We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for the neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Southeast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Southeast to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Southeast
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   17330 S.E. McLoughlin Blvd., Milwaukie, OR 97267   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milwaukie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Good choice for the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We needed a room for guests for two nights near Sellwood in SE Portland. Based on online comments, we chose this motel because by the time you add parking, the other choices were expensive or rated very poorly. The Econo Lodge is not fancy but the room was clean and spacious. It is an older motel run by an older East Indian (?) couple. The nice thing was that it had a sitting area with a sink and microwave when you first enter the room. There was a half divider to separate the sitting area from the two beds. The fridge was was along the wall between the TV. Our guests said they would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
34
18
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Traveling over the holidays, hundreds of miles, the reception was quite favorable, and as smokers a hotel stay can become an issue of comfort, as most places do not offer smoking rooms anymore, and if they do you most likely will not be otherwise pleased with the accommodations. THIS stay was beyond compare, value Plus, the room's amenities included a sitting area with couch, fridge, sink, microwave, tv, and the king size bed area around the corner included a in room spa, and tv!! What more can be said, most enjoyable and VERY affordable!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We used Trip Advisors reviews to choose this hotel for a one-night stay. The room was clean and sufficient, though no coffee maker in the room. It was 39 degrees outside and about 45 degrees in the room. There had been no heat at all on and we were forced to sleep in our clothes to be warm, though it did warm up after about 5 hours. The pillows were horrendous and my husband had to take 12 Advil over the next 12 hours for neck pain. But the worst part was the rudeness. The person that checked us in at night was there in the morning. He is not a happy person and does not belong in the hospitality business. We left there in a horrible mood after his treatment of us, starting our day off mad visiting family for the Holidays. I am surprised when I look at the dates of these other reviews on Trip Advisor and it makes me question the true value of this website overall. I travel about 6 months a year and don't stay in this type of hotel, however hospitality can be found in ANY quality or type of hotel, and this one doesn't have it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOR031, General Manager at Econo Lodge Southeast, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
First I want to thank you for leaving us a review. We take our reviews very seriously at the Econo Lodge Southeast and upon reading your review we cannot verify what room you had stayed in. We are sorry but we do not provide in-room coffee pots or do not advertise this amentiy for our hotel, but we do offer free coffee in our hotel lobby for our guests. Extra pillows are always available upon request, and we are sorry you found our pillows to be uncomfortable. We have brought your comments of rudeness to our front desk staff, and proper training has been implemented. We take great pride in our hotel and are an award winning hotel by Choice Hotels International, we hope to see you the next time you are in Portland Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staff was very accommodating when we needed to check in early. Room was very nice and comfortable. Front desk staff had good knowledge of the area for suggestions on restaurants and entertainment. The Internet was fast and the manager went out of his way to make our stay a pleasant one. If I'm ever in the area again, we will make this our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Tebo's for Lunch and Lacey's Bomber for Breakfast! Book online on the advance purchase rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

As Econo lodge in MIlwaukie is within walking distance to the events I attend, I choose to stay there as their rooms are large and pretty comfortable. I also like the morning coffee service offered. I have stayed there in the past. This time, I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. I went to use the bathroom which had a seal around the toilet seat lid--indicating it has been cleaned. I pulled away the seal, lifted the lid and YUK someone had used the toilet and failed to flush afterwards. Later that evening, I got into bed and found dried blood stains on the sheets. As I was only there for one night, I did not complain and just slept in the other bed. Though this stay fell short of my previous customer satisfaction experience, I would book again with Econolodge as I've been satisfied with the overal quality of service in the past.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was only able to stay one of the three nights due to some confusion around smoking vs non-smoking. It wasn't the hotel's fault. They did a good job of trying to find me one night, and helped me work with Priceline to sort out the remaining days.

Service was good, and the hotel itself was good too. I liked how roomy it was. The only possible drawback is that the rooms are a bit dated. Perhaps '90s decor.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was here with a friend for an overnight in Portland - we came in from the south and picked the airport as convenient on the way to the airport without the higher prices that come close by. The room was large and comfortable, clean, and (where we were at least) quiet. Friendly and professional service -- all around an excellent stay. I plan to keep the motel's name in my book for my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Southeast

Address: 17330 S.E. McLoughlin Blvd., Milwaukie, OR 97267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Milwaukie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milwaukie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Southeast 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Southeast Milwaukie/Portland is situated just minutes from the Clackamas Town Center Shopping Mall, Historic Oregon City, Downtown Portland Oregon, Reed College, and Oaks Amusement Park in Sellwood/Eastmoreland. Complimentary amenities include Extended Cable TV with HBO, Free Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Pool & Spa, Microwaves and Refrigerator in all rooms. AAA** Approved Lodging and easy access off I-205 make this hotel a hidden gem in the Portland/Clackamas area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Milwaukie
Milwaukie Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Southeast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.