We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Commons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Commons to your Saves list
Inn at the Commons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comfortable, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A colleague and I stayed here during a conference and enjoyed our ground floor room. It was quiet and spacious. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room is well appointed with lots of amenities. I appreciated the ceramic coffee mugs and glass drinking glasses. We enjoyed the hot breakfast, the lobby computer, and had an excellent dinner in Larks. It was a good value and a very pleasant stay, close to our meetings. We would stay here again. The only downside is the difficulty parking close to your room. Small parking lot down in back and tricky to enter and exit.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are quiet. Get one facing the parking lot, away from I-5 if traffic noise bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
18
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This in-city motel provides average 20+ year-old rooms at low prices.

The nicest rooms are 2nd-floor "creekside"--unfortunately, I-5 is now also over the creek, slightly above the motel's rooms. Despite the nice view under the freeway (there's a park beyond), and the ducks on the creek, suggest getting rooms as far from the freeway as possible.

Staff were very helpful, even volunteering a 10% off coupon for use in their excellent restaurant, "Larks", reviewed separately.

Room Tip: Far as possible from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip in mid-April. My ground floor room had a very strong nasty animal odor in the carpet that I could not escape.

I got in late from a cross country flight and there were only a few rooms left. Even with both doors open for over an hour I could not air out the room enough to be comfortable.

It was simply a matter of survival for the night. I woke up with burning eyes and a terribly stopped up head. Would never recommend!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here very last minute early April- we just walked in and asked for a room (had to stopover en route from Mt Hood to Northern California) and were surprised and their availability but also the very friendly staff. The room was large, very clean and had nice views over the river. Only disappointment was the pool had not yet opened for summer (despite it being a warm day). Enjoyed a pint at happy hour in the restaurant and the service was good. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel -I even got CAA/AAA discount!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was great. We checked in efficiently. We were offered a choice of room locations. We chose the River/Park view on the back of the property. The room and bathroom were a great size and had been updated. The bed was very comfortable. A small issue is that ambient noise when you open the sliding doors to a balcony. There is a freeway close by. I would choose a garden room if the noise would be a problem.
The breakfast was terrific.There was a good variety of food, with warm and cold items. The crew who managed the breakfast area were attentive. The front desk staff was informative during check in and check out. There is a restaurant on site that has a happy hour and great food from local farms. high quality. For those that crave Starbucks, there is a location very close by. The hotel location is located in the "commons" area. It is centrally located to freeways and shops and a mere 15 minutes from Ashland. This will become a regular stop during my travels through Oregon.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the river/park can be a little noisier to due ambient freeway noise. Select garden vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was okay, nothing fancy but clean. We had wonderful dinner and cocktails at the restaurant though. The bar is also quite nice.

I am writing this review because I forgot my jacket here. I was able to claim it after a week when I drove back. That part was nice!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Inn at the Commons while driving from Seattle to San Francisco. It was more or less the halfway point between the two cities, so it made sense. Some of the other hotels in the area seems a bit sketchy, and I booked Inn at the Commons based on the reviews of others. I'm glad I did.

I was given a very clean room next to the river. Aside from some light road noise, I was happy with it and the area was quiet. I only stayed one night, but managed to walk around and there was an amazing nano-brewery, Bricktowne Brewery just a few blocks away. Solid beer and good pub food.

There's also a Starbucks around the corner near the square, if needed.

Breakfast was awesome, the coffee was strong, and the front desk staff was extremely friendly. I'd recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to stay in Medford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Address: 200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.