We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Wasabi Sushi Japanese Restaurant
820 Crater Lake Ave, Ste 107, Medford, OR 97504-6581
541-773-8114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 258 restaurants in Medford
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This little gem is tucked away in the most unassuming strip mall. It is ran by the same three people all the time. It is small, maybe 8 tables, but the sushi is always perfect. Not too much ambiance, just some tables and chairs, but if you want good sushi in Medford, at a decent price, this is the place to go!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    28
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Medford, OR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you like interesting, delicious sushi, this is the place to try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find in Medford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were traveling to Medford and tried Wasabi Sushi based on the recommendations from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. It is a small family run restaurant in a corner of a strip mall, a bit hard to find. Not much in the way of atmosphere but very comfortable and the food makes up for any shortcoming in that area. It was some of the best sushi we have had anywhere. We can highly recommend the Highway roll (spicy tuna, albacore and scallions) and the tempura was perfectly cooked. If you like sushi and are in Medford, we highly recommend Wasabi. Very nice staff as well. We had miso soup, tempura and three different rolls plus beer and the total with tip was $50 total for my wife and I, very reasonable for the quality of food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
638 helpful votes 638 helpful votes
“An adorable restaurant owned by an adorable couple serving delicious food at adorable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The strip mall location is not inviting but as soon as you walk in and the owner/waitress offers a warm, inviting smile, you realize you're in for a treat. The husband is the chef and both have done a wonderful job with this restaurant.

Here's how I rate the various food items. The miso soup was A+--so flavorful. The vegetable and shrimp tempura was also A+. The sushi (tuna) was perfect and delicate. The steak teriyaki was perfectly good but for the price that they offer, it couldn't be better. This is not like the steak teriyaki you would get at Nobu but it also is at 1/10th of the price.

The yakisoba chicken was also very good. Here is the amazing kicker. We had miso soup, tempura, steak teriyaki, yakisoba chicken, salad, sushi and two soft drinks and our total cost came to $30 for dinner.

This is a marvelous, little restaurant. The food is so good and the owning couple are so kind and caring. I can tell that they already have a loyal following. If we lived in Medford, we'd eat her weekly. I wish them all the best and know that they will succeed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Don't need to say to much but this is the best sushi in town. The Eel is amazing and a must try. Its a little hard to find but worth the trouble. Just sit and the bar and put yourself in the Chefs hands.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Sushi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.