We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel that tries to be cool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Commons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Commons to your Saves list
Inn at the Commons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Meridian, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel that tries to be cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here a couple of times for business. The layout of the property is pretty complicated. It's more like a cheap motel that tries to be better than it is. If you are on the creek side the noise from the freeway is almost unbearable. The walk from the front desk to the rooms in the middle or back of the property is kind of a pain with the steep driveway.

Room Tip: Get as close the lobby as possible. It's loud on the back side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    14
    0
    5
See reviews for
14
16
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is not a wow upon driving up. However once you're there it will exceed your expectations. The breakfast is good. The Internet is strong and quick although constantly having to check in can be a little annoying. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The neighborhood is convenient for walking. Overall we were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I motored to Medford from Salem to spend a 3-day weekend hiking and exploring a new place. I booked this hotel on a chance but I am so glad I did! I like staying downtown whenever possible and this hotel did not disappoint. Not even kind of! From the front desk staff to friendly housekeeping, comfortable bed, clean room and a fabulous restaurant on-site (will review Larks separately) I could not have been happier.
I traveled by myself and felt completely safe and secure, even though downtown. I was able to walk downtown both evenings I was there just to explore. and Sunday afternoon, I had a good brew (will review that shortly too) in a brew pub downtown.
Will be back, in fact, hopefully in March for my birthday with The Dude in tow!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The chartreuse doors with the beige background was somewhat off putting but the beds were wonderful and breakfast is included. It was one of the best breakfast we had with cheese onion omelette and hash browns, muffins, fruit and boiled eggs. it seems recently redone with large rooms with a microwave and a large refrigerator. the staff was very nice. it's underneath an interstate but seems well constructed so the noise was not a problem. we enjoyed the balcony over the creek and it was fun to watch the people in the park across the creek

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the front of the hotel/motel may shy some away I recommend to try it out. The interior has been tastefully renovated and feels clean and spacious. The beds are INCREDIBLE. A high end Sealy with cozy bedding. Good water pressure (important for refreshing showers after a long days drive). The breakfast was great for being free. Looked like there was a place to eat lunch or dinner but I didn't try it. Friendly helpful staff, too. Over all I was extremely satisfied with this location.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although The Inn at the Commons is a bit away from the freeway exits, it is a good place for travelers through Medford. Hot breakfast is included in the price. The freeway runs right behind the hotel but sound-proofing is good so it is not noisy. Apparently the hotel restaurant is quite good but we didn't have dinner the night we stayed so we don't know.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best part about this hotel is the FOOD! Their restaurant Larks is excellent with a great atmosphere and some of the best service I have ever received. When I told my server I would like to use my credit card instead of charge it to my room, he told me that I would still receive the 10% discount as a hotel guest. I think Larks is the best restaurant in Medford today. My black cod was perfectly prepared and I look forward to trying other menu options soon. The breakfast buffet offered a ham and sausage egg scramble but there was a sign saying they could accommodate vegetarians. I asked for a veggie option and they cooked up a delicious fresh veggie omelet for me in just a few minutes. The rooms are an updated version of an old Red Lion Inn and are well appointed. Not luxurious but the best option in Medford by far.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Address: 200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.