We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury retreat in heart of Oregon's wine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Allison Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Allison Inn & Spa
2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“luxury retreat in heart of Oregon's wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

we spent 2 wonderful days at the Allison that exceeded all of our expectations.
A short drive from Portland, we went down early Sunday to use the spa and get a massage- service was great, spa setting is very nice.
Checked in, room was large, well appointed and the attention to design is everywhere.
Had the surprise of hitting their Sunday supper, a fixed price dinner with wine pairings- the wine steward is enthusiastic, knowledgeable and made our evening special.

Recommend this to anyone who is looking for a high end base to visit the nearby wine country or just a retreat like we took.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! It's often a disconnect for local Portlandians to understand that something, which can seem worlds away (a recent review suggested we are not unlike Europe), is something actually right out their backdoor. Just a short 35 minute drive from downtown, it's easy to come for a wonderful dinner, or blissful spa day, and return home before the Primetime favorite. Even better, visit us for an overnight escape for a joy filled regenerative retreat. We hope your stay was extraordinary, and thank you much for your review. The time you took to share means a lot, and will reach many people into the future... we are indebted to you for it. We hope to host you again, soon, and until then wish you well - and keep relaxing! =) Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    42
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
324
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and two grown sons spent two nights there. It could not have been a more pleasant experience. The staff (particularly two named Allison ;-) were extraordinarily accommodating and polite, and gave us great help selecting and scheduling vineyard to visit. The hotel itself is just terrific. The public spaces are attractive and comfortable, without being stuffy. Our rooms were spacious, and the beds perfect. The Allison is as complete and excellent a resort as we have enjoyed, and we have enjoyed many.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
It's always wonderful to have well traveled people visit, and more and more, thanks to reviews such as yours, we find ourselves graced with some of the most well traveled people in the world. It's important to us to hear how we rank along side the best in the world, and words like yours do a tremendous job reminding people that our hotel isn't just about being the best in Oregon - it's about being one of the best in the world. Part of that is being a luxury resort, but the other vital aspect is a staff that has the air of sophistication without being pretentious - a group that is truly overjoyed to be working, understanding that their roles are much more than a simple "job". We like to call it "Oregon Hospitality", but no matter what you name it, we find ourselves being mentioned alongside some of the best in relaxing destination experiences, and your review only confirms that. A building can help define an experience, but it's the staff that makes it come alive, and rounds it out. I will be sure to share with the management, and our "Allisons" your encouraging remarks. Thank you for your review, and hope this finds you well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

P.S. - I promise the hiring of "The Allisons" is a serendiptious coincidence. We would never force people to adopt the name. =^D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you're looking for an amazing place to visit / relax, then please take my advice and try the Allison Inn. We live in Portland and were invited to join in a weekend celebration of a friend's birthday. So glad we did! We had no idea such an amazing facility was so close to home! On every level, we were more than impressed! The service was superb from everyone we encountered. The rooms are unbelievably impressive -- from the perfect combination of decor / woods / textures, etc. -- to the layout / functionality of the floor plan. The meals were delectable and the wines were chosen to compliment quite nicely! It's the perfect combination of a locally-owned business (attention to detail, pride, etc.) and high-end chain hotels (exquisite attention to detail, very well-trained staff, etc.). The Allison Inn nailed it and we will definitely be recommending this to friends and family and returning soon ourselves!

Room Tip: If you have pets, they offer pet-friendly rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Your enthusiastic review was so sweet, and a joy to read. We love to know our local urban family is still exploring our bucolic countryside, and discovering what it is to be transported to a different place, so near your home! In deference to the brilliant Portlandia skit, we are quite proud of our local roots, with the Austins of A-Dec, who are singularly responsible for the vision and execution of what The Allison came to be, to our staff of hotelier, and professionals, who truly understand the nobility in the profession of hospitality. We take it very serious, and to be aligned with some of the other high end resort brand names means a lot, and with the help of a review like yours, it won't be long before we are what people compare other properties to. It's a joy to see how we impact all our guests, but your review was so lovely to read... I could feel the awakening and awareness of your experience, and it means a lot to all of us. I will be sharing your words with the staff, and can't tell you how much it means.... a review like yours truly makes my (and many more of the team) day. Cheers, and be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Spent a weekend after a conference in Portland.....the Inn is fantastic, fabulous and a place I will return to. From the welcome upon arrival to our incredible Spa experience - this Inn has it covered. Allison at the Front Desk was amazing!
Jory Restaurant is over the top - the food was amazing and service was phenomenal! Everyone we met was extremely friendly and truly understands "service". Well done!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We adore a review like yours, because although it is nothing but a scintillating and glowing report of a job well done - it reminds us to keep on our toes, because at this level we don't compete with anyone other than ourselves, and we will actively fight to maintain the level of perfection you experienced. Reviews are a wonderful addition to the world of hospitality, because we can learn, grow, and learn from the experiences of our guests. But, when it comes to a glowing recommendation such as yours, we do let our guard down for a brief moment to truly enjoy how we impact and affect our guests. It is of great import that people walk away with that feeling of surprise and awe - it is our raison d'etre! So thank you for your words, and we promise to keep being "incredible" until you return. Thank you again, and we hope this finds you happy and well. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Lovely location. Stellar service. Artful ambiance. Gracious guestrooms.

But staying at The Allison did present a dilemma. Usually we spend virtually no time at our hotel when we're in the wine country. But The Allison was so special that we found we were reluctant to leave in the morning, eager to return in the afternoon and not inclined to leave in the evening for dinner.

As the song goes, "...I don't want to miss a thing..."

BOTTOM LINE
Our stay was "aaaahhhh...some" for return in experience on our upper-end lodging dollars invested. At the price point, it's a special occasion stay for us but it's so delightful that we've already scheduled return visits.

LOVELY LOCATION
Convenient to wineries throughout the Willamette Valley and in particular to Newberg and Dundee. Set on 35 acres that include groomed gardens and paths, there are views from guestrooms and common spaces.

STELLAR SERVICE
Pitch perfect service from arrival through every single encounter along the way to departure. The secret to a top notch guest service experience is when each employee involved works as if they own the business realizing each contact is a "moment of truth" for building guest satisfaction. That is the case at The Allison. This is an art and equal part the right employees receiving the right training amid the right corporate culture. We'd suggest service here is better than The Four Seasons and others in the class because it is "all are welcome..." model that makes this approachable. Well done and well managed.

ARTFUL AMBIANCE
No detail was missed to create understated, casual elegance that blends contemporary aesthetic with warmth. It does not shout "Look at ME". It beckons "I've been waiting for YOU." Copper accents stone on the building, neutrals in decor bring the outside in, original work by Oregon artists grace the common areas and each of the 85 guest rooms.

GRACIOUS GUESTROOMS
Attention to detail says "welcome" at every turn. The sparkling clean rooms boast top quality linens and pillows on beds, fireplaces with timer switches, filtered water at the bar sink tap and wonderful towels in the bathroom.

There are also thoughtful treats like a basket on the bar counter that says"please enjoy" with snack foods made by Oregon companies, wine glasses and a corkscrew, and robes for guest use that you're invited to wear to and from the pool or spa.

The sound proofing for privacy is so excellent that when you're in your room, it is as if there is not another guest at the inn. If you do want to step outside without having to leave your room, each has a deck or patio with seating for two.

Technology is at the right level for convenience but not so much that it defeats the "human touch". HD TVs over the fireplace are behind cabinet doors, high quality Bose clock radio with ipad docking station at bedside and free wifi that needs no password for log on.

There are four floors of rooms and two view orientatioons. May be helpful to know in making reservations that entry is on the third level, called the main level. The fourth floor is penthouse level. Terrace level is ground level and the second floor is called the spa level. One side faces a vineyard view and the other has views that are more pastoral. We stayed penthouse - vineyard view this time but saw other room and there was something to like about all floors and both outlooks.

THINGS I'D CHANGE - BATHROOM LAYOUT:
Other reviewers give kudos to the huge soaking tubs. And my comments here are just a matter of "different strokes...". As a person who hasn't been in a tub since the time of the OJ Simpson trial (and then only because I had a broken ankle that put showers off limits), I'd have been happier with a larger shower that included a bench. Also, I found the shower a bit awkward. I am 5'4" tall and while the shower head was terrific, it was high and tough for me to reach up to for spray adjustment. Plus, the glass shelf that held the body wash and shampoo was mounted on the back wall just high enough outside a comfortable reach range to make it tricky for me. And the toilet room seemed pretty compact and I'm a relatively small person, so for a larger person it might seem even tinier.

THIS N THAT:

1) Accessibility: Common areas in and out are nicely accessible. (I notice this because I have MS.) Although we did not see the accessible guest rooms, we understand one is offered in every class of service provided at the inn. Good for The Allison for getting that right!

2) Coffee / Newspapers: No in room coffee makers, at present at least. But complimentary coffee and tea is offered in the lobby from 6a to 10a daily. Also, newspapers are available at the desk.

3)Dining: Jory restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lighter fare at dinner is available in the bar or living room from a menu that ranges from hummus and veggies to burgers, all from the Jory kitchen.

4) Lexus: Lexus provides about 5 new vehicles that can be borrowed by Allison guests for certain use. See the concierge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Ahhh the dilemma! It is the singular drawback of our hotel's location, service, ambiance, rooms (and staff), and near perfection (we always listen and learn from online reviews, because being perfect is something that is a 24 hour a day mission... and you can't let up for a moment!).....

So, we apologize! We didn't mean to make you so happy and comfortable that you didn't get to explore wine country as much as you might have, typically! In many ways, we knew we would have to have a restaurant serving all the ingredients of wine country (as local as the garden out our door, on property), and a wine list that brought the entire Willamette Valley countryside right to your room. We do hope we did our job, but reading the rest of your review, it seems we didn't miss a beat.

In that, your breakdown of your experience was sublime.... from your awareness to the value of a resort like ours compared to any in the world, versus your wonderful comment, "it doesn't shout 'look at me', it beckons 'I've been waiting for you'". How profoundly correct... I think you said it in a way simpler than any of the architects or designers could have said. I was part of the opening team in that arena, and it's precisely what we were going for. For many reasons beyond that comment, I cannot wait to share this review with our General Manager and staff. It's too kind, a stellar review, and one that will have a great impact for some time to come. It means a lot to be engaged with our guests... learning and growing.... but to read a review such as yours simply makes it all worthwhile.

Don't hesitate to let us know when you return, through any of the social networks or by emailing or calling us directly... I know you have a reservation, but if you need any help in planning or learning more about options in the area, do not hesitate to utilize us. Sometimes it can be utterly exhausting reading review after review, searching for the perfect spots to eat, play, drink, etc.... so make sure to use us as a resource whenever you can. It will be our pleasure.

Thank you much for your insightful words, and taking the time to share the review. It means a lot! See you soon, and we hope this finds you well. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Beautiful artwork, large, luxurious rooms, Four star food, the best spa massage I've ever experienced, perfect staff, lovely setting, in a soon-to-be LEED certified building (top level of sustainable construction). Our room was high $200s. Don't need to say more.

Room Tip: Stay on the non-suite floor. The regular rooms are much roomier, since they aren't divided into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
I will make sure to pass along the kind words to our spa... they adore hearing of a job well done, especially when it seems they got it just perfect! What's more, thank you for mentioning our building's sustainable design. We did it, not because it's some marketable opportunity, but that it's just the right way to ingratiate yourself to the community, to the countryside, and for our future. There is nothing wrong with saving resources, reducing impact, and creating an opportunity for permaculture and ethical development. We hope to improve on it as new technologies become available. It is worth noting that we are no longer waiting accreditation, and we have officially been labeled LEED Gold by the US Green Building Council. It's a rare honor to be able to provide such an environmentally thoughtful design that doesn't lessen or impact the guest experience. We are very proud of the designation, and thank you very much for mentioning it.

We appreciate the time you took sharing your review, and hope this finds you well. Until we can have you as our guest again, we say CHEERS, and be happy and stress free. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband had to go on a business trip to Newberg and I accompanied him. We were put up at the Allison by the company he was seeing. It is a 3 year old inn and spa. It is lovely! It is luxurious but in a more subtle way. It was not over the top in any way. It is done to be ecologically friendly. The decor is very warm and inviting. Each room has a very large bathroom as well as a day bed with a throw, a working fireplace and a balcony. It is set on a number of acres and all I saw from my balcony were vineyards and fields of wildflowers. The staff is top notch. They are there for you at all times. I had two minor problems and they were dealt with quickly and efficiently and extremely politely. We had dinner and I had lunch in the bar. The food was excellent. We were going to pay for a half day so I could still have the room while my husband was at his meeting. Upon checkout, he was told that since they weren't that busy that day we wouldn't be charged anything extra. We thought that was very nice. The Allison is expensive but if you want to treat yourself to a weekend away I can't think of a nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We pride ourselves on offering a perfectly tailored experience, without being over the top. With a helpful staff, and attention to detail, we hope that we are a place where everyone can define their own perfect experience. We are glad to see that we were able to resolve any of your concerns, during your stay, as well. We are as near perfect as a hotel can get, but the true test is how those brief issues or misunderstandings are resolved. I am glad that we were able to satisfactorily take care of your needs!

Your review and support mean a lot, and it will reach out to many people considering visiting us. Your words will have great impact! We hope you can visit again, soon. Like a fine wine, we promise to get better with age. =) Cheers, thank you, and be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Address: 2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Allison Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.