We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb facility and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn
Save
You added Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn to your Saves list
20300 NE Hwy 240, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A superb facility and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While visiting the wine country, we stayed for a couple of days. The facility was redesigned by the owners who are architects. We loved everything they did. Our room could not be better. The breakfasts were terrific. Andy and Lea are great hosts and very helpful with their local knowledge.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a fantastic, beautiful and serene setting owned and hosted by two incredibly capable and welcoming people. Fresh coffee and blueberry scones were available as early as 7:00 a.m. followed by an amazing freshly made breakfast at 9:00. Due to an early airport departure they accommodated us on our last day with an earlier breakfast. We appreciated their knowledge and connections with interesting wine makers, therefore had some of the greatest wine surprises we have had anywhere in the northwest and California--Prive' comes to mind. T.V.'s in the bedroom only were connected for DVD movies but there is a very large screen in an adjoining space that guests have access to. This is a comfortable area where fresh trail mixes (with Oregon hazelnuts) are available, wine glasses and utensils for your own wine tastings and t.v. watching. You can buy your cheeses and great food to go at the Red Hills Market in Dundee. All of Lea's dinner recommendations were right on. P.S. if you must have noise in your room before you go to sleep there are MANY DVD movie selections available. Thanks Lea and Andy for a wonderful time! Pat and Al N.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

No doubt this is the place to stay. The Heaven room was amazing with an incredible bed, great shower and tub and relaxing sitting area both inside and on private patio. Breakfast- amazing. The attention to detail is perfect and it is a quiet relaxing inn that exudes serenity and class. Staff is excellent, helpful, knowledgeable of the area and wineries. Book early as it fills up fast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just spent five days in the Willamette learning about the wines and the vineyards. We stayed at Le Puy for the duration and had a magnificent experience. The inn seems newly renovated and impeccably maintained. The breakfasts were well prepared and all quite different from one another (a good thing!!!). Lea and Andy (the owners) bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and are a great source for advice on restaurants, vineyard visits, hiking trails, etc. My wife is lactose intolerant. Each and every breakfast was tailored to her dietary restrictions and she was never made to feel uncomfortable about her special circumstances. We will visit the valley again (possibly next year) and would not consider staying anywhere else. Well done!

Todd and Janice E.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just spent 3 days of bliss in the Willamette Valley and a large part of that was the gracious hospitality and beautiful accommodations at the Le Puy. We stayed in Air, and yes, per another reviewer's remarks, there is a shared thermostat which we found easily managed by being the last ones in every evening. The setting is gorgeous and the pain perdu is killer as were the blueberry scones. Lea's recommendation to visit Colene Clemens was spot on and we found the room amenities both thoughtful and delightful. Both Andy and Lea took a genuine interest in their guests, ensuring that they maximized their time in the valley.
I fell compelled to just add a little balance to those earlier comments on Air, the "road noise" was undetectable inside, and when we were outside it was certainly quieter than our home urban environment. The bathroom did not have double sinks but was still larger than the one in our first apartment. And between our iPhones and iPad a tv was certainly not needed or missed. But we did find that even at both being 39 we skewed young in general for the valley, so maybe it's a generational thing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Puy with our friends here for 2 nights. We were visiting our home Oregon from Abu Dhabi. This place is owned and operated by a very nice couple how provide a great service. Breakfast on both mornings were amazing with all fresh produce picked up that morning from the garden. We stayed in the room "Haven" and it had a bathtub in the room. View was amazing from the window. Our friends stayed at the room with the Jacuzzi outside. We sure plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Haven' and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We chose the room "Heaven" for our stay and couldn't have been happier. We had communicated with Leah prior to arrival about restaurants her advice (along with trip advisor) allowed us to secure reservations at some wonderful local restaurants.

Check in was a breeze, Andy showed us the house and amenities and we were thrilled with the quality of the home, it was so inviting. There is a room with a TV and small kitchen with sodas, popcorn, trail mix available 24/7. Other than grabbing a few handfuls of trail mix and some cans of soda we didn't utilize the room. But it sure looked great and comfortable.

Our room couldn't have been nicer. Oh my...a huge soaking tub, wonderful bed and seating area, spacious bathroom and a heated towel bar! The best part was the seating area outside with two adirondack chairs. Our room was stocked with a large container of ice cold water in the fridge, nuts and chocolates. There were picnic utensils, wine opener and water flasks for our use as well. We sat out each afternoon with a glass of wine and enjoyed the scenic views of the Chehalem mountain range. it was beautiful.

I woke early to walk each day and Andy had homemade meusli one morning and biscotti the next along with coffee and fruit. This was a pre-breakfast! Then the main breakfast was served between 9 and 11. Pain perdue one morning and a delicious egg/riccota dish the next. They were kind and gracious and answered questions about where to go, what to do etc.

Leah loaned us a cooler and gave us some fresh picked strawberries to take with us when we went wine tasting. We stopped and picked up some delicious sandwiches. It was a hot weekend so the cooler was very handy.

It was a perfect place to spend our anniversary and we hope to return so we can visit more wineries!

Room Tip: I thoroughly enjoyed the ground floor room as it provided a wonderful outdoor space for relaxing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn

Address: 20300 NE Hwy 240, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 8-room, 4-season, destination inn for the Yamhill Wine Valley. Our goal is to provide a superior hospitality experience. Our mission is to be an authentic "eco-inn." We host meetings, retreats and seminars as well as intimate weddings, anniversaries and reunions. Guests are invited to come to the inn to re-balance themselves with the tranquil setting, good food, spa amenities and fresh atmosphere. Escape...Come Alive...Breathe Free ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.