We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft by Motel Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Medford South

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Medford South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 Medford South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   950 Alba Dr, I-5 at Exit 27, Medford, OR 97504   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Medford
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Theft by Motel Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've used Motel 6 for years travelling up and down the coast and will not any more.

We left a very fine vanity mirror at this Motel 6 in Medford and the desk person said they would hold it until our return 3 weeks later. When we returned the Manager said he had it in storage but couldn't get it at that moment and would mail it to us. When we phoned him because we had not heard from him he said one of his staff stole it. That's it! Too bad for us!

So be very careful with your personal belongings at this Motel 6 - not trustworthy. As they say you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
12
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A nice Motel 6 and again pet friendly with a dog park next door. I didn't have any issues the room was nice and clean the bed was fine and the front desk staff was exceptional. All in all a nice stay and a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Immediately next to this Motel 6 is a Travelodge and a Days Inn. I choose Motel 6 for my first night. There was no refridgerator. The heater did not have any sort of digital display OR shut-off mechnism. It simply had a "cool - warm" adjuster and a low/high fan speed. So basically it just blew air continuously at whatever temperature you set it to.

The stairs were awkwardly far from my door, I had to basically walk around three sides of the building to get to my side. Another set of stairs would have been nice.

Wireless WIFI internet was quite slow. It worked, but it was slow enough to actually time out on several sites, including facebook games I wanted to play. I think I was in room 283. Not sure if other rooms get better service or not.

Access to all rooms is via an out-side walkway. Again, the neighboring motel for the same price had indoor hallways, a fridge, and digital thermastat.

I'd suggest just driving the extra 100 feet to the Travelodge for a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here on our way back to BC from California. The Hotel 6 chain is all pretty much the same. The value is good and the rooms are clean but a little out-dated. I find the beds are not soft enough but what do you expect for $40-$50. We could hear the highway so try to book a room in the back. What I like about Hotel 6 is they are pet friendly and don't charge extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or as farthest away fron the Hwy noice as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Your typical Motel 6, but with some great South Oregon hospitality. Two employees stood out as very helpful, with directions and recommendations. Both Lindsey and Amanda were gracious hosts.
Both also agreed on the best breakfast spot in Medford, and I took them up on it. Try the homeade corned beef hash at the "Bear.." something or other, across for the motel - awesome!

Thanks guys, and they definitely left the light on!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a bathroom with a small table to put your stuff on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I just needed a night's rest on my way from Oregon to southern California so I thought that I would save a few bucks - big mistake. The staff are very nice but this did not make up for the room. Dingy carpet, cigarette burned blanket, scratchy towels, and awful chemical smell. My nose was running all night due to the smell. The walls were thin so I was entertained by the next door neighbors snores all night long.

If I hadn't checked in so late I would have gone to another motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONANZA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed here on several occasions over the years and always come back.

Yes, it is only a Motel 6, but they do honor AARP and you get a 10% discount which actually, in most cases, is the tax you end up paying.

There are no extras here, but I have always had a good bed and a quite room. The staff are always friendly and helpful. On this stay, I didn't realize that they charge for the internet service. I normally don't bring my laptop or iPad when staying here. I was a little disappointed when I called the office and the young lady there just gave me the service for the night I was staying. That to me was above and beyond! She gets a gold star in my book.

I would recommend this Motel when traveling to the Medford area.

Room Tip: Top floor always seems to be more quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Medford South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Medford South

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Medford South Hotel
Motel 6 Medford South Hotel Medford
Medford Motel Six
Medford Motel 6
Motel Six Medford
Motel 6 Medford
Address: 950 Alba Dr, I-5 at Exit 27, Medford, OR 97504
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Medford South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Medford South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Medford South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.