We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away, not even a bed and breakfast, not recommended at all.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Street Bed & Breakfast

Baker Street Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baker Street Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Baker Street Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
129 S. Baker Street, McMinnville, OR 97128   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Stay Away, not even a bed and breakfast, not recommended at all.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast while touring Oregon. Prior to making our reservation we discussed breakfast requests with this b&b. Upon arrival we were greeted by an envelope and a key. The note told us they were not serving breakfast and we should find our own way to the room. Later on, we also were told they have not been serving breakfast for some time. The hallways smelled musty and they just do not treat you right here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BakerStreetInn, Owner at Baker Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
We are always sorry to hear that a guest was unhappy. We also know that "you can't please everybody, all of the time." We are a small, historic inn. After having broken my leg last year in February and two subsequent surgeries, I have found that I cannot do both breakfast and clean rooms to my high standards. Thus, we have begun a self-catered, in-room breakfast with coffee or tea, juice, yogurt, fruit and pastries. Because of this, we have reduced our room rates by $20.00 per night and are recommending three fabulous spots for a larger breakfast, all within easy walking distance. This is clearly stated on our website. Most of our guests are loving this option, as they can eat very early or quite late (brunch) or not at all, saving money for dinner or more wine!!! Please remember, this is an historic property. It was built in 1914, and while it is not moldy or musty and it is kept extremely clean, it's still an "old house," and smells differently than new construction. Old wood has it's own aroma and many folks find that comforting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Our trip to the Oregon Wine Country was not the romantic retreat advertised by the Baker Street B & B. We chose This Inn because it was pet friendly and we were traveling with our dog. We stayed in the cottage behind the main house. The bathroom and kitchen were clean, but filled with garage sale stuff. This cottage was cluttered with junk on every horizontal surface leaving little room for our belongings. The sheets were clean, but the blanket and bedspread smelled stuffy and were not freshly cleaned. We covered the sofa with an extra sheet before sitting on it. The carpet was obviously dirty. Our dog nipped at mites (I didn't see fleas, but it was obviously infested with something). Although I have never been aware of allergies, there must have been mold in this cottage. I was instantly stuffy and woke up with a sore throat both mornings. My symptoms would clear after being outdoors. We had parking issues with the tenants who lived behind the cottage (and were interrupted 3 times one evening when asked to move our car so they could leave our reserved parking spot). The downtown location is nice (but noisy). When we returned home all dog bedding and our clothing were washed in hot water. The dog had a bath too before coming into our home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BakerStreetInn, owner at Baker Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
My assistant manager and I were sorry to see this review; especially that our guests were troubled by neighbors. The owner of the rental has been duly advised. These guests did not speak to either of us about any cleanliness or "pest" problems. Had they let us know of their concerns would have tried to resolve the issue in a way that respected both parties. Nevertheless, we had two separate people come to inspect the cottage to so we could objectively respond to this complaint. There were no pests observed, but we did go ahead and fumigate. All bedding IS freshly cleaned after each guest leaves. When we first have to turn on the heaters in the Fall it does smell differently at first, but the house is not "moldy." Further, the guests who came five days later were happy and thanked us for a "great place to stay."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverdale
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I have stayed numerous times with Cheryl in the past 5 or 6 years and I have always had a pleasant stay. I have stayed in the small Rose room in the quaint house a couple of times but in the past few years have always stayed in the Le Petite Chateau cottage..in fact, we have a standing reservation there for Thanksgiving Weekend because my girlfriend does a trunk show at the Mes Amie boutique and we spend the weekend touring all the wonderful small wineries that are only open at that time, and eating at all the wonderful restaurants. The cottage is older and very small, but comfortably outfitted for anything you might need. There were four of us girls (or should I say middle aged women :) this last Thanksgiving and it worked out just fine! Cheryl was even thoughtful enough to leave an additional hairdryer for us!! Cheryl is a terrific cook and very personable, and will take care of any need you may have...we even get hugs when we leave! Baker Street is small and funky, and it's in a great location in town...if you're looking for the Hilton, don't look here...but if you want some local flavor and warmth, this is the place for you!

  • Liked — Convenience of having a complete little house to ourselves
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

This is a small B and B on a busy street between a tattoo parlor and toy store. It is conveniently but not comfortably located. The room was small, with dark decorations and a lot of knick knack clutter making it difficult to be comfortable. Coffee in the room but no stir sticks, cute glasses for coffee with no handles so they overheat. Barking dog in the alley next door. The food was excellent but be prepared to be a captive while the proprietor joins you for breakfast and talks nonstop about herself and her travels. No way to converse with any other visitiors because she sits at the head of the table and doesn't stop talking once the food is served. Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BakerStreetInn, Owner at Baker Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
I have not responded to any reviews as I am not very computer literate. However, I'm doing better! Baker Street has been in operation for 18 years and I suppose it is logical that not every guest would be happy with our style of facility. The room this guest was reviewing is the Burgundy Rose room, one of our most popular, for location in the house and a very large bathroom. It also includes a refrigerator and a microwave. Please see photo on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We've stayed in the LePetite Chateau cottage for 15 days. Before you book your stay here, let me enlighten you on the following. You will sleep in a house that is:
1) situated between north bound highway 99W and south bound 99W, main roads in and out of town for 18 wheelers and heavy traffic, all day, every day
2) one block away from the Mcminville central Fire Department and Police Department (sirens in the night - and all day),
3) across the street from a kindergarten with 20+ pre-schoolers (God if I could only scream like that again), and a tied up barking dog next door that yaps all day long
4) are surrounded by rental property that has access to parking you would think would be reserved for guests,
5) probably most disappointing of all, you are moving into furnishings that date to the 1940's; musty, old furniture, broken beds, non-working disposal, cramped quarters, a refrigerator dating back to the 1950's, 19 inch tv with a built in vhs player (I'm not kidding) and a minimum of channels, broken trash can, broken screen door, moldy laundry room, and on and on. Quaint it ain't.
This is a property that is maximizing profitability without concern for satisfying or bringing people back. I'm now prompted to ask more questions next time I book. You'd be wise to do the same. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed at the Baker Street B&B for 2 nights on our way to Montana. We wanted to be close to town rather than in a remote area, and frankly we wanted a TV in the room, silly us.
Baker Street has 4 rooms, plus a separate larger cottage and a rental house. We stayed in the Rose Room. Nice bed, clawfoot tub. Good amount of decent coffee in the room which was nice for us coffee drinkers. TV was 13 inch or so, but ok for the size of the room. Also a TV down in the living room. Breakfast included was above average. Second day we got coupons $7 each for breakfast at Wildwood Cafe (which we heard was great) a couple of blocks away, so that worked out ok. Proprietor Cheryl was helpful, good suggestions for wineries and restaurants.
We had originally planned to stay at the Hotel Oregon, and in part wished we had, but this was much quieter for those that like quiet.

  • Liked — close to town and had a TV in the room plus the coffee
  • Disliked — smallish room and not fond of clawfoot tub/shower combo
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

My wife and I are relocating to McMinnville and we have had the opportunity to stay at the Baker Street Inn on three separate occasions. The first time we stayed in the main house and twice in stand alone homes. The Inn is located in a very safe location just 15 minutes from lovely Linfield College and close to restaurants and shopping. We found the proprietors to be extremely friendly and the accommodations very clean and well maintained. The homes were completely stocked for short or longer stays and the breakfasts are delicious and a great way to start off your day. I highly recommend the Baker Street Inn the next time you are visiting lovely McMinnville.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — A little street noise when staying at the front of the house.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 129 S. Baker Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, sleep and love McMinnville! Enjoy accommodations two blocks from this historic, vibrant downtown, offering a variety of evening entertainment-cinema, live theatre or music venues. Stay in a fully restored, 1914 Craftsman-style inn featuring four rooms, all with private baths, and a separate cottage. Featuring a multi-course, farm fresh breakfast. Walk to wine tasting, gourmet dining, shopping, Linfield College, the city park and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baker Street Bed & Breakfast McMinnville, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Street Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.