We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allison Inn & Spa
Save
You added Allison Inn & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We could not fault the service or the facilities. They made us feel very special during our anniversary visit. The JORY Restaurant food was top rate, beautifully and interestingly prepared and served. We ate that the bar in the JORY (not the separate bar), where we watched the food being prepared and chatted with the friendly cooking staff the first night, and then in the restaurant proper the second. We were there on one of their packages that included an allowance for the spa and the restaurant and the room that came with the package was spacious and very comfortable. When people in the area asked where we were staying they all complemented us on our choice. It's not cheap, but you definitely feel you get your money's worth

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    48
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
355
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The setting is beautiful. The bell caps and valets are wonderful. The rest of the staff are quite underclassed for what you'd expect at the prices. For an experienced spa goer I would say that the manicure and pedicure I received so bad that I receive better at the Chinese spot near my house. I was stunned- stunned- that they did such a poor job- stunned that they employed a staff that is so sub-par. The food was extraordinarily overpriced and unhealthy. Salt and far menu. No salads or healthy eating here. The room was lovely- the bathroom beautiful- the front desk young, snobby without reason or appeal. I would not call this a luxury spa experience. Most disappointed with the spa overall.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Savvytraveler33936,

I can not express how saddened I am to read your review. We rarely hear words like "underclassed" and "snobby" when describing our staff. We take pride in providing genuine, thoughtful and caring service to our guests and your recount surely falls short. While I can only dream that each guest that visits will experience the perfect stay, it still hurts when someone doesn't.

I know my apology will in no way improve your stay, but on behalf of our entire team I genuinely apologize that you didn't share the same experience so many of our trip advisor guests do. I did look at your other reviews in hopes of seeing examples of places you enjoyed but came up short, if you would ever consider a return stay please reach out to me so we can discuss details and make the next stay a better one.

Sincerely,
Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first stay at the Allison and we will definitely be back! Location wise it is the perfect launching pad to Oregon's best wineries/vineyards. We are local so we didn't ask/need advice from the hotel staff is but I suspect they would have fabulous recommendations (their restaurant wine list is outstanding).

We stayed in a penthouse level room - the view is definitely worth it! There is a comfortable window seat, the fireplace throws off a lot of heat, and the room has a lot of space. We really liked the refillable glass water bottles.

The staff are all welcoming, attentive, and very good at customer service. We had snacks in the bar area one night prior to leaving for dinner - the casual and comfy atmosphere is fabulous. We ate breakfast both days at Jory - we would recommend the crab benedict and biscuits. We had dinner at Jory one night as well - again top notch.

The Wifi was adequate for streaming but not blazing fast. Also the TV inputs were accessible so we could hook up our laptops for streaming which was definitely nice.

Two tips:
if open table says Jory is booked, just call them directly.
if you have a Visa Signature card, check out the visa signature website for deals.

The only negative is that there is no coffee maker in the rooms - we had to rock/paper/scissors each morning for who had to go downstairs and bring the complimentary coffee back up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were part of a group of 15 who used the Allison as home base for a long weekend of wine in the Willamette Valley.

The Allison did such a wonderful job. The rooms here are very large, along with the bathrooms. Soaker tubs in most with large openings to the room, make for a relaxing soak after a long day in the vineyards. The fireplaces in the rooms are a nice touch, especially to ward off the slight chill on rainy days. Views from all rooms are amazing, whether you;re looking over the expertly manicured grounds or out the surrounding hillsides and vineyards.

The Spa at the Allison was nice as well. The spa treatment rooms do have a slight "clinical" bent to them, but the treatments were wonderful. The indoor pool is also great for a swim, no matter what the weather outside.

The restaurant and bar area here are top notch. Prices are a bit on the high side, but the food quality and wine selection is what's to be expected for this area.

One note is that the Allison is a popular conference spot, even with it's small size. As with any hotel that hosts conferences, sometimes it can get a bit crowded and noisy later in the evening near the restaurant.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room at the Allison. Upper floors have a better view, but lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A weekend at the Allison Inn could not be more enjoyable or relaxing. We enjoyed Valentines Day with a special meal at Jory that was incredible. Our afternoon at the Spa the next day could not have been better. The staff here is first class - polite, helpful, remember your name, and working hard to make your stay truly memorable. We we sad to say goodbye this morning - this was our second visit and we will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Doug Zander,

Thank you for the review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay, Your comments about the staff are very much appreciated and exactly the words we use to keep us going and eagerly anticipating our next guests! We look forward to your next romantic getaway and please let us know if we can do anything to help plan your next stay!

Thank You,
Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Everything about the hotel is special - the rooms, the staff, the spa, the pool, the exercise facility, and especially Jory, the restaurant. We celebrated Valentines Day with a fantastic dinner prepared just for us (because of our food intolerances). I started with oysters, followed by a winter citrus salad, then pan-seared scollops. My wife started with a green salad followed by cooked winter vegetables and steelhead with saffron rice and grilled broccolini. The best Valentine's Day ever.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear John H,

I am happy to hear of your experience and that you enjoyed so much of what we offer. Our JORY team is very welcoming of special requests and as we make everything fresh it is very easy for us to adapt (having a 1.5 acre garden doesn't hurt either). We look forward to a return stay!

Thank You,

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed a perfect weekend in early February at the Allison Inn and Spa. From the beginning of our visit, being greeted by the valet and welcomed by name by the staff at the hotel, we felt special and pampered. Our room had many thoughtful amenities. My favorite was the sliding glass panel that separated the soaking tub from the bedroom. As I soaked, I could look out and window to the garden….or watch the television and the fire in the gas fireplace. We had chilled, filtered water, many snacks, and wonderful smelling bath amenities. The quiet, restful room was very well sound-proofed. Besides the tub, my other favorite spot was in the window seat, propped agains cushy pillows with the throw over my knees. We will definitely make this a yearly splurge.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, looking out at the front garden. We could also see the hillside with the...
See more room tips
Green Features: The inn is very environmentally conscious. Glass bottles for filtered water in the room are re-filled, linens are only changed by request. Linens are almost exclusively used instead of paper products in the restaurant. There is a chef's garden and a seasonal menu in the restaurant.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marvon,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the efforts we have made to make sure you are fully relaxed in your room and on our grounds. Thank you for recognizing our environmentally friendly choices, most of our efforts are behind the scenes but the little things that help improve the world we live in are equally important!

Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Address: 2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Allison Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.