We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Italian Cafe

Nick's Italian Cafe
521 NE 3rd St, McMinnville, OR 97128-4614
503-434-4471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 94 Restaurants in McMinnville
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We waited for a special occasion.

My mother lives in McMinnville and it was my 53rd birthday as we had waited for a special occasion to try Nick's. we could.not have been more disappointed, The ravioli described with brown butter and sage had neither. My son's braised beef sauce pappardelle was I brodo rather than the sauce as described on the menu and tasted I his words "like hamburger helper". My pork "in the style osso bucco" was terribly under seasoned and the 'creamy" polenta seized up to firm due to a cool plate and there was no sauce but a wee bit of tasteless broth

The high points; the chicken liver mousse included with the salami antipasti plate was brilliant with a lovely balance of brandy and dried plums. The olive oil served w the house bakers bread was a delicious and the chocolate sauce on the final profiteroles was sublime.

Overall, we will not return. The high points cannot make up for the missteps here

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    78
    32
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best food on 3rd Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved this restaurant. For a couple on a romantic weekend, it's perfect! I ordered the crab lasagna, the portion was perfect and the taste too! My husband ordered a pizza and it was scrumptious! We loved the food, service and ambiance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worthy of Your Time & Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Nick's based on travel guide suggestion. I often take those as I'm certain you're reading this with a grain of salt. To put it quickly - I very much enjoyed this visit and recommend it with out hesitation.

I dined with my wife and another couple. The lunch opened with the salumi board and panzanella. The salumi board included five selections, including a black truffle sausage and a spicy capicola. It wasn't a large portion but it was high-end cured meats and quite flavorful. The panzanellla was also tasty. One fried, who is Lebanese, swore that there was some Middle Eastern flavor influences in this dish. But, the waitress assured us there were not.

For the meal I selected the pork panini on the waitresses suggestion in lieu of the beef version. I was not disappointed. A large sandwich on great, crispy, warm bread. Slightly spicy, the pork belly and braised greens went very well together. My wife chose the sausage pizza. It was arguably big enough to share, which she did. Very close to Neapolitan style, it was thin with a bright tomato sauce and a spattering of mozzarella - nice.

Our friends chose pasta dishes - the tagliatelle and lasagna. I sampled the lasagna - a local take on the classic with crab and mushrooms along with pine nuts. On its face, it wouldn't have been something I would have ordered. But, after trying it I can tell you that it is a winner. I will say that neither pasta serving is what I would call large. But, it was ample considering that both were cream-based. We're too used to oversize portions so it was, odd as it seems, a nice surprise.

If you're touring the Oregon wine country or visiting the Spruce Goose Museum, put this on the top of your to-do list in McMinnville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wow! Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This cafe is a real jem.We had a great lunch all items selected were fresh and made to order. Would encourage every one in the McMinnville area to give it a try

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Understand why it is always packed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nicks has a great reputation in the area and after visiting you cam tell why. Its a quaint, small location in the historic downtown area. The pizza is true pizza! This was my first time in the area and when I asked around, this place was recommend by 3 of the 5 people I asked. If looking for a great place to eat Italian - try Nicks!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.