we had to leave.

Thank you, Lea and Andy. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn

Address: 20300 NE Hwy 240, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 8-room, 4-season, destination inn for the Yamhill Wine Valley. Our goal is to provide a superior hospitality experience. Our mission is to be an authentic "eco-inn." Guests are invited to come to the inn to re-balance themselves with the tranquil setting, good food, spa amenities and fresh atmosphere. Escape...Come Alive...Breathe Free ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.