We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better elsewhere by far...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McMinnville Inn

Save Saved
You added McMinnville Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMinnville Inn
381 NE Highway 99 West, McMinnville, OR 97128 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in McMinnville
Prineville, Oregon
1 review
“You can do better elsewhere by far...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Well let's see, first, when we checked in the room smelled like it hadn't been opened in some time. The air so stale and the HVAC was off so turned it on low and it rattled badly. So turned it on high and the rattling went away but it still was not a quiet unit by any stretch of the imagination. Left to go out and about and when we returned and used the toilet, it wouldn't flush. Lifted the lid and no water was in the tank. jiggled the mechanism and water finally started flowing. after filling up, it would stay full for only 5 minutes and then had to refill. This went on constantly. Took another look and the clapper valve was something that was thrown together piecemeal and it was a total cob job. There was no way this thing would work properly. The floor was especially sticky and not good. Went to bed and there was no fitted sheet. Just a flat sheet that was tucked in. We got up the next morning to a dry toilet tank, again. Got it filled and it again, ran every 5 minutes. Climbed in the shower and had to laugh. If you were over 5 feet tall the shower was too low for you. I am 6'2" and the damn thing, cranked up as high as it would go, hit me in the center of my chest. You have to love taking a shower bent over.The water goes from 0-180 degrees in 5 seconds so beware. You will scald yourself if not careful. When you get the temp right, pray no one else uses hot water in the complex as the temp can fluctuate wildly. Went down and spoke to the Front Desk. He said there was no Maintenance that day and thinks he can fix the toilet and Housekeeping would take care of their issues. We left for the day. Came back that evening and the floors were still sticky(yuck) but looks like the crapper issues were gone. No so fast Scooter!! Used it 3 or 4 times and the same thing started all over again. Oh Joy!! The redneck clapper valve was still there and all they did was bathe the post inside the toilet with plumbers grease so it would slide easier, it didn't. Still no fitted sheet on the bed and we were going to extend our stay another night, but no way in this hole. Pay a little more and get a "real" Inn. This place is for the birds, spiders too. Had a huge one on the wall when we checked in. Made a nice splat mark on the wall that housekeeping left there for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean, it's convenient, the staff were very nice and for the cost of $10 my cat did fine! For the price, it served the purpose and we'll stay there again when needed. Hugh parking lot! Typical motel breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill Fl
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were in Oregon to attend a family member's graduation. When you search for accommodations in McMinnville Oregon, you don't get many results. When you search last minute, you are really limited! That being said, it basically came down to the McMinnville Inn and Motel 6. Based on reviews, motel 6 was out.

Front desk staff is very limited: Basically, it is one employee at any time. Check-in went quick enough however in between phone calls. There is an old Dell computer in the lobby with a printer that can be used to print travel documents or directions. There seems to always be coffee on hand. There is a free breakfast and while it is very small, it does the job. The selections include a waffle maker; 2 cereals; pastries and mini muffins; coffee; juices and Milk. One rather odd experience was during the only morning we ate breakfast there with our teenage children, the front desk clerk kept hovering around watching us. It certainly wasn't to be attentive because when the almost empty syrup bottle ran out, I had to go get one from another table. We were not loud or messy so it was quite odd and uncomfortable. He wasn't doing it when a group of adults had been eating there.

Anyway, on to the important part; the room. First of all, it was clean which is probably the biggest concern most people would have. This is definitely an older motel that has had some updating. The good part about that is that the rooms are HUGE and from an era where they didn't try to squeeze every dollar possible out of every square foot. The bad part is that some of the edges are still a little rough. There was a little bit of a musty smell which wasn't bad but an hour or two with an ozone generator might have done wonders.The room had a sink in the bathroom and outside of the bathroom and both were redone in granite and new porcelain. The bad was that there was no transition piece from the carpet to the tile which left a ragged bit of carpet and carpet tacks sticking out (They did send a nice guy over to hammer the tacks down). Also, the knob on the bathtub faucet pull lever to divert water to the shower head was an electrical contractor's wire splice twist on cap. The shower head in our tub was very low as well which is probably a result of the era in which it was plumbed.

There is a desk and large piece of furniture that houses the micro wave and large dorm fridge as well as a few drawers for clothes. The TV was a 32 LCD. There are a few lights but the room can be rather dark if you do not open the blinds.

If cleanliness is the primary concern for most travelers, then the Bed is likely the second. The bed itself was decent but on the firm side of hotel mattresses. The linen was nice and clean. The thing that killed our sleep however was the pillows. They were massive and gave about as much as a zip lock bag full of air. They were all the same unlike some hotels that will give you two different types of pillow. I don't really know who would pick these massive bean bag chair things to lay their head against however (note, I didn't say lay your head ON). A note to travelers is to bring your own pillow if at all possible, even if you have to carry it on the airplane.

The location is good. It is just at the point where McMinnville turns from modern big box store strip mall sprawl to the charming historical 3rd street area. The high school is about 2 blocks away and the biggest amenity is the best darn Taco stand I have ever eaten at just on the other end of the parking lot outside of the Tequila Grill. There is a grocery outlet across the street that is excellent for getting waters or anything you may have forgotten except a nice pillow.

As much as I would like to blast this hotel because of the poor sleep I got with the pillow, it really is probably the best choice in McMinnville outside of the Bed and Breakfasts.

Room Tip: They are all the same, just bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here during our visit to Oregon wine country. It was easily accessible. We did not want to spend a lot of money since it was just a place to sleep. The room was large and included a sofa. the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was a nice size with plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The downsides were that the lighting was very poor. we had a hard time reading in that light. (I understand from the clerk that they have ordered new lamps.) Also, the towels were very small. but it was well worth the price.

Room Tip: We had a room in the corner of the "U" and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into my room for the first time. The rooms are very large. It seems like the room had been recently updated. The beds were comfortable with big pillows. The room was clean and at a good temperature when we checked in. The TV's are a little small but they are flat screens. I woke up and went to the continental breakfast. It had the basics, nothing extravagant but enough to get you through the morning. The staff was extremely pleasant. They try to help everyone and was more than accommodating. They would sit and have conversations with you and make you feel welcome in the town. The location was great. There are a variety of things within a short distance. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Enjoyed our 3 day stay at McMinnville Inn. The room was big, giant bath entry area with everything very updated. Unexpectedly roomy. An extra chair would have been nice for relaxing. The staff was helpful and nice. A basic small breakfast available. Appreciated that it was situated back from the main road. Enjoyed that the Inn was close to downtown and our event site for the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night here. Our room had a horrible musty odor, so bad I kept the window open. The mattress was rock hard with coils pushing into our backs. My daughter said sleeping on a rock would have been more comfortable. The check-in lady was pleasant but I would never, ever stay here again. Probably the worst night of sleep I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McMinnville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMinnville Inn

Address: 381 NE Highway 99 West, McMinnville, OR 97128 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your McMinnville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Mcminnville
Safari Hotel Mcminnville
McMinnville Inn Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMinnville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.