We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall small and get what paid for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Medford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Medford to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Medford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 Biddle Rd, Medford, OR 97504   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Valley Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall small and get what paid for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After driving all day we arrived and the desk person was rude and unfriendly. Asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. Asked for a room on the street side as thought it would be quieter than freeway. Desk person said she also cleaned rooms and they were all quiet. Went to our room and it was small, very small. It was clean. Went to dinner, came back and got ready to relax and watch a little TV. Could here cars driving down the street and there was also a low hum coming from an equipment room next door. It ran for 10 seconds every few minutes. Turned off the TV and listen for a few minutes and thought it wasn't so bad until 2 am when I awoke and it kept me up the remainder of the morning. Told the morning desk people about our evening and they apoligized and said it was the cooling fan for the computer equipment and that it should have been off. Anyways, shame on us for not moving. Won't be back though to this or any other Shilo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    10
    19
    15
See reviews for
24
19
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I only gave this motel a 2 mainly because of the housekeeping. For a small motel, the room was good sized and had a refrigerator and microwave. The beds were too hard and pretty uncomfortable for me, but the thing that bothered me the most about this place was the general feeling of unclean I felt. There was visible mildew in the shower, the carpet and bedding looked dirty and the room had a dirty, smokey smell (even though it was a non-smoking room). This motel would have rated even lower because of this, but the very nice staff kept me from hitting it too hard. The young ladies we met in the office were very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear trip_loverCA,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our employees. However, I was disappointed to hear about the feeling you had while staying with us. We are an older property and we always take extra pains to make sure our rooms are clean as well as inviting. We will use your comments to re-evaluate our housekeeping routines. Thank you again for your comments so that we will always be perfecting our goal of cleanliness and friendliness.

Sincerely,

Ashley K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room was in general grimy and uncomfortable. I discovered that the sheets on one bed had not been changed- there was blood and hair on them. The bedspread had mysterious brownish spots on it. I had to wash the phone receiver before I tried to use it (I am not a clean freak- you would have too!), but you could barely hear the person on the other end. The desk clerk could not have cared less, but I thought it was a safety issue. Yes, I have a cell phone, but not everyone does.
The continental breakfast, however, was better than the usual budget hotel spread, and the areas that it was served in were very clean. The coffee was not bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BostonSea,

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know your feedback so that we may improve. I am pleased to hear your positive comments about our Continental Breakfast and coffee; our guests really enjoy it. However, I am disapointed that your room was not up to our standards. I will be sharing your comments with all of our staff and taking the nessicary steps to ensure that this kind of experience will not happen to another guest. I sincerly hope that you will give us another chance to offer you our pledge of 'Affordable Excellence' the next time you find yourself in Southern Oregon.

Sincerely,

Ashley K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great value- and it might be on the aged side , but it was clean.! Nice staff , and what I appreciated was to hear the employees say" Merry Christmas" , served breakfast until 10:00 , had fox news on , gives military veterans a discount and serves Seattle best Coffee!
However I would say it would be better if they went to the disposable cups instead of plastic wrap over cups and glasses .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Reserved a 2-queen room at this hotel for Thanksgiving (11/22/12) and the night after. Right away when we got there we noticed the smell of must and marijuana in the halls. There is an "elevator" going up to the rooms, but it was very rickety and creaked a lot, kind of scary. We got to our room and noticed how dark and unclean it seemed. The beds were Rick hard, and as I checked for a mattress pad/cover and clean bedding--without bedbugs--there was only a fuzzy blanket somewhat covering the mattress, and it was stained with a yellow-brownish something. I was immediately grossed out. When I used the bathroom, I noticed hairs in and on top of the bathtub. Another huge minus. The furniture was very dingy and old, the doors were scratched up and had a hard time shutting them. We weren't going to complain until the morning, we would just sleep in the bed that WASN'T stained. We were exhausted from traveling 5 hours on hardly any sleep and then a long day of cooking and family time. Thank goodness our kid did not stay with us as planned or we definitely would have left sooner. So we lay down to try to get a few hours shut eye, but I was still watching tv and had to use the bathroom. I walked in and immediately noticed a small two tone brown bug on the molding by the floor. I looked closer and recognized it instantly--it was a COCKROACH. It moved, but didn't run. I didn't kill it because I immediately went down to the office and told the front desk lady what was going on. She came up and I showed her all the issues, including the bug, and she offered to move us to the room next door. I went in and inspected that one, lo and behold the sheets were dirty in that one too! She said the bathroom was fine and we were welcome to use it if we didn't want to move from our current room, as we weren't about to use the bathroom there. She was NOT apologeticand said she couldn't do anything until the manager got there in the morning. She basically didn't seem to give a hoot that we were pissed about a filthy room! We slept in the bed that seemed to be "clean", on top of all the sheets and under just the top blanket. At 7:30 the next morning, my boyfriend went to the front desk and complained. He came back saying they said nothing, no apology and that I would have to go down for any refund since I signed for the room. So we packed up and headed down, the front desk girl seemed somewhat friendly, said simply "sorry about that" and gave us a full refund. We are now at the holiday inn express and they checked us in to a room right away, at 8am, when we explained we had nowhere to stay. A clean, comfortable room at that. Bottom line--DO NOT STAY at Shilo inn Medford. EVER. Spend $20-30 more and stay somewhere that doesn't have cockroaches and dirty facilities and bedding. It was disgusting and we will never stay at a shilo again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MichelleJ8,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. I am deeply sorry to hear about the events from your recent stay. Due to your comments a retraining for all departments and employees will be held to ensure that we strive for the cornerstone foundation of Shilo Inns - Friendliness and Cleanliness. We hope that if you are in Medford again, you'll give us another chance to show you the "Affordable Excellence" we are proud to call Shilo hospitality.

Sincerely,

Ashley Keeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I don't live in a palace but I have to say I was shocked at our very tiny room. It was smaller than the smallest bedroom in my own home. Still use keys to get in the room, could hear noise going on nearby. Older, small TV....very shabby to say the least. Only good thing was they had an elevator. Room was claustrophobic. Breakfast, better off skipping that and going to Elmer's. No recliner or sofa in this room. Poor experience overall.


Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

After all the searching for a reasonably priced place to stay we settled on The Shilo Inn mostly because of a previious review reagarding their good Continental Breakfast. We got here rather late and the front desk staff was cheerful even though I probably wasn't after a long day in the car. Even though this is an older property it s kept very clean and the rooms were more than adequat with comfortable beds. They tried to anticipate our needs and provided us with extra towels for the girls (as girls alway seem to need them).

We had a small boat in tow and they suggested a better place to park where they would be able to watch it from the front desk which gave us peace of mind and a better nights sleep. The morning breakfast was very good. We made on own fresh waffles, fresh fruit, milk, juice, and yogurt. Yes we are pigs! But full ones so the 7 year old won't be whining for food by the time we get in the car to leave. Their checkout is at noon which is covenient for those wanting to do a little shoppiing before traveling on. A huge Fred Meyer is very close by.

The staff, including the manager, was very helpful in giving us ideas of things to do and see while we were in the area.

Overall I was very pleased with our stay and will most likely return on our way back south.

Room Tip: We could have stayed somewhere for less but a good meal to get you on your way is worth the few extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Medford, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Jerry A,

I am so glad that we were able to host your family here at the Medford Shilo Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us! We welcome you back anytime!

Thank you,


Lorrie Bartley
General Manager
Shilo Inns - Medford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Medford

Address: 2111 Biddle Rd, Medford, OR 97504
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Medford 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful southern Oregon off Interstate 5 at Exit 30 is the 48 room, Shilo Inn. Medford enjoys a desirable climate year-round and the Rogue River, parks and theaters are nearby with lots of activities and planned adventures just waiting for guests of the Shilo Inn - Medford. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Medford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.