We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is FILTHY.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Commons

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Commons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Commons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Medford
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This hotel is FILTHY.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel based on its 3-star rating and looked forward to taking my granddaughter to the swimming pool. We put on our suits and went out to swim, but given the huge ball of hair floating in the pool, substantial debris sitting on the bottom, and the milky condition of the water, we opted NOT to swim. (The Health Department should check this out.) When I complained to the front desk, the response was, "Gee, we've never had any complaints before." I find that pretty hard to believe. Also, the carpet in the room was so filthy, that walking from the bathtub to the bed resulted in dirty feet! This place isn't fit for dogs to inhabit, much less people. Even though the manager comped our room, this was definitely NOT a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Inn at the Commons, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We were surprised to receive your review on TripAdvsior today. Since we obtained the property a year ago, we have been working hard to make changes and to provide a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through the doors at Inn at the Commons. As renovations have been and continue to be made, we have been receiving increasingly glowing reviews for our level of customer service, standards of cleanliness, and quality of food as more and more guests visit and continue to return.

As much as we’re disappointed to get your review, we appreciate the reminder and the opportunity to reflect on what we can do to improve the experience of others like you. Though we did discuss these issues when you brought them to our attention upon departure, we are open to hearing more about your experience so that we can continue to improve. Please do not hesitate to call us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Chris Anderson
General Manager
(541) 774-4701
chris.anderson@neumanhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    9
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
5
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Damascus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent five nights here while attending a reunion weekend. The room was spacious and clean, great mattress and breakfast was the best I've had in any other motel coming across the country. Would highly recommend staying here and would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were very disappointed as this place is very run down and not in a good area. The lady checking us in was borderline rude and could use a few lessons in customer service. The lobby is beautiful...but don't let that fool you. The room had been somewhat renovated however the carpets were extremely dirty and left our feet black (just after getting out of the shower!). We tried to take my daughter to the pool but upon arriving at the pool we found that the water was murky, there was a significant amount of dirt and leaves on the bottom of the pool...as well as a hair ball the size of a grapefruit floating around. After this we declined to even try the complimentary breakfast since cleanliness does not appear to be a priority for them and we were not about to risk it. In addition, the room was backed up to the freeway so we could hear traffic throughout the night. For the price they charge for this dump, you can find a nice hotel that's clean and located in a better area. DO NOT waste your money on this place!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Inn at the Commons, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We were surprised to receive your review on TripAdvsior today. Since we obtained the property a year ago, we have been working hard to make changes and to provide a positive experience for each and every guest that walks through the doors at Inn at the Commons. As renovations have been and continue to be made, we have been receiving increasingly glowing reviews for our level of customer service, standards of cleanliness, and quality of food as more and more guests visit and continue to return.

As much as we’re disappointed to get your review, we appreciate the reminder and the opportunity to reflect on what we can do to improve the experience of others like you. Though we did discuss these issues when you brought them to our attention upon departure, we are open to hearing more about your experience so that we can continue to improve. Please do not hesitate to call us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Chris Anderson
General Manager
(541) 774-4701
chris.anderson@neumanhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a renovated Red Lion. The new owners kept the glamour and glitz of an older hotel but improved it with a modern look. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and stll have a touch of the old ( groovy shell shower soap holders and a dinosaur a/c unit.). My only area of improvement would be the smell in the room reminded me of my great grandmothers house - not bad but a little musty, maybe a glade air wick or something fresh.

Overall a nice stay, friendly professional staff and a good nights rest.

Room Tip: The garden view would be nicer than the creek view. The creek runs underneath I-5. The rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really liked this recently renovated hotel. The free breakfast had a great selection. The restaurant was first class. The service from the front desk to Ava in the restaurant to the breakfast attendant were all very accommodating.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quick check in with friendly staff. Our room was on the top floor facing the creek ,but it also faced a busy highway,luckily we did not hear the traffic noise! The rooms were really clean and the bed super comfy,..the air conditioner worked great, it was over 35 degrees out but our room was nice and cool. Breakfast was excellent probably one of the better ones we had on our trip! Nice selection of cold and hot tasty breakfast fare. We went for a little walk around town in the evening and found that there were quite a few pubs and bars to that offered a large selection of different beer. All in all we had a pleasent stay and will defenetly stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Good motel for families with children. A section of the motel has rooms with patio doors that open d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really liked the spaciousness of the room and the comfortable bed. Although I usually hate square pillow, theirs were larger than normal so I was able to sleep well. The wall AC worked well and I stayed comfortably cool in my room. Added bonus: the breakfast at the hotel was really good - way better than most!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Address: 200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.