We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet, Clean, Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals
209 -213 SE Rosenbaum St, Mitchell, OR 97750   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quiet, Clean, Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I would recommend the cottage to anyone who would like to stay in a simple, comfortable, clean, and spacious two bedroom house with a very nice bathroom and sun porch, a very quaint kitchen with everything in it you could want, including a fair quantity of staples, and good appliances, (no dishwasher), a beautiful and fragrant flower garden with a small apple orchard, washer and dryer, extensive VHS collection, (which we never used, due to always being out exploring...). The floor coverings looked new. The shower was extra good, and good taps in the kitchen, too. The appliances are good. The kitchen is not modern, (in fact the cabinets are truely 'collectible'! In a GOOD way). It is clean and very charming. There were heaters, but we never used them. The windows are new. The area is extremely quiet and appears very safe. The garden is very private and lovely. The owner went well out of her way to help us with a special request. We never met her, but she was available. If I return to this area, I will certainly try to stay here. The only possible fault I can report is that some of the floors are somewhat uneven. This did not bother us, but if two people were in the front bedroom bed, it does slope a little. Maybe put a wedge under one bedframe leg. Really, this is fairly minor. I really did not want to leave this place and wish we could have stayed there longer. It's a great location to explore the Painter Hills from and the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument, well worth a visit. It is extremely quiet here and restful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the very special landscape in Easter Oregon. My daughter and I stayed at the Hollyhock Guest House, a very comfy and adorable cottage and were absolutely in love with the place. Just to sit on the porch in the morning, looking into the colorful floral garden and watch the birds and butterflies was magic. The owners were very helpful and gave us fresh eggs from there chickens for breakfast and the best grapes fresh from the little garden surrounding the cottage. This is the greatest place to stay when you're coming this direction to explore the Painted Hills and the other units of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument. We will be back for sure!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can highly recommend the Painted Hills Cottage to all travelers to the region! All of us in our group of eight plus two dogs had plenty of room in the spacious cottage, cooked great meals in the evening when we came back from our great adventures, and enjoyed sitting under the old apple trees till late at night. All the special little touches like the games for the kids in the game-room, the well equipped kitchen, and the organic shampoo and soaps among so many other highlights, were greatly appreciated. The free Wifi was another plus. Thank you for providing such a special place .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunajacobi, Owner at The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you,Gabor and Family. We are happy that you were so pleased that you made spending time at the cottage and in the garden such a big part of your vacation. We're one of the few places that actually promote to bring your dogs along. The garden is a safe place and the hikes in the near surrounding are exceptional with lots of leash off places for the dogs to roam.
Come back again one day, maybe in spring when the old apple trees are in bloom giving the garden such a soft and poetic feeling.
Aruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second trip to these wonderful cottages. When you open the rustic metal gate, you are transported into a secret garden. Surrounded by lush flowers, shrubs and trees it feels like a private oasis in the desert. The owners have cultivated a magical place where you can recharge your batteries in peace and beauty. I would highly recommend staying here if you are going to visit the Painted Hills. They even have a separate building that has a cozy library and game room with couches and a wood fire stove.

If you haven't been to the Painted Hills area you will enjoy the rugged beauty and expansiveness of the area. Dig for fossils in Fossil! Find Thundereggs! Go rafting/swimming! Check out dinosaur fossils at the Condon Museum! Or just relax. It's worth the trip.

Room Tip: The Painted Hills Cottage is larger than the Hollyhock House Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunajacobi, Owner at The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, Ted. Mom and I are working passionately to make your stay at our cottages a wonderful and memorable experience. The garden surrounding both cottages is a never-ending creative project for both of us and we love it when you love it. Eastern Oregon and all it's treasures, stunning vistas, vast landscapes and national monuments is still as secret that wants to be shared with many more adventure seeking travelers. We're happy when our guests spread the word and keep coming back again and again.
We're looking forward to welcome you soon
Aruna and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Mitchell hotels
Oregon Hotel 3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews Sky Hook Motel 4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
View all 2 hotels in Mitchell, ranked by popularity

Been to The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals

Address: 209 -213 SE Rosenbaum St, Mitchell, OR 97750
Location: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 charming European cottages available for your Eastern Oregon vacation. Located in the quaint town of Mitchell, just around the corner from the famous Painted Hills. The cottages are surrounded by a beautiful private garden, and are equipped with everything you need for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Free WiFi, pet friendly, exceptional movie library, artsy ambiance. German owners. A paradise for nature lovers, artists, geologists, photographers, and outdoor enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals Mitchell, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals to your Saves list