We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the experience I was looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamhill Valley Vineyards

Yamhill Valley Vineyards
16250 SW Oldsville Rd., McMinnville, McMinnville, OR
+1 503-843-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 things to do in McMinnville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yamhill Valley Vineyards is the oldest winery in the McMinnville AVA. We grow, produce and bottle all of our own grapes right here at the vineyard. Yamhill Valley Vineyards is located on a 150 acre estate in the rolling foothills of Oregon's Coast Range Mountains, one hour southwest of Portland in the Willamette Valley. The heart of our wine making is dedicated to Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Pinot Blanc and Riesling. We have recently expanded our Chardonnay plantings and plan to release it to the public in the next few years. Since our first vintage in 1983 our wines have consistently won top honors in tastings and judgings across the nation. Our 1983 Pinot Noir was the first place preference in the famous Wine Center in New York City. From our beginning we have been stubbornly dedicated to the pursuit of a character that is distinctively Oregon and distinctively Yamhill Valley. Our goal is to bring forth from this unusual and exciting property the finest possible expression of its intensity, charm and uniqueness.
nc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the experience I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

during our short visit to oregon I wanted to visit a vineyard and do a tasting. we got lucky and passed right by Yamhill VV and it was open. it was a beautiful day and the vineyards and setting were lovely. even though I love pinot noir we ended up buying some of the Pinot Gris, just wonderful. we'll be back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A delightful vineyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our first visit to Oregon, and we enjoyed the wine country. There aren't as many vineyards as in California, but the ones that are here are quite nice. The people, as you'd expect, are charming and friendly. We happened to be here in the rainy season, but you can enjoy good wine even when it's raining.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Drop Dead Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the most beautiful vineyard that we visited. Absolutely stunning views, excellent wine, tasting was held on the deck which is shaded by beautiful oak trees. A must if you are visiting the Oregon Vine Country.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Driving through Willamette wine region we had to stop off at a vineyard and immediately loved this place. It is a little of the beaten track but that just adds to this secluded spot.

We did a flight for $10 and the standard of the wine was very good, we particularly liked their Riesling. The best part about it was their lovely outside deck area where time flew by as we sampled lovely wines, watched hummingbirds eat from the feeder and were greeted by a friendly dog.

I would highly recommend it if you're in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yamhill Valley Vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I had a great tasting experience here with Linda. We stopped late on a Friday morning and had the place to ourselves. The drive down the long gravel road to the tasting room was worth the trip by itself. The wines were outstanding and we bought a bottle to have at the hotel that night. Tasting fee was waived with our purchase. Be sure to try the raspberry chocolate sauce!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamhill Valley Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Yamhill Valley Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamhill Valley Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.