We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place, worth a look.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Commons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Commons to your Saves list
Inn at the Commons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good place, worth a look.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If possible, I'd rate this place a 3.5.

Service was good, I was checked in quickly, and our free car service to the airport was fast as well.

Value was also good, the price ended up being very fair.

Rooms are nice, pretty basic, but clean. You can tell they are updating the place. In fact, some of the rooms were closed for renovations. Sleep quality was fine, pretty quiet, with decent beds.

Location is within walking distance to downtown and a very short drive to the airport (less than 10 minutes) and that's exactly what we were looking for.

Overall, a slightly above average hotel that looks like will be even better in time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
18
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

On my annual Vancouver to Palm Springs power drive, it was a treat to stay here after 10 hours on the road.
Here is what I liked:.
1) parked my car at my room door
2) very comfy bed with nice linen and a clean room
3) good shower with rain nozzle
4) fridge and microwave
5) ate at Larks restaurant, located off the lobby and the menu offers a wide variety of interesting choices and everything sounded delicious!! Best burger ever.
6) walked to the old down town (after sunset) and felt safe
7) LG flat screen TV but not HD
8) no bad smells anywhere
9) the breakfast (included) cheesy scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, real potatoes plus lots more was delicious

The $78 (tax in) includes a full breakfast. I highly recommend this stopover and will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: I was in room 143 and it was quiet even though the free-way is very close. Also had good ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is an older Red Lion and is in the throes of being remodeled by it's new owners. It appears only the rear building along the "river" is open for occupants and I had a decent room with a comfortable bed (not my tempurpedic) but quite comfortable, an older tube TV but almost on demand hot water. My only complaint about the room itself was the air movement or lack of it. Once you take a shower, it's hard to get rid of the moist air without opening the doors. If you plan on walking up to the main building (restaurant) be aware it's "up." If you are elderly or handicapped, you will want to drive. One reason I choose the hotel was it's restaurant - however, it has been updated and I'm sure very nice, but the new menu (they just had their grand opening) is much too esoteric for my taste and dietary restrictions, so that was a big disappointment for me. I don't know who they are planning on attracting with this menu - they might be better served waiting until the remodeling is complete as I just don't see that working for them as things are. They do offer a free breakfast which had a nice variety - and was quite decent with either hot or cold foods. Above all the staff was truly nice and seemed very accomodating. If they came up with a more "normal" menu, I'd try them again - especially at the current price point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've stayed at the Red Lion Medford in the past but in August this place changed to Inn @ the Commons. I picked it because of the price, free shuttle and that it is close to a movie theater. I didn't expect it to be nice but found the room to be upgraded with big screen TV, lots of space and practical usable room with refrigerator, microwave and balcony. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I enjoyed a hot yet simple breakfast. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a remodeled room as some rooms haven't yet been converted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Yes, it's Medford and "downtown" choices are slim, So, Inn at the Commons is likely as good as it gets. It's a dated motor inn, with 70's decor and colors. Nothing's terribly wrong with the place, it's rather drab and tired overall. My tv remote was broken (at least it was lcd, some rooms still have tube tv's!) so I had to manually turn it on. Yes, I could have called the front desk to have them deal with it but it didn't seem worth it. The bed was too soft for me but linens were fresh. The free breakfast buffet was a nice touch and the staff is friendly, overall. But I would never choose this place again--it was a little scuzzy.

If you have a car stay at the Fairfield Suites by the Fred Meyer, a far better value, overall. Downtown has little to offer anyway and Fairfield is clean and modern, a far cry from Inn at the Commons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife is pregnant and had a question about the food she had eaten for dinner, I called at 2am in a panic and the staff was immensely kind and courteous. They immediately called down to their kitchen and tried to get as much info as they could. They then had a chef call is in the morning with more information. You felt like they really cared and every person we dealt with went the extra mile. Of course the building is old, location is central but not pretty. But to have such wonderful staff, it makes this place shine. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

With change of ownership came a new name. The property is being renewed, with many rooms already refurbished. Everything was clean, and the bed was super comfortable. My room was large and included an upholtered lounge chair and ottoman, plus a balcony overlooking the stream. I-5 passes the hotel on the other side of the stream, but elevated. I found traffic noise to be minimal and not intrusive. The hotel includes a very substantial breakfast buffet with the price of the room: scrambled eggs (NOT overcooked), bacon and sausage, potatoes, plus all the cereal, fruit juice, baked goods, coffee, and tea that you can manage.

Room Tip: There are several wings and some are at substantial remove from the I-5 side, if you are sensitive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Address: 200 North Riverside Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.