We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun, Great Taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoji's Medford

Shoji's Medford
2640-C Barnett Rd., Black Oak Center, Medford, OR 97504
541 779 6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 263 Restaurants in Medford
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast Food
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun, Great Taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I always like going here for a special occasion. The food is especially good and you get so much of it that you end up with so many leftovers that you have an entire meal for the next day. The Tepanyaki chefs are always entertaining. It is a great family environment. You should make reservations because it is always busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

How can you go wrong. This place is just plain fun and the food is pretty good too. If you are looking for authentic Japanese probably not the best but the food is tasty and I've always had a good time.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation at 6:30. We didn't get seated for another 20 minutes. When we did get seated the waiter asked how we were doing with his head down in his note pad the whole time. The place was freezing cold everone at our table left there coats on, complainting how cold it was. When they brought out our drinks they got the order wrong. 15 minutes later we finally got our drinks. My husbands order was still wrong, but he drank the beer anyways. We then finished our salads and drinks and didn't see the waiter for another 15 minutes. The time now is 7:30 and our appointment was at 6:30. Finally our chef was here. I was so glad to see him since I was starving! It took a good 30 minutes to cook all the food. The portions were great. Our chef was the only good part about my experience.
I would like the owners and managers to really focus on customer service for their employees. Then maybe we'll come back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Entertaining, good food, and huge portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Banlgogi beef (phonetic spelling) korean style! This is the dish to have. Our chef for the evening worked hard to engage and entertain the table while preparing our dinner. The whole place was packed for a Saturday night that created a lively and loud experience. The portions were huge and I will eating shojis for breakfast.
Intially I was concerned for my evening. It took almost 45 minutes from time of being seated until a chef was at our table. This was the only downside. It didnt ruin the night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Show & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Shoji's is a great place to with company. You get a show while they cook your food right in front of you. Lots of fun for the kiddo's too. They always offer lots of rice, veggies, and sprouts. We love the teriyaki chicken double, feed at 2 with leftovers. At the end of the show they write a message on the grill with salt, if it your anniversary or birthday or whatever the occasion. Great food, full bar, very polite wait staff and the prices are good, early bird prices are great going before 6pm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoji's Medford also viewed

 

Been to Shoji's Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoji's Medford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.