We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medford Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Medford Inn to your Saves list
Medford Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 S Riverside Ave, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Was okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Establishment is in the process of upgrading rooms and mine had what looked like new furniture, minus flat screen TV. The place was clean and worth the money. Front desk was very friendly and even helped print a document for me. What I didn't like though is that Vicky at the front when checking me in said the room above me was still being renovated so there'd be nobody up there, because initially I was going to get a 2nd floor room, but at about 11:30PM I was awoken by someone walking around the room whom continued too for the next 20 minutes or so, and again was awoken at 4:30am when they apparently left. That's why normally I get a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The owner was nice, but the hotel was horrible. Does not look like the pictues at all. The room was not the greatest. Pillows were stained as well. The room decor looked like from the 70's. No breakfast. The price was expensive for what you get. The room service was not so friendly. The ice machine in the front did not have any ice. I was looking for ice when another person staying there at the hotel told me where to find ice. I had to walk all the way around the hotel for ice. That was crazy. I would not stay there again! Asking to much money for what you get.:/

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

sink slow to drain. mattress hard as a rock. shower curtain stained. mold in bathroom ceiling. landscape rundown. t.v. 1990 era. 19 inch? complimentary breakfast consisted of banana, cereal, coffee, juice. the price got us here, but the condition will make us go elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay away from room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Great service, good mattress. Simple breakfast. Good location close to I5. McDonalds and BurgerKing. Very clean. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

When we checked in, the very nice courtesy clerk who told us they served complimentary breakfast until 10 am. "Perfect, that's why we're here instead of a Motel 6."

Unfortunately, when we went to grab food at 9:30 am, there was none to be had - they had closed up shop early because not enough people were eating.

A clean-ish hotel and good price, but we won't be going back; Motel 6 feels cleaner and doesn't mislead regarding their services.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have stayed here twice. The first time I had a basic single queen room with all the standard amenities, which costs $55. This time around, I payed the $55, but they put me in the King Executive Suite! I was shocked,it was huge!

Ok, so the rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The mattresses are not firm, but not soft (somewhere in the middle). The pillows are soft, and the KEXCT has extra pillows stored in the room. The bathrooms were very clean, as were the floors and carpets. The room offers all the basic amenities, and has a fridge, microwave, phone, and free wireless internet (internet is iffy though). The KEXCT has an extra sink in next to the fridge, and the shower and sink in the bathroom are much nicer.

The breakfast room is located across the parking lot from the front office. It offers cereal, toast, waffles, fruit, milk, juice, and some pastries. Typical continental breakfast.

Overall, I have had great experiences at the Medford Inn. The location isn't great, but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the King Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had a terrible experience at this hotel, our softball team had multiple rooms in the hotel and each had significant problems including leaking toilet, bathtub that didn't drain and terribly stained towels. Most distressing was how rude the hotel person, Vicki, was to everyone who voiced their concerns. We've stayed at a lot of medium end hotels around the state with team functions, this was our worst experience ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Medford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medford Inn

Address: 1015 S Riverside Ave, Medford, OR 97501 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Medford Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medford Inn is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon's scenic Rogue Valley. We offer easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and dining. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. The Inn is just 15 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport. Our 110 spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking and heated outdoor pool. The Medford Inn is now fully under new management. We know we have had some negative reviews in the past but we are currently undergoing many changes, including customer service training, remodeling and renovations of rooms, and upgrading our continental breakfast. We welcome all past guest to give us another chance. And of course for our future guest we will strive to provide you the best service possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Medford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medford Hotel Medford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.