We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Birthday Getaway for Two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allison Inn & Spa
Save
You added Allison Inn & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Romantic Birthday Getaway for Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at The Allison Inn & Spa to celebrate our birthdays.
One word that describes The Allison, would be -- sublime...
What an amazing experience we had there. Can't wait to return!

Today, when it was time to check out, my husband said that he didn't want to leave.

From the moment you arrive you realize that you are at a very special place. The staff is so welll trained that you know that they love working there and want to make sure that your every need is met.

I am a travel snob and love staying at a Four Seasons, whenever one is available. The Four Seasons doesn't have anything on this place. Best trained staff of any hotel that I have ever stayed on this continent. Period.

Our room was on the Spa-level, which I highly recommend, with a vineyard view. This is the most private and beautiful view on the property - odd numbered rooms. The place was completely booked to capacity and we didn't hear a peep out of any other room. The place is so quiet and peaceful with a touch of style. Cool earth tones and elegant lines. You feel as though you are in another country, not in Newberg, Oregon.

We were there celebrating our joint birthdays. When we arrived in our room we were greeted with chocolate truffles and later a bottle of sparkling wine on ice arrived from a local winery -- all of which was complimentary.

I didn't realize that Pierre from the Heathman was running The Allison, but after I discovered this I knew that we were in good hands, having stayed at the Heathman's grand suite many years ago on an Anniversary, which Pierre made quite special for us.

Perfect weekend, perfect place.

See my review of Jory, which is fantastic. Best Sunday Brunch ever. The desserts were to die for -- amazing pastry chef!

We did not use any spa services, but the spa was beautiful and inviting. Next time we will definitely indulge. Splurge and enjoy! Highly recommend The Allison!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Spa Level are lovely and quiet. Odd numbered rooms are on the Vineyard side which has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    48
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
355
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jccatlady
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here for a girls weekend - we were quite amazed at the sumptuousness of this hotel. The woodwork, the in-room fireplace, spacious rooms and immaculate grounds were delightful! I can't wait to bring my husband back for a romantic weekend and to enjoy the beautiful spa. This is a really lovely property and a perfect getaway from the city. The staff was friendly and helpful - especially the bell staff in helping us to pack all the wine we bought into our car!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Took my wife on a surprise Birthday Weekend this this marvelous resort. Had a package that included room, dinner, and spa and it was absolutely incredible. Had wine and bar menu in the afternoon on the covered deck that has a fireplace and view of the vineyard. Had a wonderful dinner and finished by have wine in the Living Room Area where they had wonderful Jazz and a big fireplace fire from 6:30PM to 10:30PM. The room had a fireplace and huge flatscreen TV, and a spa bathroom with a deep soaking tub and Dead Sea Salts. Our favorite part of the room was the wonderful deck with chairs and table, we finished off a bottle of wine looking at the wonderful vineyard and stars before going to dinner. We promised ourselves to go back for my birthday and our anniversary. We are so blessed to have this wonderful resort only 30 minutes from our home. We could have flown to Napa Wine country and not found a better place, we highly recommend this wonderful resort and the service was the best we have ever seen, they really have the help well trained. If you want a great snack, get the Pinot Burger off the bar menu or the Hummus Plate, both are excellent. All the wines were great and the restaurant has over 50 wines by the glass. Over 200 wineries in the area too, but we chose to stay at the resort, and my wife loved her facial at the spa on her birthday. This place is a gem and they told us at dinner that it was just awarded 59th best resort in the world, it deserves it, we were pampered! Very romantic spot too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with deck overlooking the vineyard. Bellman told us that on Wednesdays from 5:30PM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our wine tasting trip and our only complaint is that we did not stay longer!
The rooms are beautiful (love the fireplace), bathrooms gorgeous, and although we did not visit the spa the pool and jacuzzi were fantastic! There was a crowd around the outdoor fire pit so we enjoyed the "real wood" fireplace that is inside by the bar.
We decided to order room service and were very pleased with the speed in which it arrived and the quality of the food. We had stopped by the Jury restaurant to review the menu and felt a little put off by the hostess...there was no one at the stand so we took a menu to look at. Suddenly she came running over and essentially said they were booked for the evening and we could possibly come by at 8:00 pm to check on availability at the chefs counter (it was a Monday night in Oct). Well we walked by at that time and there was PLENTY of open tables...we ordered room service instead to enjoy in front of the fire but the hostess could have been more accomodating.
All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I just spent 3 wonderful days at the Allison with college girlfriends. The hotel and grounds are lovely. The room was large, beautifully furnished and very clean. The bathroom was large and easily accomodated 2 women getting ready at the same time. The robes were comfortable and we enjoyed the nice gas fireplace. We didn't have a great trip down from Seattle - left behind purse, blown out tire - but the stress of the trip melted right away starting with the very friendly valet, welcoming front desk staff, beautiful room and lovely selection of meats, cheese and bread awaiting us in our room along with a nice half bottle of Willakenzie pinot nior. We took advantage of the Spa while we were there - the services and staff there were also fabulous. The spa is quite nice and had a sauna and steam room that hotel guests can use even if they are not getting services. We took a morning swim in the indoor pool and relaxed in the whirlpool as well. The workout room has good equipment with individual TV's. After my exceptional trip, I had to read the negative reviews posted here because I could not imagine anyone having an unpleasant stay at The Allison. It was apparent to me that these were not "objective" reviews of The Allison. If you choose to let the fact that Fox News is one of the channel options on the tv spoil your trip here (as one reviewer did), you deserve to be miserable. Too bad they didn't just turn off the tv and enjoy the grounds or other amenities. I highly recommend the Allison and will be staying there again this summer, if not sooner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We are just back from three glorious days at the Allison Inn & Spa. This was our first trip to the Willamette Valley although we are experienced travelers with many trips to the various California wine regions. The Allison was, in a word, perfect. From the moment we arrived to our sad departure, we were treated to ellegence without pretense and found all staff members to be genuinely happy to make our stay the best possible.

We stayed in a king suite on the spa level which was convenient to all the amenities the Allison offers. While the rate is expensive, you get what you pay for- no nickel and dimeing for nice extras like bottled water by your bedside each evening and a basket of yummy snacks. We also liked that full use of the spa facilities was also included such as the whirlpool, steam rooms, and saunas. All were spotlessly clean.

Just upstairs from the spa level is the main "living room" area which has a huge wood burning fireplace and comfy seating. On the weekend, a great jazz trio played as we enjoyed some delicious Oregon Pino. They also serve food for those seeking a less formal dining experience.

Which brings us to food and to Jory, the onsite dining venue. The setting, the food, and the friendly service all, again, were top notch. Peruse the expansive wine list but don't be shy to ask for recommendations. Ken also provided us with winery recommendations for our two days of tastings. We ended up disregarding our original plan and went with his, discovering several small boutique wineries that were fabulous. Amongst those we loved were Colene Clemens, De Ponte, Utopia, Bergstrom, and Panther Creek. Jory was the total dining experience, but don't limit yourself to dinner...breakfast was also terrific, with Lemon Buttermilk pancakes, and Hazelnut French toast!

In addition to the Allison's amenities and the wineries, we also enjoyed several meals in the Dundee/McMinnville area including the Dundee Bistro and the Bistro Maison. We did eat at the renowned Tina's- the food was good- but the service was nowhere near what we had at the other locations.

On our day of departure, one of our rain jackets had a terrible spot on it- I asked the front desk for help and Francis quickly came to the rescue getting it cleaned off within an hour! What great customer service!

If you are looking for a wine country getaway or for just a spa retreat, the Allison is the place to consider. We look forward to many repeat visits!

Room Tip: We loved the Spa floor- very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Ended up spending a week here for a class. The rooms, as mentioned, are very roomy, include fireplace, large bath, very comfortable bed and seating area. the scenery in the area is quite nice in the local wine country. Great service, I had material waiting for me and it was delivered to the room before I checked in. the service in the conference area was good as we had breakfast, lunch and dinners there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Address: 2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Allison Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.