We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after 10 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaleidoscope Pizzeria and Pub

Kaleidoscope Pizzeria and Pub
3084 Crater Lake Hwy, Medford, OR 97504-9102
541-779-7787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Medford
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Still great after 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

One of the last things we did before we moved away from the Rogue River Valley in 2009 was to have one last dinner at Kaleidoscope. So when we passed through Medford today, we just had to go back.

Over four years later Kaleidoscope hasn't changed a bit. The food is still great. The service is still great. The draft beer selection is still great (and mostly southern Oregon local). And for $25 plus tip we left stuffed on a Buffalo Bleu side salad, a small Margherita Pizza, and a couple fine beers (the limited-time-only Deschutes Fresh Squeezed IPA being especially tasty).

Thanks Jake, Kristi and Ben for doing what you do!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    73
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Always look forward to a trip to Kaleidoscope in Medford when I visit family here. My grandkids love it. The Artichoke Pizza is great, but so are all the others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous salads, pizzas and beers on tap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thus is the best place to order pizza in Southern Oregon! You will find several varieties, including vegetarian options, on your choice of crust and including a choice of sauces. Salads are superior, with or without meat. We usually order a side-salad to share plus a small pizza and are too full to order dessert, though we love their chocolate cake - a slice is enough to share among four people. The loaded-baked potato soup is also heavenly! Extensive wine and beer selection.

Service is quick, attentive and friendly but never overbearing. Prices are very reasonable for consistently great quality.

The dining rooms can be a bit noisy, but the outdoor patio is wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Pizza and wings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We made a Friday evening visit to this locally popular place. Though we were immediately seated, there was a long wait for the food to appear.

The menu is straight forward and we chose one of the new appetizers: Hog wings and a medium Veggie Pizza. The hog wings which are pork

shin that was baked not fried after being coated in cajun spices. The cajun and being baked appealed but the result was not good. It was

extraordinarily salty end we scrapped off the sauce / coating to reduce the salt. It did not have a smoke flavor, nor cajun flavor nor was there any

tang or heat. The meat was tender but the rest was not good. The blue cheese dressing was not special but it did mediate the saltiness. We did

tell our server who spoke to the manager. They should just recraft this dish.

We ordered the special veggie pizza which arrived shortly after the wings. The crust was nice and crisp but gets soggy with all the veggies. The

topping was abundant and very tasty: broccoli, black olives, artichokes, fresh tomato, peppers were some of what was on it along with feta

cheese. All in all, heavily loaded but tasty. The medium is easily enough for three or four hungry people.

Service was pleasant and the atmosphere is loud with the family enjoying a Friday night pizza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We take the family to this place often. Very upscale for a pizza place. Great salads and pizza. We especially like to order the cheesy breadsticks - both white and wheat crust. Very friendly staff. The place is often crowded so choose your time wisely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleidoscope Pizzeria and Pub also viewed

 

Been to Kaleidoscope Pizzeria and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaleidoscope Pizzeria and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.