We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Horizon Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1154 Barnett Road, Medford, OR 97504   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Western Horizon Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here two nights. The staff were great, the rooms immaculate and quiet. We were very pleased with the dog walking area. Nice! We'll be happy to stay here again! Great for travel with the pup!

Room Tip: We were in Room 269 I think. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Immaculate is one of our favorite things to read in a review! We know you are talking about a pet room, so we are particularly glad you are sharing with others that we see to the pet rooms with the same eye on cleanliness as we do with every room in the hotel. We are grateful that you took time to share your good word with fellow travelers, thank you so much!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    210
    66
    22
    10
See reviews for
227
191
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent. The welcome and help with accommodations was delightful. It's nice to be helped with smiling and friendly people. We were matched with appropriate rooms that had microwave, refrigerators and coffee equipped rooms. The rooms were exceptionally cleaned and next to a Big Bear restaurant that was just as friendly. We had a trailer and found ample room to park in a large lot. Check out was quick and a hardy welcome to come back made our first trip to Medford very pleasurable.

Room Tip: Best Western has really improved their service and accommodations. Try them and I'm sure you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the very kind review. We are so grateful that you took time to spread the good word. We do have such a large parking lot, it is especially useful when you have over sized parking needs. We also really love hearing about the service and cleanliness. Our service is such a source of pride, as well we love to display our cleanliness awards for all to see, another great source of pride! Once again we are so grateful for your review.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to visit Crater Lake. Great service from the front desk staff when we checked in (giving us information on Crater Lake and the local laundromat) and checked out (good advice for the next part of our trip south into California). The rooms were very clean with everything you needed. The only slightly annoying part was quite a loud humming from the bathroom vent, which we didn't notice until late on and then didn't bother mentioning (our fault) as we didn't want to have to change rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Being nearby the area's greatest attractions is one of the best things about the Best Western Horizon Inn. We really appreciate that you point that our in your review. Also your comments about comfort and cleanliness validate our hard work and we are most grateful. You can bet that I am looking for that noisy vent, we will get it fixed if we haven't already! Thank you again for taking time to share you experience with other travelers, it is such a cool aspect of tripadvisor!!!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our last hotel stay after a week of traveling - and it was perfect. We were greeted with a smile and helped very quickly when we arrived. We stayed in a 2 queen, non smoking room on the second floor close to the pool. The room was clean and roomy enough for all 4 of us. The pool area was nice and open until 10pm which was great since the kids had just spent 12 hours in the car. The shower had plenty of water pressure and hot water and the shower head was high enough for my husband (who is 6'2") to stand underneath it. The breakfast was a good variety of cereal, fruit and breads.
Next time we are headed through the Medford area we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Wow, what a great review! You said a lot about the things that we work really hard to get right! Friendly face at the desk, clean spacious rooms and our beautiful pool area that you enjoyed. You said many of our favorite things to read. We are so grateful that you took the time to reach out to other travelers and recommend our hotel as a reliable place to stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently spent two separate nights at the Horizon Best Western in Medford while traveling with our dog. Lots of hotels "allow" dogs but very few of them actually work very well. Especially the area for dogs to do their business.

The Horizon Inn Best Western is a GREAT motel for traveling with your dog. :) There is a large shady area of grass and trees for them to do their business at the end of the motel PLUS there is an off-leash dog park AND a large leashes-required park right across the street. How cool is that?

The room was basic - really preferable not to be too fancy with a dog in tow - and exceptionally clean and well maintained. And it was pretty quiet. We made reservations in advance so we had the same room coming and going, which helped our dog settle in quickly on the return trip. And a huge selection of television channels on cable. And all of the staff were very nice.

Only negatives: a noisy air conditioning unit. But it certainly kept the room cool. Just wish the fan wasn't so loud. Wi-fi worked better the first night than the second, when it was slow and/or down in the evening.

Any future trips with our dog that involve an overnight stay in Medford will be at this Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
What a great review! We love our four legged visitors and welcome them with a biscuit. You are so right about the off leash park across the street, it is fantastic and the dogs love it! I was sorry to find that you had a noisy AC. Don't ever hesitate to let us know, sometimes it is as easy as tightening the fan or we will try to find you a better room while we repair the ac. We want you to have a great experience. Coming here twice is quite a compliment and we really appreciate that you took a moment to share the good word with other travelers.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a first-floor room in early September, 2012, about ten rooms down from the front desk and overall, didn't have a great experience.

Pluses:
- Staff was friendly and efficient
- If you stay on the first floor, it's convenient for transporting luggage to your car

Negatives:
- Really hard to get a full sleep if you are a light sleeper. The noise level is similar to if you had a window open, due to the air conditioner placement. I woke up twice during the night as (what sounded like) trucks drove in the parking lot. I woke up again around 7 a.m. and couldn't fall back to sleep due to the constant noise of other customers chatting as they passed our room, and loud vehicles starting up in the parking lot, etc.
- We care a lot about cleanliness and wipe down some of the surfaces of the room when we arrive. The white paper towels we used were yellow or brown after wiping each surface. The one exception was the toilet, which was fairly clean.

We paid $98 incl. tax for the room, and wish we had stayed at the nearby Hilton for the sound issue alone, as it would have been worth an extra $20 for a proper sleep.

I realize that the staff cannot do much about the sound issue (other than significant renovations), but wanted to let others know who are not really sound sleepers, so they can make an educated choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are sorry you didn't get a good nights rest. It is fair to say that outdoor corridors are not for everyone. While we have a very strong following of those who love the access to their cars when they can park their cars at their doors, we definitely understand that the activity of our busy hotel, can challenge a light sleeper. You had some very kind words for our staff, which we really appreciate. We are glad to find that we were able to give you a pleasant service experience.

Grateful for your kind words,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Kind of a throwback to my youth. Haven't stayed in an outside entry motel in years. Yet for what it is, our stay was good. Large rooms and attentive staff. I am six feet tall and appreciated the higher showerhead addition. Breakfast area was small, but had enough seating for us and provided adequate variety.
Some noise from other guests entering/exiting vehicles and walking across second floor walkway, as well as stairs to upper floor, but not the fault of the Horizon Inn!
Only complaint was the bed seemed to be too soft and "bouncy".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I have been training a new super star at Horizon, so I apologize for taking too much time to reply! I really appreciate hearing the great comments about our hotel. You know some people just really love the outdoor corridor because they can pull up right to the door and be so close to their car. But your right, there is a lot of activity at check in and check out. I really appreciated your kind words about our staff because I know they really put their best foot forward. Thank you for the time you spent sharing your good word with other travelers.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Address: 1154 Barnett Road, Medford, OR 97504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Medford
#3 Family Hotel in Medford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horizon Hotel Medford
Best Western Medford
Medford Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.